Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tony from hertfordshire

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
This is a beautiful hotel, incredibly well kept and impeccable staff, I really couldn't ask for more, will definately be going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lindley from graura

Best hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Culture heritage style
Cons: Nothing
Exceptional! True class and brilliance in every fine detail!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by malcom from Guildford

Nice historical hotel, set in parkland. Comfortabl

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The historical interest, comfort and the location.
Cons: Fake candlestick wall lights are not needed - an old building moves with the times.
Location: We went for a walk around the parkland and to the bird hide in the morning. There are a few walks of 2 - 3 miles in the surrounding country park.
We had booked through expedia - however they were not aware of our booking when we got to reception. However they were polite and had no problem in checking us in and gave us a nice room. Although there is some fakery - such as fake candlestick wall lights, the room was of a comfortable size, the bed comfortable and firm as we like it and the plumbing effective. The room was quiet with a view out to trees and the corner of a wedding marquee. During the night there was no sound at all in the room - not even distant traffic. We went down to the bar and had a bar snack - pricier than our want, but very tasty and well served - and a couple of drinks. We had not reserved in the restaurant, which appeared busy and was too much for what we wanted having eaten at lunch time with parents. We also had a brief wander around the building, which although not extensive was more interesting than a standard hotel - having nooks and historically decorated. Breakfast was very well done, if busy as most guests came down towards the end of the available time. There were plenty of staff to help with coffee, tidying etc. and the buffets were of god quality. I personally liked the warm croissant basket. Coffee was of a good strength and fresh tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hayley from Richmond, North Yorkshire, UK

something very different!

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: its uniqueness
Cons: service in the restaurant
Location: magical - spacious - set in public grounds where families were having barbecues.... very "country park"
Coombe Abbey is a truly individual hotel. It is a beautiful building set in lovely grounds. Plenty of space outside to explore, and heaps of intriguing features inside to capture your interest. We had an excellent meal during our stay, although even though I had booked a table, confirmed the reservation by phone, and confirmed the same reservation upon check-in, I was disappointed to find that we were not on the table list when we arrived at 8pm in the restaurant. We were given a table, after a 20 minute wait. As already mentioned, the food for this evening meal was terrific - but the service standards did not match that of the food. Disappointing really as this really let the hotel down. Prices for dinner, and a bottle of wine were good value. Breakfast was another chaotic affair. WE stayed 2 nights, and neither morning was better organised than the other! Breakfast had a good selection of food, though the hot buffet could have been a little more exciting. All in all, we had a great weekend. We had a lovely room, lovely evening meal (food) and enjoyed the grounds of the hotel in the sunshine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really like staying at this hotel but must remember it's not so good in hot weather, the Wi-Fi is impossible - except in the restaurant! And I cannot help feeling that a double room with no ironing board or hair dryer, but a trouser press clearly only really wants a male guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SLS from Belfast

Remarkable - to be recommended

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I visited Coventry for business but due to a fantastic room/breakfast offer @ Coombe Abbey decided to forego the usual hotels & combine business with pleasure! My stay @ Coombe Abbey was a pleasure. It's set in an amazing location & I'd a real sense of arriving somewhere special as I travelled down the tree-lined road to the picturesque entrance. The Reception staff were consistently friendly & enthusiastic. This is true re other staff: the housekeeping staff who greeted me in the halls, the restaurant/ bar staff who were solicitous of my needs. The food (dinner & breakfast) was of a high standard. My room, a classic, was well presented (lovely touch of a little box filled with sweets)! My only issue was it was hot in the room - although a very good fan was provided & the outside temperature was a consistent 30C! Very comfy bed (felt like the princess from the princess & the pea (without the pea)!! The room had modern facilities as required. I didn't spend much time in my room, but walked around the grounds: lake, wooded area, tree-lined avenue & wildflower meadow. The hotel provides a high standard of service which made me feel comfortable (& special). I would return & do recommend this hotel to others; those who are looking for an out of the norm business trip, the history/ quirky seekers, the romantics, those who want some r&r - it is exactly as advertised as 'no ordinary hotel'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Windsor

The beds were very comfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The stay was good and service overall good The only problem was the restaurent. I booked for dinner in the main restaurant at the bar. They said a table was not available for my family until 9.30 p.m. which was late but we were prepared to wait. When we arrived at the restaurent the reservation had not been written down. We were then only offered bar service or told may be we could be fitted in much later. This was very unsatisfactory. Save for this the stay was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Archer1 from Rugby

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ok just not good service at all