Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tavistock Devon

Excellent leave the car everything accessable.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Adequate parking good service all round.
Location: Located in the centre of Padstow all beaches and ferries easily at hand.
good all round service staff and actual hotel. Situated in the centre of Padstow lots of restaurants pubs and beaches plus golf courses within easy reach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom somerset

Average hotel in good location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pleasant stay room basic facilities only average breakfast was good staff friendly. Needs a bit of updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Beautiful period hotel. Fab food.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
This is a beautiful period hotel. Not new but clearly loved. If you want bland and brand new if wont be your thing try a premier inn or similar - but if you appreciate architecture, sea views and excellent food and eagerness to please you will not be disappointed. We had a double room with a z bed for my seven year old. Late deal meant I paid less than a premier inn or even a youth hostel if you account for the fact food isnt included, but even at full rate i would not have been disappointed. Complimentary Tea and biscuits on arrival in the lounge overlooking the harbour and a welcome letter from the Manager. One wonders what more people expect a business to do to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was fabulous. All white linen and yoghurt with delicious fruit compots, croissants muffins etc and then full English or a la carte. I had haddock and grilled tomatoes, partner full veggie breakfast and my son had waffles and bacon. All staff attentive and positive. My side of the bed was not a good match to the other half of the zipped together system as it sagged outwards but I forgot to raise this. A sheet was missing from the z bed and was brought up within minutes of my request. We loved the old style - but perfectly functional- lift. Short walk into the town via a flight of steps. Would def return but would try to be there a little later in season when the outdoor pool is open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The Metropole, Padstow

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very comfortable, friendly hotel, set in a beautiful part of Cornwall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aileenfrom Fife

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location with wonderful views from our garden room veranda. However a few steps on to the lawn and we had to be careful to avoid dog mess. I don't have a problem with the dog friendliness but I am sure the owners should be encouraged to be more responsible and remove the waste out of courtesy to other guests and the housekeeping staff! Good to see that they are currently upgrading the dining room hope dogs won't be allowed in once it is finished. Breakfast was excellent cooked to perfection and hot. The complementary afternoon tea and biscuits was a treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: Perhaps the decor could be updated soon? It just looked a little tired but otherwise we have no complaints at all.
This was a very comfortable hotel close to the town of Padstow so great for walking in/out of the town. It was also a great location for exploring the general area. The views were magnificent too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stu Pfrom Crewe

Great Experience

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Metropole is in a fantastic location, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms were a bit tired, but very clean and comfortable. The Lifts were out of action for the days we were there, which did not impact us, but the older people were finding it hard. The Restaurant was excellent, but be prepared for a reasonable bill. Proximity to everything in Padstow was perfect, great views from the Restaurant and Bar was brilliant. Overall excellent experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was o.k.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Good Location. Free parking if you could find a space. Breakfast was good and so was dinner, freshly cooked, good quality food. Tea and coffee given.
Cons: Reception staff were efficient but others on the whole did not acknowledge us.
Location: Good Location , can walk into centre of the town and Harbour. Ferry across to Rock, lots of good eating places nearby.
I booked this hotel after looking at reviews for my husband and i on our first break after our youngest leaving home but it was not how i expected it to be. Obviously was of an age but first room given was on 3rd floor in the roof and it was disappointing, dark, hot and depressing for the amount we had paid. When spoke to reception they kindly moved us the next day to a light, airy first floor room. Also lift not working at all. Big bathroom with everything you needed and bed was comfortable. Often found it hard to get any service at all and felt quite invisible at times. There did not seem to be any presence of anyone in charge checking that all was going well and guests were being looked after. We hardly saw anyone at times. Whilst I would not want it to be the other way, there was indeed something lacking including any real ambiance. Before our stay, I contacted to ask about an upgrade to a sea view room but was quoted almost double for this. Overall not really for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: The actual furnishings etc I would describe as 'tired' but the staff made up for the aesthetics
Location: Right in Padstow
All of the staff we dealt with were lovely, really helpful and friendly. I had mentioned it was my husband's birthday and in our room was a complimentary bottle of wine and birthday card which was a lovely surprise. We only ate Breakfast but it was great, really good selection of cooked and continental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jacfrom Roseworthy

Gem in padstow

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 night away for our wedding anniversary , couldn't of asked for better lovely place people and location would highly recommend it