Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bonito mas o ar não funciona

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel antigo, muito bonito, mas sem qualidade de sono, no verão o ar condicionado não funcionava. Excelente café da manhão. Amplo estacionamento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dukefrom Boston, Ma.

Hotel with an outstanding view

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is truly special. The view is unbelievable and the swimming pool is situated on the very top of the hill with an unbelievable view from there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Imarafrom Sp brasil

Memorável!

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelente em todos os sentidos, vista maravilhosa, serviço excepcional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christophefrom Paris

Une vue imprenable !

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Une vue imprenable sur Van à do Castello. Une belle promenade dans les eucalyptus alentour. Un accueil très agréable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mariefrom DC

The world-class view was worth the hike

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm not great with heights, so the trip up the mountain road with minimal guardrails was white-knuckled. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately captivated by the spectacular views. Quite unreal. As for the hotel itself, I would say that the public areas are more impressive than the rooms themselves. The room we were in was ocean-facing (more spectacular views). Beds were very comfy. Bathroom set-up was a bit tight. Fixtures looked to have been upgraded in the recent decade but unfortunately cannot completely escape the building's overall age. (There's an unpleasant smell in the bathrooms that we observed even in newer hotels in Portugal.) Breakfast was plentiful and had good variety. Dinner was a bit pricey but not lacking in quantity. There are stairs that lead directly down to the Basilica, making it a short walk. We drove to town instead of taking the funiculare ... about 5-10 min. Overall, an unforgettable place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parador con encanto y mejores vistas.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Aunque ya estuvimos alojados en otra ocasión, repetimos por lo bonito y acogedor que es. Si hay q poner una pega, sería la calefacción un poco baja. El restaurante, a pesar de las críticas, los gusto aunque no es nada espectacular. Lo mejor, el servicio en general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Leonardofrom Rio de Janeiro

Fantática... Sem detalhes

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gail S.from Porter Ranch, CA

As Good As It Gets!

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Even my husband said,"This place is like being in a fairy tale!" And that is quite a compliment. Our third floor corner room third floor had views from every room, including the bathroom. And what a view! The beautiful basilica, the Atlantic Ocean and the river leading out to the ocean. The room was lovely and the bed comfy. The public areas are also gorgeous, including the outside terrace, garden, bar area and dining-room. The price of our room included a nice breakfast. We chose to eat in the dining room for dinner. It is not inexpensive but not outrageous for the experience and food quality. We did not have a car so we needed to take a cab up the long winding road. But once we were without our suitcases it was easy to take the funicular down to the down and walk around town for several hours. There is also a pool to swim in if you are there during the summer. (We found out if you are a senior, you will have to check but I think it is only 55, you get a discount here and at all the pousadas, as well as in the restaurant.) Again, for a similar hotel in the U.S.A. you would be paying at least double.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Isabellefrom Montreal

Endroit super!

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lorsque nous y étions, le temps était nuageux. Et malgré tout, la vue y était sublime. Un endroit merveilleux!