Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location, architecture, quality of accommodation and food.
Cons: The oath from the car park to the hotel is not obvious nor terribly well lit
Such a lovely building, and great to see it being so well looked after. I stayed in one of the newer outbuildings and expected it to disappoint (can you tell I've booked rooms at beautiful hotels before; only to find what I've actually got is a room in a modern and unimaginative building tucked away behind it?). Contrary to expectations the new building has been built to a very high standard and offers spacious, quality accommodation. Food was excellent, room service very quick. Breakfast offered a range of choices. All in all an excellent hotel and i would love to find a reason to return very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Makes a great first impression

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel is visually impressive, inside and out - this is probably a great hotel for weddings.
Cons: I'd love to have access to a gym or something else sporty, but I'm probably not in this hotel's target demographic.
Location: Very pleasant location, but there is nothing within walking distance, apart from walks around the well-groomed country park. Short drive to Coventry.
The exterior of the hotel is very imposing - you enter by crossing a bridge over a moat! - and the interior carries on in that vein; dark wood, heavy old furnishings, and so on. This theme continues into the room - the room facilities are nothing special technically speaking, but the furnishings give the impression of being old and sumptuous. Restaurant OK, modern food in an eclectic setting, great winelist but high prices. Service was good but not flawless. No gym, pool, or any other leisure facilities. Parking arrangements are a little odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Coombe Abbey Coventry

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great stay in Very atmospheric hotel lovely rooms and beautiful grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from London

Amazing

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel to stay and amazing value for money a real treat, my double was to singles pushed together !! Only complaint I have
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Old world character hotel in excellent surrounding

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and friendly away from city life
Cons: More inside light
Location: Close to Coventry and Birmingham, including the NEC and LG Arena. Easy motorway access.
Hotel was easy to find in beautiful open country park surroundings. The hotel has an old world charm becoming of the buildings but has dark interior to the main reception and bedrooms. The room was very comfortable with period fixtures and fittings but all spotlessly clean and in full working order. In contrast the restaurant was in a conservatory attached to the main building and was comfortable, spacious and informal. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and of high standards. Staff were friendly and accommodating. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for traditional country house style accommodation away from it all but with easy access to Coventry and Birmingham and your preference is for the more traditional British furnishings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melvin from Essex

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful, interesting hotel situated in beautiful gardens. Tastefully decorated rooms, extremely clean and well furnished. Great breakfast in the lovely conservatory. Staff very polite and helpful. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Butcher from Oxford

Birthday

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the whole stay...reception staff were very, very helpful, the room was very nice. The meals at night was very good, breakfast could have been a little better, some of the service staff in the mornings could have been better though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kingsfleetcolin from suffolk

hotel with character

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want dimly lit corridors, older style furnishings and bathroom furniture then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from Essex

Lovely Room. Extremely Comfortable Bed

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a lovely room with a very comfortable 4 poster bed. Unfortunately we tried to book the restaurant a week before we were due to arrive, but it was totally booked up. We had to get a Taxi to a local eatery which was a big disappointment while staying at such an amazing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ann from Essex

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was unwell when I stayed at this hotel so did not benefit from the food offered. The staff kindly carried my bags to my room which was helpful.