Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

A superb holiday experience

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were all excellent - from front desk, through to bar, restaurant and housekeeping. Polite, helpful, charming quality service.
Cons: Nothing for me!
Location: Located a 10 minute walk from the small resort centre, about 20 local shops including Pharmacy, and a good choice of restaurants with entertainment.
If you're looking for a sophisticated hotel, with excellent service, in a quiet beautiful location this is it. The hotel is located on it's own private beach with ample sun chairs and parasols. If you prefer a pool, there's a choice of 7!! One large, 6 smaller cascade pools to relax in. Spotless presentation, crystal clear waters, and a lifeguard on duty at all times. The restaurant was excellent - staying half board, we intended to go out a number of nights as so often, the buffet style meals get repetitive. This is a real exception - a 4 course menu each evening - lots of choices and food was of a high standard too. And it's full waiter service, real quality, but not at all "stuffy". The breakfast was buffet style and offered a very wide choice of hot a cold foods - not your typical "full English" but pretty well everything else, with lots of rest fruit too. The terrace bar has one of the best views over the bay and islands you could have, and facing West, it's a fantastic place to sit and watch the sun go down while enjoying a pre dinner drink. The room we had was a good side, with large bed, air conditioning worked very well, and everything was clean and tidy. Styles are very much traditional Sardinian, warm "earth" colours and hand painted details with a rustic feel. This isn't your typical Hilton, it's a far more charming and personable as a place to stay. If you're looking for a relaxing, quality couples break, 100% recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Marlborough, Wiltshire

Large hotel set in lush gardens with private beach

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The gardens, the views, the staff.
Cons: Decor could be updated; mattresses could be more comfortable.
Location: You're in Baia Sardinia, a short (but hot and slightly uphill) walk from the main beach and resort, which are worth visiting for the restaurants/shops
If you're not looking for sleek minimalism, this hotel offers a delightful experience. It has generous and comfortable seating areas, a lovely terrace with an outstanding view of the sea and bay, and the staff are superb. Try to forgive the old-fashioned swirly carpets and be prepared for very firm mattresses. If someone in your party has mobility problems, the steps down to the breakfast area, pools and beach may be difficult. There are several pools to choose from and plenty of sun loungers, and you'll always get a space on the beach even though - during our visit at least - there were many towel-baggers around! In the downstairs restaurant the service is impeccable and the food pretty good. It's a set four-course menu but you don't have to have all the courses - they make a note of what you order and you're charged accordingly. Breakfast is very pleasant and the same team of efficient waiters attends to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

redelijk oud bollig

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: vriendelijk correct perspneel
Cons: Hotel....De bedden
Location: wij hadden een auto gehuurd en hebben dagje maddalena met auto gedaan erg leuk ontspannen erg makkelijk en niet duur met de boot
we hadden hp we hebben maar 1x gegeten te Claustrofobies te op elkaar niet ontspannen. Het bed vond ik zwaar beroerd te laag en door gezakt weinig geslapen. Ik weet dat er veel mensen van dit soort hotels fantastisch vinden naar mijn oordeel is het in de jaren 80 blijven hangen.op alle fronten. Erg jammer dat je in juni blik fruit op het ontbijt buffet krijgt dat er maar 1 soort verse meloen op staat terwijl er zoveel vers fruit verkrijgbaar is!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Great hotel, would recommend to other people.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, food, staff were very helpful, hotel and facilities were very clean.
Location: Baja is a village with a good selection of restaurants and a very nice beach. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, I highly recommend it.
Had a very good experience at the hotel and Baja as a place, and would like to go back. Staff were very helpful e.g. when had incorrect travel adapters, reception staff kindly lent us the correct ones to use. We (myself and partner) also wanted to book a boat trip to visit other islands and catch a bus to Porto Cervo, and again all the staff were very helpful to us. The quality of the food was excellent - we booked half board, and they gave us the option of having lunch or dinner as well as breakfast. We ended up having dinner in the hotel restaurant for most nights, as food was of exceptional quality (4 courses every night), and the waiter staff were very smart and attentive. Location of the hotel is also very good, has its own private beach along with 3 swimming pools, and Baja centre is only a 5 minute walk. If you are looking for a nice, relaxing holiday with good food and drink, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Für 3 Tage völlig ausreichend. Schönes Hotel mit eigener Bucht, sehr nettes Personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Tolles Ambiente

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Die Architektur der Anlage und deren harmonische Einfügung in die Landschaft. Der kleine hauseigene Sandstrand am sehr klaren Wasser
Sehr hübsche, aufgelockerte Hotelanlage in einem hervorragenden Einklang mit der geologischen / naturgeographischen Umgebung. Manche Teile des "Grand Hotels" sind leider etwas "in die Jahre gekommen". Aber ein Aufenthalt lohnt sich!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thames Valley

Over priced, pretentious hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Close to the restaurants in Baia Sardinia which also has a very good town beach - wide and gentle shelving - perfect for kids, unlike the hotel beach.
Cons: So Much. Vegetarian main course options on both menus, more hot water, more car parking on site, more hand rails on steps, more knowledgeable staff et
Location: About a mile from Baia Sardinia with its range of restaurants, good town beach, boat trips etc, and close to the ancient sites of Arzachena - a must.
We stayed at the Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach for 5 nights, and it was the worst, and yet the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our Sardinian holiday. It is over pretentious and seems to think it is in Porto Cervo rather than Baia Sardinia. The good points are that it is clean and close to the restaurants/facilities of Baia Sardinia. Bad points are insufficient on site car parking, lack of hot water in the evenings, the many stairs, often without handrails, and the fact that many guests reserve the best sun loungers before breakfast with their beach towels. Also the staff appear to have little knowledge of what is on offer in the local area. Bedroom furniture is dated and slightly tatty, and balconies are small and offer no privacy. For us the restaurant was the biggest disappointment and we didn't eat there once. My wife is a vegetarian, but there were no vegetarian main course options on either the a la carte or set menus. A delight of Italy is that there is always vegetarian food available, and if not, any eating establishment will offer to make something up for you. Not the Grand Hotel which specifically refused. I think the food is either prepared in advance or brought in from elsewhere. Breakfast offers a wide range of options but resembles a frantic underground scrum with serving staff rushing about everywhere. Hardly a restful start to the day. The beach is nice, but narrow and steeply shelving, unlike the better town beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jorge

buena ubicacion, playa perfecta

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
excelente
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Niclas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gast Aug 2014 from Schweiz

Tolle Lage

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Das Hotel ist super, vor allem wenn man ohne Auto unterwegs ist. Mit drei Privatstränden, fünf Gehminuten zum Baia wo es viele Restaurants, Geschäfte und Bars gibt und zwei Minuten zu Fuss zum Supermarkt. Der Balkon war auch sehr schön. Das Einzige was ich nicht so toll fand (aber es hat mich nicht sehr gestört) ist wie ringhörig die Schlafzimmerwände sind. Unsere Nachbarn haben sehr laut gesprochen und um Mitternacht ferngesehen und wir konnten jedes Wort hören - auch wenn wir kein Italienisch verstehen! Ausserdem war das Hotel ein super Ort für Erwachsenen, die sich ausruhen wollen. Die Frühstücksauswahl war ausreichend und es gibt einen schönen Spaziergang die Küste entlang um die Ecke von dem Hotel.