Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Our family has stayed at Captains Quarters for many years on our annual Port A trip.. This year the room seemed cleaner, but the hotel manager was never around.. Any time we needed someone at the desk, he was no where near and we had to wait for him. I believe someone should be on staff specifically for breakfast time to help customers at any time. Pool could use some updating as well. The plaster and paint was peeling and chipped every where.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Over priced hotel not suitable for families.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
From the outside this hotel doesn't seem to be too bad, yet a little rundown. Upon entering our room we were subjected to a strong musty odor. The microwave oven and refrigerator were both rusty, there were at least two holes in the wall, there was paint peeling off the bottom of the bathroom tub, and the beds were hard as a rock. The TV had no clear reception at all and even the phone book in the room was damp. My family and I were so displeased that we went to the office to check out within an hour of arrival. When informed of our displeasure, my wife was told "I don't believe any of that and that we should contact expedia". Needless to say, we booked at Hampton Inn and we're totally happy with our stay. I would NEVER recommend Captain's Quarters to ANYONE !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Close to everything

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very good experience staff was very respectful. Nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I am coming back!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities. Friendly cleaning staff.
Location: Shopping, dining and recreation activities right around the corner.
Comfortable clean room in a great location. Nice pool and open areas. Great value for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

not where i would have wanted to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: the location was not even as good as it should have been for such a price.
Cons: lower the price to what is more reasonable for the quality of what you are getting. that hotel room should be under $100 per nite.
Location: the entire island is everywhere so there is nothing that you cannot do from where ever you are. this hotel might be as far away from all of it.
the amount of money we paid for this hotel and the quality of hotel were completely mismatched. i chalked it up to it being a holiday weekend but i booked this reservation almost six months ago and was utterly disappointed. the quality of the room, the cleanliness and the amenities did not match anything near what i am used to paying the same amount for. you would be far better off staying in a place with a name you know like best western, days inn, holiday inn and i learned my lesson about how i will get a hotel next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKinney, texas

Pre - 4th July fishing trip

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It was fine. Nothing fancy or luxurious at all. Just a room.
Location: Very close to the Harbor Walking distance to Harbor for fishing You could also walk to the beach Very near the Ferry
Stayed two nights before the 4th of July. The room was fine; large, clean, safe. No issues A little expensive for what you get Location Location Location Very convenient to Old Port Aransas activities and pier Recommend Chartering the boat High Bid, ask for Wes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Austin, TX

Clean and comfortable rooms in a great location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, pet friendly and reasonably priced.
Location: I went on one of many fishing charters near by and plenty of places to get food and drinks within walking distance.
I stayed for 2 nights and had a nice comfortable stay in a spacious clean room. The location was great since its right near the water and in close proximity to fishing charters. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Easy checkin. Good breakfast. Room was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nancy from austin

pool but no pool access

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel needs work but the location and the house keeping was nice. We would have like to swim but the pool was closes for 2 days of the 3 days we were there. Front office seemed angry we asked for any info & could not be bothered
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com