Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

Easy to use hotel - good value for money

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Food and cleanliness and free WiFi
Cons: Revamp Reception as it looks tired
Location: On the main road so access to Coventry and NEC is excellent
Booked on line and asked for front room on upper floor but this was missed! but Reception kindly changed for me when I arrived. Reception area is tired looking but rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. Car parking easy - value for money is good - free WiFi and tea and coffee making Will stay at this one again as is great as a business stop over
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom stoke on trent

Functional for business travellers next to A45

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Location next to A45
Cons: Lounge area seating poor and not functional.. Hospitality lacking in places. Make breakfast charges transparent on arrival.
Basic accommodation for business travellers next to A45. Midweek one night stay (female on business trip) booked 24 hours previous. Public facilities adequate, dated, needs refurbishment. Lounge: overpriced basic bar meals, bar staff pleasant & friendly but lack service training, uncomfortable v. low sofas which make eating awkward. Would have eaten elsewhere if alternatives had been evident. Basic hospitality lacking 1) no newspapers & none available on request, was directed to newsagents short drive away. 2) saw a guest arrive late to b'fast having obviously overslept but was refused quick coffee & an apple to take out he requested before his meeting. Room quiet but dated, bed & pillows uncomfortable. TV jammed on limited channels. Good wifi & desk area. Bathroom refurbished, clean, spacious with good lighting, no toiletries, bath & shower. Buffet breakfast good quality & service, replenished as needed. Beware! charged more for breakfast if you do not book night before, despite not told on check in! Would not stay again for this reason, I view any unexpected charges as very off-putting. Complained & the charge was removed. External: additional secure parking for female travellers sectioned off in car park close to hotel entrance aims to support safety of female business travellers. This was appreciated but not enough to make me stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Easy parking
Cons: Maybe a ramp to make taking luggage in a bit easier
Location: Good location for Coventry and other towns
Only stayed one night so can't say much more than it was good value for money. Bathrooms could do with a bit of attention but bed comfy and good tv.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Tired old bedroom!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: It was convenient to the NEC
Cons: Spend a huge chunk of cash and undertake a major refurbishment
Location: Hotel is located on an industrial estate; access to it by road is quite straight forward; Not sure if the car park had any CCTV coverage. NEC near by.
TV reception was very poor, screen kept freezing and breaking up; bathroom door jammed on the floor and had to be forced open; shower mixer valve had no red/blue or hot/cold transfer, so it was a bit of a guess whether one froze or was scolded; skirting board missing where a piece of furniture once stood. Corridors smelt of stale cigarette smoke. When I checked out the receptionist asked, "Did I enjoy my stay?". Appeared quite taken aback when I listed the catalogue of issues with the facilities in room No23.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cumbria

Great hotel for a bargain price.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
I paid 42 pounds for a twin room, so I wasn't expecting high standards. The room was immaculatly clean and fairly modern. The ONLY fault is the mattress was well past it. It was a bit uncomfortable and the springs where noisy. New mattresses and this would be a faultless bargain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdare

Excellent overnight stop for Birmingham airport .

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Just a brief overnight stop with few hours sleep before leaving for the airport but I would stop here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Generally good experience, reception staff particularly pleasant and helpful. Drawback was the noisiness of other guests late in to the evening. Breakfast was a very good buffet style with lots of variety and good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

Large Hotel close to Coventry

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location. Free large parking area.
Cons: Beds were not that comfortable, so this could be improved.
Location: Within easy reach of Coventry and surrounding area. Good frequent bus service so no need to take a car into the Town.
The room was clean and of a good size, with the normal amenities that you expect from this kind of establishment coffee & tea, making facilities, mid size television etc. The only problem we had was that the hand held shower head that fitted into a wall bracket system kept dropping out of its holder and hitting the person having the shower. This could have been harmful if the person was a child or of small build, as the shower head was quite heavy. One time it fell down before I got into the shower, this resulted in water being sprayed out over the bath and onto the bathroom floor. I reported this to staff on our departure so I hope this has now been fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A few days away

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Willingness to help and try to please. Some of the food was good.
Cons: Don't be reactive, be proactive. Beds with wafer thin mattresses are not good for health, let alone experience.
I stayed at this hotel before with a colleague. We were placed in the new extension at the back of the hotel and these were great. This time I was put in a room in the "old" building (Room 3) in which it was hard to swing a cat, for a double room. The most disappointing thing, for the 1st night was that the mattress was about 1" think, it was HORRIBLE. To be fair I am 6ft 2 and a big guy (too much working out :-( ) but never the less you do not expect this. HOWEVER next morning I complained, not expecting much to be done. BUT when I got back that evening, as I was at a trade fair, I sat on the bed to call the wife and realised that something was different. They had changed the mattress for me! It was now a super thick, all be it firm sprung, affair but I was VERY impressed with this level of service. This is the level of service I would normally expect if I was on a trip to Hong Kong, not the UK. For this reason I rate this hotel well. I only had lounge meals as I was knackered coming back from a trade fair, the 2nd night I had a "Surf and Turf" - rump steak and prawns in batter - and blimey the steak was just as I asked for it, medium rare, juicy and tasty. I have to say that this does not happen often, even in top class restaurants (Brasserie Blanc made a complete mess of a decent steak in Dec for me), so I was impressed by this. For the price a good place BUT do NOT be shy or embarrassed to make your opinion felt as the staff are, and do, try hard to please.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

reasonable family hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: comfortable bed, good breakfast
Cons: a bedside light would be good, a bit of work on the very noisy floorboards, shorten the curtains, directions on the web, displaying cost of breakfast
Location: no idea, just stayed overnight, convienient for NEC
Pity they don,t quote a street number so that the sat nav can locate the hotel, no directions on web. Silly curtains, if you draw them, you cover the radiator and prevent heat coming into room..