Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Maryland

Great resort, felt like a trip on the Titanic!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Location: Skiing. Spa. Hiking. Golf. Exploring the small town. Pool and jacuzzi. Skating. Very remote location, but everything you need is on site.
The decor is exquisite. The staff is most helpful. The food sumptuous. The activities great (skiing in Southern Va. in late Feb). The spa was the best $25 I have ever spent. Relaxing and envigorating. And the dancing in the main dining hall is not to be missed. Overall the best hotel experience I have ever had. It reminded my wife of the Titanic - in all the best ways. The decor is definitely southern charm. The chairs on the huge porch comfortable. The hallways magnificent. The dining room chandeliers impressive. You really can't miss staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice East coast ski resort.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Kind staff. Fancy and very elegant hotel. It would be worth it if Expedia offered skiing and Spa packages along with the rooms. This become expensive when purchased separately. Facilities are old and requires maintenance of heating equipment (excessively hot).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DDF from Charlottesville, VA

We were very happy

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay. The hotel is very nice and the restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Quiet and enjoyable. Very restful and great dining
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Quiet and enjoyable. Very restful and great dining
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yanett from Woodbridge

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Spa was amazing! We definitely coming Back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

3 Day stay at the Homestead

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: My wife loved the new Aquavana spa and indoor outdoor pools. We just love the beauty of the buildings and the grounds.
Location: We did a lot of hiking on the property and Douthat state park about 45 minutes away. We highly recommend the Falconry activity on site. Very cool.
My wife and I wanted a romantic get away without the kids and the Homestead was perfect. We had a wonderful time exploring the hotel and all the incredible history this places has. We have been fortunate to stay at some new and exclusive resorts and hotels but the charm and beauty of the Homestead is unique and makes it one of our favorite places to visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Constance from VIRGINIA

Not a 5 Star Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: The history.
Cons: Shuttlebus driver was ot aware that downtown tavern didn't open until 5pm,we were stranded. Asked a merchant to call hotel for us. Educate employees
Location: The location is remote, but a pretty drive in the Fall. Hotel has many activities, but not much else in the area.
Horse back ride was good. When we realized that the carriage rides were no longer on the roads, but on the same trail, we cancelled that activity. Elevator buttons do not indicate lobby level, brass worn and damaged. Bath sink dripped, long dark hair in tub and only lukewarn water on Friday morning. No bath exhaust fan. Room service brought breakfast - salt solidified in shaker, coffee cold, forgot fruit. Room service called to see if service was OK and we told them about fruit. Server outside door when they called and took cart. They sent him back with fruit, but no silverware or linen. Made third trip for that. Dinner at Jefferson's was tasty, but soups were cold. Dinner at Main Dining Room was tasty, but plate was dirty and waiter forgot to ask for wine order. We stopped him and told him what we wanted. He came around again in a few minutes to verify what we had told him. Long wait between soup and food. We wanted wine with dinner, but when dinner was served and we had finished half of our meal before the wine was served. He brought the wrong wine...not even close. Long wait between entree and dessert menu. Breakfast buffet- young waiter did not know the difference in the 2 levels of buffets, had to ask another waiter. Large butter bowl empty. On check out, bellman called for car. After waiting for 30 minutes, we asked the main desk about it and the valet called over to the lot and was told no one had called for our car. Not a 5 Star Hotel.