Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ann W from Panama City, FL, USA

Great location for exploring Braga

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We took the train from Porto to Braga and decided to stay at the Basic Braga Hotel because of its location next to the train station which would be convenient for the follow on train trip to Lisbon. The hotel is actually located behind the station and is accessible from inside the station. Did not notice this entrance until we left for the trip to Lisbon. This entrance actually leads into the hotel restaurant and from there to the lobby. If you walk around from the outside after exiting the train station, then turn left behind the taxi stand. The hotel is not marked very well. The entrance sits off in a corner and is marked by a large white Letter H. The hotel was clean with comfortable beds and reasonably priced and the location to town was perfect. It really is only a short walk to town. I was traveling with my daughter and we never felt unsafe, even when we returned in the dark. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ok, but we preferred the small Cafe across the street. Internet avcess was good and there was a $2 charge per day for internet access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

It was clean, conveniently located and cheap

Posted Dec 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
we knew what to expect and it was as predicted, so that is good. The girl on reception was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were small, clean and compact. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by H F

Braga

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good and convenient hotel not luxury but what you pay for and what you get was great, I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by marj

wonderfully basic!

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great that is was to the train station... had lovely restaurant and great staff at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Basic Braga by Axis - ideal to walk into the town

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
next to the station with plenty of trains to other parts of Portugal but it is not noisy as trains stop at night and all rooms have excellent double double glazing so do not let the station put you off. In 5 minutes you are in the centre of the town with really good shops and superb restaurants close by at reasonable prices. The christmas decorations in town were magnificent and were switched on at the start of December. Staff were excellent and for value it is excellent, as well as having very secure underground paking if you have a car. We had a great stay. In and around the city there are lots of interesting baroque style building and you can use public transport for ones just outside the town
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Basic Braga by Axis great price,staff and so clean

Posted Dec 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location next to the station and only 10 minutes walk to the city centre make it so convenient. It is quiet though and the secure underground parking great if you have a car(no real need as good buses to places of interest). The place is really clean and staff so helpful. Christmas lights in town were fantastic(check as they may not be there next year). If in Porto it is well worth a few days in Braga and this is a great place to choose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Basic Braga by Axis

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was located literally right next to the central train station - there's a door leading straight to the hotel from Platform 1, although I didn't realise this initially! The hotel was surprisingly good for a budget hotel - the room and public areas were clean and the room was a reasonable size, and the receptionist was polite and very helpful. My only problem was with the air conditioning system - I had to leave the fan on all night to prevent the room from getting too hot, and even at the lowest setting, the fan was blowing quite hard. I'm not even sure if I was using the system correctly, as changing the thermostat setting seemed to have no effect. Perhaps the system needs fixing, or some instructions need to be included for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

The place to stay (value for money with all essentials)

Posted Aug 4, 2011
It was a nice hotel, I enjoyed my stay. Its very conveniently located (right next to the train station and 5-mins walk to city centre) and is brand new. Staff have been very helpful, their in-hotel service prices are also very competitive. Would stay again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from belfast

great location great price

Posted Jul 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
if you are planning just one or 2 nights in braga this hotel is perfect. It is basic as the name suggests - there is not much room but for a short stay it is such good value. The hotel is right beside the train station and just 5mins walk to the historical centre.