Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel right beside the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location and the enclosed balcony overlooking the beach
Cons: All I would suggest is the provision of a couple of boards for cutting of bread, tomatoes and the like. There was a bread knife but no bread board
Location: The location is along Buffalo Beach with wide views of Mercury Bay. All manner of walks are available in the area.
We booked for three nights as a midwinter getaway. The motel was across the road from the beach and a short drive into town. The room was spacious, comfortable and cosy, with a spa bath to remove the aches after the daily hikes.Service was friendly and efficient and the kitchenette was well furnished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice motel close to Buffalo Beach

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Wotif
We'd stayed here 15 years ago when it must have been close to new. The room we had still felt fresh but there were small things that were a bit "off" - the (hidden) toilet cistern ran intermittently, the microwave door was cracked, the curtain around the bed (?) was partly off the track, and the bathroom toiletries were all in large, wall-mounted containers, which always makes me feel like I'm at a gym! BTW, we didn't use the curtains round the bed and slept fine (the front door is glass and there's a verandah light, and the vertical blinds didn't meet in the middle which means the sun comes streaming in). Lots and lots of ceiling lights ... but where are the switches? A-ha, in the corner behind the TV and hidden by the vertical blinds! A bit of attention to the small things and Admiralty Lodge would still be one of the better places to stay in Whitianga, despite there being newer motels nearby. However, we saw a "for sale" sign up at the entry for the management contract so maybe there won't be much "improvement" under current management as they wait to sell. The beachside walk into town (or the beach itself at low tide) isn't a long one and a very pleasant way to "earn" a coffee and cake at The Fig Tree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michel from Fouesnant

Un endroit pour marquer une pause .

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Très bon hôtel offrant toutes les facilités avec accès à la plage mais un peu loin du centre de la station à pied .
4 out of 5
by Kimi from New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: View. Especially the sunrise
Cons: Noisy upstairs - bathroom during night
Location: Good views
Facilities: Typical; Service: Outstanding;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carme. from Tahiti, French polynesia

good over all except noise from toilets

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
The main problem was the noise from the toilet, noisy water tank filling up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guangzhou, PRC

very nice hotel in Wantianga

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: basically, good
Location: very close to sea
not convenient for laundry since the reception has no coins ready for exchange.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Derek

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rina from New Zealand - Auckland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Wotif
4 out of 5
by John from New Zealand

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Wotif
Cons: If I booked direct the breakfast would have been free!!!
Location: Accessible
Facilities: Above average; Value: Could be better; Service: Inoffensive; Cleanliness: Pleasant;