Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miranda from East Sussex

Good central bed and breakfast in Coventry

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Extremely economical. Breakfast (additional cost) was extremely cheap. Location was very good.
Cons: The bathroom was shared, which I knew, but I had it to myself. It was large and very clean and the shower was brilliant
Location: Not a very salubrious location if one opted to walk into town via the underpass, but using the nearby footbridge over the ring road instead was fine.
The location of the Highcroft guest house was better than I had anticipated and I was able to get easily into the city centre and the cathedral by walking, and to catch a bus from the station when I arrived. There were several restaurants withing easy walking distance. It was extremely quiet. The room was spacious and clean, though it smelled strongly of cigarettes, despite the no smoking sign clearly displayed on the door. Leaving the window open helped. Breakfast was extremely cheap and was a full English.I was able to eat at just after seven am which is unusual for a Sunday.
2 out of 5
by . from uk

comfortable, shame about the customer service

Posted Apr 19, 2014
When I arrived I was told that there was a booking but I hadn't paid when the money had been taken from my account 5 days earlier, this drama sorted onto the next though I had breakfast option chosen and paid for they were adamant it was not included and charged me a further £7 which though not much it was principle of paying twice for something. Customer service etiquette was very lacking which is a shame as the room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. The disputed breakfast was also good quality, such a shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Derby,Derbyshire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steven from Somerset

Close to City Centre, Inexpensive and Comfortable

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I am not a fussy guest and found Highcroft Guesthouse suitable for my needs. The surrounding area is not fantastic but, on the positive side, the guesthouse is no more than a 5 minute walk away from the city centre where there are a number of pubs and restaurants to choose from. The room was tidy and generally clean but not spotless. Parking was a little tricky: they have one space in front of a garage and they should make arrangements clear in advance because the hotel parking/ entrance is not easy to find on a relatively busy road. The guesthouse is an old property and in fair condition. The room was spacious and comfortable with flat screen TV. The breakfast was ample - cereals and full English for around £4. If you need a basic yet comfortable place to overnight on a low budget, the Highcroft will be a satisfactory choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from England

A nice place to stay when in town for work.

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: This guesthouse does the job. I need to spend one night per week in Coventry for work purposes. It's fine.
Cons: I can't have wheat gluten, so maybe there could be the option to have a non-white carb at breakfast instead of toast. Hash browns might work.
Location: very close to Coventry City Centre.
This guesthouse does the job. I need to spend one night per week in Coventry for work purposes. It's fine. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is suitable. I perhaps wouldn't come here for a romantic weekend away, but it's within easy walking distance of Coventry city centre and therefore perfect for my purposes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by xie from Coventry

very comfortable

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
recommend online
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked two rooms which specifically said they are ensuite and paid correspondingly. When we showed up we were told we booked the cheaper rooms that have a shared toilet and shower on the floor. Given that we had already paid they made it clear they don't really care that we are not happy with that - "take it up with the travel agent". Avoid!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but not a good location

Posted Sep 16, 2013
The place was OK, but the location meant that we didn't feel safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from South of Ireland

walking distance to main shopping area

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
very friendly staff, perhaps the English breakfast could be improved on, but overall this was not no great low low