Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brock, TX

Our second time to stay at this hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach and the pools
We stayed the first time Memorial Day weekend 2013, chose to go back this year for the 4th of July because of the proximity to the beach and the fact that it has all the amenities right there. This time we paid $30 extra per night for the Free Breakfast package, when we got to breakfast the first morning it was a $20 coupon for breakfast (there were five of us)...so really was NOT free, as a matter of fact the math just did not add up. Also be careful when eating their dinner buffet, the prices are not listed..it was seafood (which was fair to middlin', nothing spectacular) and you can imagine my surprise when the bill for my family was $108. If I would have known it would be that expensive, we would have driven to a nice restaurant to eat. Other than that, the stay was alright, rooms were clean and staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The hall ways were hot no a/c our room was not ready til 6:30 and our check in time was 4. Overall the room was nice a/c in room was excellent
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

for a quick trip with easy beach access

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly
Cons: The smell, the cleanliness, etc.
The hotel was good on the outside, but you could tell it was rather dated. This did not bother me too much as I just wanted beach access. The beach is right behind the pool but does not provide a reserved section for hotel guests which would have been nice. Also, the public is allowed to drive on the beach which can be annoying if you're not expecting it. When we first got to our floor it smelled highly of some type of chemical which didn't go away the entriety of the trip and our room had an awful smell as well. We did spend the majority of time of the beach, but for the price we paid for the room, I would sooner find a condo to rent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by love traveling

Great time for a group of close friends!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
I took my sister, best friend and aunt here for my sister's bday and we had a blast! There's a tiki bar at the pool and the beach a few steps from there. The bar drinks were reasonably priced and the staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach!

Posted May 30, 2014
The hotel itself was nice. They are right in the beach however the beach itself is not that great. The pool was okay, nothing spectacular and the pool bar/snack shack was expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Dallas, TX

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, easy access to beach
Cons: restaurant, unable to get a clear view of the ocean due to "cloudy" windows.
Location: limited places to stay or eat. You would need to crossover the causeway for more choices.
The room was nice and clean. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Very limited menu. Not a very good view of the ocean because the windows are cloudy. We checked out on a Tuesday morning around 10:00am, no one at the coffee bar or at the gift shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SB from Houston

Lovely beach

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The windows almost block the gorgeous views since they are opaque with age and dust.
Location: Doc's seafood is a great dinner spot. I went horse riding on the beach - amazing!!
We enjoyed the hotel location. While the hotel is in need of a makeover, the location and friendly staff made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted May 11, 2014
Not sure why it was going to cost be $100 extra a night for ocean views as the hotel was nowhere near capacity?
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Houston, Tx

The experience

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: It was a good location. Close to the beach and other attractions
Cons: The restaurant. Not whats advertised.
Location: Good restaurants and of course the beach, state and national park.
On arrival, I was able to check in with little difficulty. I was happy that the hotel was right on the beach with easy access. The bar was acceptable but small. The band plays Friday Saturday and Sunday afternoon. A lot of folks come to the hotel for the band so in the evening there is a parking issue. The room was clean. The bed was OK. The partial view is aptly described....partial. My only real complaint was the restaurant. It was Friday night, and they served a "buffet" of sea food. The cost was 24.99 for adults and 9.99 for children. My Wife and I went there Friday night and were eventually seated. The wait staff never came back to the table after that. We waited for ten minutes as other tables were seated and orders taken. The restaurant is probably understaffed, and the staff they had looked like they may have come from local shelter. One of the male servers stunk and had his underwear showing with his pants pulled down. After seeing the staff and being ignored, we left and went to a place back toward the bridge that served the best hamburgers I've ever tasted. I guess I should be thankful for the neglect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean from TX

Hotel next to beach

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The best part is that it is right on the beach.
Cons: The room could do with more lighting, so a person would be able to read in bed.
Location: Nearby you can go to the beach. You can drive to Corpus Christi or Port Aransas.
The restaurant had delicious food. It was nice to sit at the window and look out at the beach and water. When we were there, the wind was very strong and it was cold. This put us at a disadvantage since it was too windy and too cold to walk on the beach.