Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KY

A Great Experience!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
I love this place and would love to go every 3-4 months to experience each season. It's a little pricey, and it could be worth waiting for deals, but what one gets in return is a location and service that isn't found in very many places in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: history, grounds
Cons: needs some updating as there is rotten wood and peeling paint
We had a wonderful time, and the leaves were at peak
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sharpsburg, MD

Excellent Resort

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: I liked everything from the men that open my door to welcome me in, all the way to them opening my doors to sY goodbye.
Cons: I'm sure there is always room for improvement, but I don't know what it would be in the Homestead.
Location: There are 2 places to golf maybe 3, the Jefferson mineral water house wow, sock in the mineral water, some say they come all over just to get in
The Homestead is a beautiful place, it is huge. Each place is prettier then the last, I was wow throughout my stay. Stores, theaters, resturant, golf, spa, huge pool, exercise room, it's all right there. I can see why the presidents of the USA come here to relax. Can't wait until my next visit. oh! It's kid friendly not that I have any.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Great location, activities. Hotel needs updating.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: hike, spa
Cons: Jefferson pool,hotel rooms need some major renovating
Location: There is nothing to do nearby, everything is on the resort. There are plenty of activities - hiking, golfing, falconry, archery - but everything $$$.
We were looking for a relaxing retreat away from the city, and were drawn to the Homestead for it natural setting and hot springs. The resort itself is nice and has a great variety of activities, but our hotel room was not so great. We stayed in one of the "recently renovated" Garden rooms. Didn't seem renovated at all, especially the bathroom. The room had a bit of a funky smell, the decor was old and tired. We asked for a fridge, but it had a terrible odor to it. After finding a second bug in the bathroom, we finally complained and were moved to an upgraded room. It was MUCH nicer, clean and comfortable. For such an expensive resort though, our original room should have been clean and comfortable as well! The activities are great, but $$$. We highly recommend the hike, very memorable experience! The spa was nice and relaxing. The spa garden is new, but stay clear of the hot spring pool (water looked very murky). Instead, go for the hot tub and sauna. The indoor amenities are nice too. My treatment was very average, and the therapist Samantha had a bit of an attitude because she couldn't find me when it was time for my treatment. She claims to have looked for me 3 times… I don't think so. Our most highly anticipated but least favorite activity turned out the be the Jefferson pools. They need some serious and major renovation! Very poorly maintained. We may come here again if the Jefferson pools and hotel rooms are renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Great family vacation getaway

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Just the number of children oriented activities and ample things for adults (clay shooting, golf, falconry, etc.)
Cons: The food was overpriced for the quality. They need to improve quality of the food at all of their restaurants and at more reasonable prices
Location: It was a small town (so not much else to do outside of the property)
Several family outing opportunities - hiking, swimming, water slides, arcade, outdoor movies, roasting marsh mellows by the fire, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great surprise!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
A truly spectacular resort in the middle of the Allegheny Mountains. It was our first time staying there and we were upgraded to the executive suite. It was so nice, we're going back next month for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Big lobby, good food, nice place to relax an enjoy the views.
Location: Not much to do outside the hotel. We enjoyed golfing at the hotel and taking hikes. The hikes are well marked.
Nice, peaceful stay as a family with older children. A two night stay was sufficient. A longer stay may get tiring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Historical and Romantic Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel - rooms are clean and very historical atmosphere but you can choose some other restaurants for better taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by no name pleasefrom va

most gorgeous setting beautiful landscape

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Once we had a quiet room as requested on our reservation--room #3, it was great! This property provides lots of family activities, golf, hiking, pool, sauna etc. I would NOT recommend the bike trails as they are steep gravel and require exceptional bike handling skills. Too bad there are no flatter options along the golf courses.