Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, UK

Great location near station and town

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Quiet. Great for family of three. Spacious room
Cons: All good
Location: Easy walk to the river, old town, Independence Square. Great restaurants and tapas
Nice family room that was ready about noon - so great to arrive and check in. Only three short blocks from Girona train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything in Girona

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Convenient location (to both train station and Old Town). Very quiet rooms. Helpful front desk staff.
Cons: Have coffee/tea making equipment in the rooms.
Location: Excellent location. Go to the cathedral and walk along the old city wall. Wander aimlessly in the old town and you cannot go wrong.
Girona is a compact city, and although the Carlemany isn't in the Old Town, it's only a 5 minute (or less) walk away. It's also a short suitcase-drag away from the train station. The rooms are not fancy but are clean and comfortable: good bed, strong shower, fridge, computer in the lobby, in-room safe and helpful staff. We had no complaints and would happily stay there again. After the bustle of Barcelona, Girona is a delight, and this hotel is a great base to see the town. The only minor gripe is the lack of coffee-making facilities in the room. You can rent a kettle, but really, this should be standard equipment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

OK

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Close to train/bus station which made transportation easy. Staff at check in gave us a map of the city and bus schedule
Location: The call and the wall around the city is fantastic. Great little shops with wonderful sweets.
Comfortable and big bathroom but nothing special. Was on 2nd floor at end of the hallway and there was some noise from traffic but the point was to have some place to stay and catch a nap before getting a flight in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Rooms and staff were great. Easy to walk around. Would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from London

BEST & BEST VALUE HOTEL IN GIRONA

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Central location, facilities, excellent VFM.
Cons: Breakfast could be cheaper but there are plenty of nearby cafes.
Location: Walking distance from the station/bus station with links to airport and now to Paris because of TGV extension to Barcelona. The old town, Roman baths.
We have stayed at the Carlemany every year for at least 10yrs. Excellent city centre hotel with the only minor down side being the expensive breakfast. The restaurant Pati Verd is great but only opens at lunchtimes Mon-Fri because of the Spanish recession. Free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CAP from Del Mar, CA

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was pleased with the Carlemany and got what I expected. My room was fairly large and nice. The beds were comfortable but not soft. The hairdryer was ancient and needs replacing. I had a view of neighboring apartments despite my request for plaza view. Maybe my Hotels.com rate was the reason. Location is convenient to both walled city and elsewhere. Don't expect a hotel catering to Americans or tourists but they were helpful with our questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, in the centre of the town, near shopping. Majority of restaurants and square is only 10 mins walk. Hotel is tidy and rooms well presented. Breakfast is good but not great. All hot drinks are from a machine so when it is busy a queue to get a coffee. A hotel like this should have Tea/ Coffee brought to your table. Free Wifi worked well and car park under hotel is busy and chargable. Overall pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Couple from Sussex

Girona City Centre Hotel

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, room facilities location.
Cons: We didn't try the breakfasts or restaurant so don't know whether they can be recommended.
Very conveniently located with the mainline railway station, shops, restaurants and the old town all within easy walking distance. If tranquility is essential ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. The staff were always helpful and quickly made reservations and provided all other information as requested.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou Lou from england

Easily acessible from motorway

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We took our beautiful black lab so were seeking places to stay on way down to Spain who would accept dogs. The room was very tired and the bed felt like we are sleeping on the floor! The staff were very friendly and we were able to take the dog into the restaurant which made life easier for us . Food was quite good too! Probably wouldn't choose to return mainly because of the bed.