Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Makes a great first impression

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel is visually impressive, inside and out - this is probably a great hotel for weddings.
Cons: I'd love to have access to a gym or something else sporty, but I'm probably not in this hotel's target demographic.
Location: Very pleasant location, but there is nothing within walking distance, apart from walks around the well-groomed country park. Short drive to Coventry.
The exterior of the hotel is very imposing - you enter by crossing a bridge over a moat! - and the interior carries on in that vein; dark wood, heavy old furnishings, and so on. This theme continues into the room - the room facilities are nothing special technically speaking, but the furnishings give the impression of being old and sumptuous. Restaurant OK, modern food in an eclectic setting, great winelist but high prices. Service was good but not flawless. No gym, pool, or any other leisure facilities. Parking arrangements are a little odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Coombe Abbey Coventry

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great stay in Very atmospheric hotel lovely rooms and beautiful grounds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Old world character hotel in excellent surrounding

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and friendly away from city life
Cons: More inside light
Location: Close to Coventry and Birmingham, including the NEC and LG Arena. Easy motorway access.
Hotel was easy to find in beautiful open country park surroundings. The hotel has an old world charm becoming of the buildings but has dark interior to the main reception and bedrooms. The room was very comfortable with period fixtures and fittings but all spotlessly clean and in full working order. In contrast the restaurant was in a conservatory attached to the main building and was comfortable, spacious and informal. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and of high standards. Staff were friendly and accommodating. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for traditional country house style accommodation away from it all but with easy access to Coventry and Birmingham and your preference is for the more traditional British furnishings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kingsfleetcolin from suffolk

hotel with character

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want dimly lit corridors, older style furnishings and bathroom furniture then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from Essex

Lovely Room. Extremely Comfortable Bed

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a lovely room with a very comfortable 4 poster bed. Unfortunately we tried to book the restaurant a week before we were due to arrive, but it was totally booked up. We had to get a Taxi to a local eatery which was a big disappointment while staying at such an amazing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ann from Essex

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was unwell when I stayed at this hotel so did not benefit from the food offered. The staff kindly carried my bags to my room which was helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tony from hertfordshire

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
This is a beautiful hotel, incredibly well kept and impeccable staff, I really couldn't ask for more, will definately be going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lindley from graura

Best hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Culture heritage style
Cons: Nothing
Exceptional! True class and brilliance in every fine detail!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Watts

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I told my boyfriend as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was we has an amazing time, and will defiantly visit again.