Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Charming.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It is not a photo copy of every hotel around. Lots of colorful Spanish tiles and décor. Unique.
Cons: Warning: The constant smell of Miguel's Cocina may drive you insane! Continental breakfast should always include some whole grain items and yogurt.
Location: Location is good. Shopping all around. Beach is a couple blocks away. Bike rentals in same building. Variety of dining within blocks.
Don't let the busy street corner or Mexican restaurant patrons scare you away. The rooms are fairly quiet and both the street noise and restaurant noise quiet down by 9 or 10 each night. This is a funky place right across from the Hotel Del resort so you can enjoy the big resort and sneak back to your little hacienda. The beach, shopping, dining, marina are all within walking distance. The pool is fine and there are bike rentals in the same building. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our 4 nights and had no complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Noisy environment

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Charming staff and nice breakfast.
Cons: The building and the rooms can do with sound-proofing and the kitchens could use more utensils.
Location: Fantastic location. Right across from the beach and many nice restaurants and shops nearby.
This hotel has a nice presentation and the staff goes out of its way to keep the grounds clean. The room and grounds look charming. Yet, there are some major problems due to the fact that the rooms are paper-thin and the hotel surrounds a restaurant that is full of loud guests until at least 10 PM. For jet-lagged travelers coming from the east coast this is not ideal. To our dismay, we also needed our fridge and a/c repaired. The kitchenette is also under-equipped in terms of utensils, and this was one of the main reasons we chose to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach, CA

old but well maintained hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: improve or do something to make parking easier, and more help for guests to get to rooms which can be difficult.
Location: It is close to the Del Coronado Hotel which is a CA landmark and worth a visit, a meal and shopping.
nice people,good rooms, and close to restaurants and shopping. unfortunately parking is a problem, they do not have any.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but loud

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Nice location close to the beach and across from the Hotel Del Coronado.
Cons: Soundproofing, new carpets..
This was an okay hotel, but really more of a nice motel. It was generally clean and decent, but not tons of amenities. The doors open to the courtyard, which is tile. My room was up a short flight of narrow stairs from the courtyard, in a small hallway with two other rooms. The top of the bed was near the door to the room. I could hear everything, including the clip clopping of people coming in and out of their rooms and the repeated door slamming. During my stay, my neighbor clip clopped and slammed the door repeatedly starting from around 5am. It was so loud, it was impossible to sleep. She stopped after when I opened the door and glared at her, but better sound proofing would have helped a lot. I won't stay here again next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Convenient location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: It was close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The exterior of the hotel is very inviting as well.
Cons: The bathroom could use some improvements, like more room to store toiletries. Also a fan to relieve the humidity would be a big help as well.
Location: Great location.
The El Cordova hotel is a very quaint historic hotel. It is in a perfect location for an easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel could use some renovation and a slight improvement on furniture. Overall it was worth the money for a standard room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with European feel near beach

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Unexpected upgrade and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by josefrom San jacinto Ca.

great stay , noisy

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service. Hotel is an older building , so it is a little small . Bathroom door doesn't close completely need to really push to close. Heater kept getting cold.There is a restaurant smack in the middle of the Hotel so there is alot of noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Monica

Lovely Staff and Location, but too noisy

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Tell Miguel's to push their cleaning services to at least 9am. It's pretty ridiculous.
Location: Definitely hit the Tavern. They have live music, good food and great drinks. Clayton's Coffee shop is awesome. Donuts and coffee
The staff at the Cordova Hotel were fantastic. Holly, specifically was a pleasure during the extent of our stay. I really enjoyed the boutique feel of our rooms, combined with the location. The only downfall to our stay was the noise factor. The restaurant Miguel's is located in the courtyard, and they scrub and vacuum the tile floors every morning starting at 7am (Vacuuming begins at 8am). So if you want to catch a couple extra hours of shut eye after a long evening out on the town, then I would recommend bringing some ear plugs or finding another place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nicolefrom san francisco

Pretty good, but could use improvements.

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pluses: El Cordova is beautifully decorated and is in an amazing location - directly across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado. Very safe, and easy to walk to amazing shops, restaurants, parks, the beach, etc... Breakfast was also included. Downsides: Walls are VERY thin and I could hear conversations next door very clearly. Bed was hard (good for me, bad for husband). Breakfast included cereal, packaged pastries (unpacked), and coffee, which was good, but not great when compared to other nearby hotels' breakfast which also include fresh fruit among other healthy choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Great Bargain in Coronado

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Close to the best Beach in Coronado. Close to great food.
Cons: More updating
Location: Food, Drink, Relaxation
From the check in to check out the employees were GREAT at El Cordova. This is our second trip here and I would not hesitate coming back again.