Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We were pleased with our room for the week we were there. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had asked for a quiet room on the second floor and were put in a room in the back area away from the pool which is exactly what we wanted -- perfect for our needs on this trip as we were out sightseeing all day and wanted a quiet room to rest and sleep in at night. The continental breakfast was certainly sufficient with the usual choices. Several choices for restaurants are nearby. Very easy access to freeway. The bathroom exhaust fan in the room below us started making loud noises and we called the front desk. They responded immediately and went to the room and took care of the problem (not sure why the people in the room didn't call themselves since it was pretty loud). Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Small room. Tiny toilet. Free breakfast was poor quality. Easy access to major roads
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

15 minutes from San Francisco

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Great room close the City. Plenty of restraints nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by maureen from Cape Cod, MA

Great heated pool complex.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Everything, esp. full breakfast buffet, pool.
Cons: add microwave to go with refrigerator....
Location: In the middle of everything--good shopping all around
Perfect, cruise ship amenities. Attention to guests' comfort, pool/hottub in a swim club atmosphere, Nordstrom's just across the street.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek from Barns Green UK

Ten day stay

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, with a fridge, pool and bbq area. Staff were excellent.
Cons: Separating early morning risers (in our case contractors next door) from vacationing guests.
Location: Location is right by highway 101, but the noise was almost unnoticeable and the convenience for travel was great. Various walks on Mt. Tamalpais.
We were checked in really fast, with no multiple looks at documentation. The staff were really helpful with what was nearby and how to get to the adjacent shopping centre. Our room (117) was on the ground floor of the two storey building and looked out to the pool, which is a reasonable size. The weather was hot while we were there and having the pool was a lifeline for sitting by and cooling off. Breakfast at the adjacent diner was not great (although free) and we got used to getting a bagel from Safeway just across the road and matching that with the coffee from the restaurant (which was OK). We were offered the chance to move to a second storey room, but traded the (usually minimal) noise from above for the porch on the ground floor room. As our return flight was an evening one from San Francisco we asked for late checkout, but were told that they were full; so no. A little disappointing, given how long we had stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Sylvania, Ohio - winter weather capital of the U.S

Delightful way to stay near San Francisco

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Read my experience section. Forgot to mention free wifi, nice refrigerator and Keurig coffee/tea machine. Forgot to mention COMFORTABLE bed.
Cons: Room slightly dated - cleaner windows (not a big deal).
Location: Read my experience section.
I have never written a hotel review - usually use cookie cutter/Hampton Inns or nice business hotels. The Best Western Corte Madera is an unassuming but thoroughly delightful place to stay if you are visiting the Bay Area and have a car. It's far enough from San Francisco to feel relaxed, but close enough to get there (10-15 minutes) via 101. The grounds are like an older style family motel - courtyard with pleasant greenery, rooms with balcony / sitting area, a silly putting green, a nice lap pool, grill, basketball hoop, hot tub, ping pong, shuffleboard, fire pit, and nice free breakfast. Found myself with downtime - sat by the pool in the sunny, clear California air - just great. And it's a 10 second drive from 101 (you don't notice the traffic sounds), and 5 seconds from a new shopping center - Safeway, etc and some very nice restaurants (try Pacific Catch). Folks even come up here from the city to get away and find a place you can lounge, play goofy games, let the kids run around - impossible in the city. We also took the ferry (free hotel shuttle to Larkspur) to Fisherman's Wharf - great Bay view, $20 round trip. AND...only 15 minutes drive to Muir Woods (go EARLY though) or Marin Headlands drive (gorgeous), 30 minutes from wine country, easy drive down to Sausalito, all with no trip across the GG Bridge. Room was fine, very comfortable. Mix in the outside activities, easy access to SF and north activities - for the money, it's a great choice and I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Seattle, WA

Easy Access off Hwy101

Posted May 12, 2014
What I love about this hotel, is the easy accessibility off Highway 101. If you are heading south, take Madera Blvd exit, and you go from 65mph to 0, in a couple seconds. Bam!!! you are at the front door. Another nice feature, there is a mall across the street with some restaurants, easy walking distance. Also, several rooms have balconies, which is nice for me, especially after a long drive, you can step out and have a nice adult beverage, and relax. I highly recommend staying here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel experience.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Although it is a big chain, and looks very basic from afar, I was impressed with the room design (skylight windows over 1/3 of the room). The bed was comfy, the hot tub was super hot (is that bad thing?) and there was a BBQ restaurant on premises that was very inviting. Never stayed in a hotel that is designed like this, has a huge lap pool, mini golf, check out at noon, very nice buffet breakfast, and right next to the freeway. I do wish the skylights had blinds that I could reach to close to block out the morning sun, but other than this, I was very satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location and proximity to many shops and restaurants. Easy freeway access.
Cons: The beds - update them to nice, firmer beds.
Great location right near some major shopping centers - plenty of places to eat and although we didn't get to try it, there was golf putting, heated pool. Very pleasant front desk staff. The room was nice - the biggest complaint I have is that the bed was total mush! It was really uncomfortable to sleep on and was just dippy and mushy. It would have been a great stay except for the terrible bed. For the price, I expected some nice beds but was sorely disappointed on this front. Hope they can change this - don't know if it was just our room's beds but this would prevent me from staying here again as good sleep is so important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Best deal close to San Fransisco

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and recreational amenities were wonderful! Large pool, nice warm jacuzzi, basketball court and small put-golf.
Cons: The toilet backed up and overflowed when we first got there. However, a maintenance person brought us a plunger so I fixed the problem. Bed was ok.
Location: There is a mall and grocery store nearby. We were just a short 15 minute drive from downtown San Francisco and the room was a great price.
The hotel staff was very nice. The breakfast had a nice variety and was fresh. Our only issue was our toilet backing up after the first use and then several times after.