Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, MS

A wonderful and historic hotel in Beaune.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location, service.
Cons: Our room needed a little bathroom maintenance but overall, the hotel needs little improvement.
Location: In the center of Beaune. Within walking distance of wineries, the weekend street market, numerous excellent restaurants and historic sites.
This is an historic, old hotel in the center of Beaune. The staff are super helpful and friendly. The rooms are older, of course, but charming and very large. Staying here continues the atmosphere of Beaune and this lovely wine country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central location with good facilities.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location and handy to just about everything! Very good food too.
Cons: Rooms not very spacious...but then again it may be so with all hotels in this location.
Location: Wine and food
Had a great time.Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location and handy to just about everything! Very good food too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not a 4 Star Hotel, more like 3

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: Rooms need to be fine tuned... and get some new beds... Please!!!!
Location: Shops, caf├ęs, stores
Do not take the Nectar suite!! Beware, Its very old, dated and smells like mildew with 70's carpet. We asked to be moved immediately and they did have a small room off the garden which was acceptable, thank god.. The bed in our new room had a sink hole on one side, like most beds in France. They said they would change the bed, but seemed like they just flipped it instead...French trick. It did have a cute bathroom. The staff was polite and very helpful. Location of hotel is great, probably the best in town. 4 stars for this hotel, NO. 3 stars....well ok. Good luck!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Lovely Hotel in Beaune Centre

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Front desk service; Courtyard breakfast area; Quiet at night; Range of Beaune restaurants
Cons: Very little. The associated Michelin star restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday but there are plenty of alternatives in the town.
The Hotel Le Cep really needs no review - it's reputation is well known and it certainly lived up to it on our visit. The courtyard breakfast/restaurant area is gorgeous, the staff are fabulous and the location could not be better for visiting Beaune and the Bourgogne wine growing estates. There is a reasonably sized private car park - monitored by CCTV though not 'secure' and you may read in some reviews that the toilets in some rooms are tiny. This was true of ours but bear in mind that there was a connecting door between the bedroom and the ensuite area to give some privacy if needed and that mediaeval architecture is worth making some 21st century compromises to live with!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Dump

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms, put in new furniture, drapes, carpets.
Location: In the center of a medieval town. The 15th Century hospital is very interesting, and the Pommard estate is 2 km outside to town.
While we love hotels with character, this hotel is damp, musty and beloved of tour bus groups. Overrated. Expensive. And Beaune is also not a very interesting town, except for the 15th Century hospital. Can't recommend any other hotel because we will never come back to Beaune.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We had great stay at the hotel, friendly staff. The breakfast buffet was overrated and too expensive. Some amenities in the room were too old. Bidet was not working properly and toilet seat needed replacement. But overall, the hotel was charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MikeH from Kent England

A Class Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We're old friends to Le Cep having stayed before, and it's still as good as ever. Not cheap but not crazy either, and you get what you pay for. Our view, this is a class act.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, classic boutique hotel.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The classic old world charm and the location.
Cons: Tour groups being more sensitive to other guests.
Location: We like to take walks in the vineyards and surrounding areas. There are many to choose from. There are lots of restaurants, wine tasting and sights.
Le Cep is very near the city center and is a classic old world hotel. Most rooms are quite small as is the lobby and bar, but it is charming and intimate. Lots of groups stay here -- both bus tour groups and biking tour groups. There were just the two of us, but the staff was great, helpful and efficient. The tour groups tended to dominate the lobby area when they were gathering and not very mindful of other guests need to access the reception area.
2 out of 5
by Malcy from napa, ca.

Good location, disappointing hotel.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: An overhaul of rooms, and cleanliness.
Firstly, the location of the hotel is very central for walking around Beaune. The staff were also very helpful and friendly, and the concierge in particular. We were extremely disappointed with the room however, it was long overdue for a makeover, pepto bismol walls, red dirty carpet, mint green bathroom, you get the picture. This was not the entry level room, we were in the premier cru upgrade and was the most expensive and worst room on a two week tour of Eastern France, and we stayed in some lovely Relais Chateau properties for a lot less. Cleanliness was also an issue. Behind the door of the W/C there was a big pile of someones hair. The next day I looked to see if it was still there, it wasn't! But alas it had just been moved to the other side of the room! The shower was quite a challenge, it was a shower over bath set up which would have been fine had the bath tub not been so narrow on the bottom. It was impossible to stand with ones feet together, so we had to adopt a surfing stance to fit in! I should mention that this is the first review I have ever written, and that I have been in the hotel and restaurant industry for 38 years, but I don't want everyone to believe the hype that this hotel seems to generate. All in all we left feeling a little misled and ripped off.