Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great base for beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Clean modern room. Breakfast included.
Cons: The bathroom was very small and only one person could fit at a time.
Location: Perfect location on the front opposite the beach. Very near bars, restaurants, shops and the old church.
Having been to Sitges before I knew it's a lovely place and we wanted a hotel close to the beach. The Subar is only 3* but is clean and the small rooms have everything you need. I paid extra for a balcony as I knew from reviews that the rooms were small and wanted to hang our towels out each night. We could see the beach/sea from our room which was really nice and the little balcony definitely gave us a bit of extra room. The breakfast was nice, held in the sports bar which is attached to the hotel. Not the best buffet I've had but certainly adequate for us. I wouldn't recommend it for families, the rooms are too small and the bathroom would have been quite tricky for small children to get in and out the shower/bath! Though for a couple our room was fine. Had a great 5 days here, looking forward to going again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Subur Stay--8/2014

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Hotel was what was expected from reading recent reviews. The room was small but clean, a typical beach hotel. Bed was comfortable, no cable TV and you can hear everything that goes on outside. Great location. We were there in the height of holiday so LOTS of people and action. Restaurant food was decent. I would stay again but not with entire family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The hotel was on beach front, and connected to a great sports bar. That was fun for us, since we were there for the World Cup finals. The staff was great. The cleaning was great. The beach view was great. The doors were a little thin, and you could hear slamming and people walking around...but we were exhausted after each day and it was not an issue for us at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Just across from main promenade & beach

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to beach
Location: as above
Well positioned - some rooms will have sea views but for those overlooking the side street you can still see the sea! Very handy for beach, bars and restaurantssss yet not affected by any noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Lovely staff
Cons: Bit more greenery
Location: Really close to everything
Always a pleasant stay.. Odd numbers of rooms are front and side of hotel for beach views , evens are at backm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Very nice breakfast buffet option that is definitely worth it!
Cons: Keep up on things in the room (ie. fix the broken hair dryers or safes), perhaps provide the option for renting a beach towel for some euros, etc.
Location: Superb location! Right on the beach, doesn't get any better than that!!
We had an upper fourth floor sea-view room with balcony which was great! Loved the views and balcony and loved the attached 'sports bar' which had a great staff and excellent food! Our only critiques would be it's a bit noisy on the beach-view side (ie. kids setting off loud fireworks all night long, which would never fly in the States but is probably very acceptable and "normal" in Spain, and there can be a lot of late-night party revelers, which is to be expected, it IS, after all, a party beach town!) We loved running and walking along the "boardwalk/beach promenade". Sitges is a beautiful little town that makes one wish that they could permanently live there! Laid-back vibe, great food and wine practically anywhere, and very nice & helpful people within the whole service industry, we felt on the whole. Sitges is beautiful!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MPG from london

Couldn't be better

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient, clean, secure, good sized rooms, friendly staff.
Cons: The lift is a little slow
Location: Perfect location adjacent to the promenade. You can fall out of the hotel and straight into the beach. The scenerary is amazing day or night
I have stayed at The Subur Hotel a few times over the last few years. The staff are amazing, they do their best to make your stay easy and hassle free. The hotel is conveniently located, and everything is within easy reach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from London

Reasonable hotel near beach and bars

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: If you don't like noise it's probably not for you.
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants nearby, beach opposite. Station is 10 mins walk for trains to Barcelona Sants.
This is a reasonable hotel centrally placed for the beach and nightlife of Sitges. However, it can be noisy from trucks and refuse collection early in the morning. The sound insulation between the rooms is poor and you can hear tv in the adjoining rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by db from bristol, uk

Very good value for money, excellent location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Basic but very up together room, good air conditioning, very clean, very polite and helpful staff, would definitely go back
3 out of 5
by Chico from London

Great service, shame about the noise

Posted May 31, 2014
Stayed in the Subur for a week. When we first arrived, our room was noisy from street noises which kept us awake most of the first night due to a loose pain of glass in the single glazed window frames which rattled considerably. However, when we went to see reception, they moved us to a quieter room and were great about it too. I would agree with the reviews here saying that the walls are thin too. We had some loud guests on our floor which again did keep us awake on a couple of occasions. Again, we called up reception and they were brilliant by coming to room and asking them to keep the noise down which happened within minutes of us calling. It's a real shame that the only two things about this hotel that let it down are the walls and the windows. It's pleasantly decorated, the quality of the cleaning is very good, the service from front desk was brilliant all at some of the most reasonable rates we found for Sitges in May. If there was some sound proofing/insulation in the walls and there was double glazed windows, I'd gladly come back time after time. Despite the huge amount of effort that the staff go to to make people's visit as pleasant as possible, I would find it hard to recommend until there is better sound proofing. But thank you for the wonderful service.