Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhondafrom Texas

Best choice for Cozumel!

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Everything. location, tons of great amenities, friendly staff, clean, relaxing but fun
Cons: Softer pillows Lobby AC Nothing else!
Location: A little north (but close) of town so not too busy, much quieter. Their beach is part of the property, golf, jungle across street
This resort hotel has everything you could want for a fabulous stay in Cozumel. As we drove from the airport past other hotels, I was worried because they looked shabbier and not what I thought from the internet. But when we pulled into El Cozumeleno, I was stunned at how much better it was than I had even hoped. Atmosphere, cleanliness, staff, amenities!, location and oh my gosh, the beach access, perfect! The worst I could say is the pillows are hard and the lobby is too warm. The rooms are huge, quiet, squeaky-clean, balconies private and view is the best! The entire staff are super polite, friendly, helpful and just there for you. They seem happy with their work, so they seem to be just happy people. We will always return to El Cozumeleno for our Cozumel trips.
3 out of 5
by MN Jack

Small beach hotel on a budget

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Calm beach waters. Smaller resort size.
Cons: Due to the high humidity there may be mildew problems. Not uncommon for the area. Also the air conditioners aren't great.
The hotel is a smaller resort which can be good or bad depending on what you're looking for. You'll quickly have facial familiarity with other guests from seeing them at one of the restaurants, at the pool or at the beach. You'll likely know many by name. Beds and couches aren't very comfy but we stayed in a room with two double beds and the couch converted into another double or two slim twins. We stayed on the older side of the resort on the first floor which was great as we could walk right out to the pool and watch the kids. Not the fanciest hotel but the beach has some of the calmest waters due to the reefs I believe. Food was average. Service was good, especially once you're known as a tipper (the opposite is true too).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
My only complaint was that the beds were too hard. Other than that we had a great stay at the Cozumeleno.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A good choice!

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Nice resort to stay in Cozumel. All inclusive package is good for us, the food is delicious and the staff are very friendly. We enjoyed playing pingpang, mini-golf, snorckling, bike tour, etc. The resort also arranges the special events such as Mexican dance and movie night. It is very family friendly resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom Rockford, Illinois

Nice place but room for improvement.

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: the waiter staff was great. the restaurant has very nice food.
Cons: No water pressure in our room. Would be nice if there were more things for adults to do after 5pm. bring your own cup the cups provided are small.
Location: location was great. beach was very nice. the shopping in town is Okay.. they are just too pushy for my taste.
great experience but some things could of been better. By 8-9pm the place literally shuts down... only a few bars open for drinks and not much for entertainment.If all you want to do is sit by a pool/beach and drink all day this resort is great. the food selection could be better but was not that important to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kisheenfrom Arkansas

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Location: We went to the market. It was close and a great time. There is a ferry that will take you across to the mainland and return you for a short fee.
Greatly enjoyed our stay. Check-in was quick and easy. Rooms were exactly as we reserved. Staff was friendly. Location and food was great! It rained for one day, but there were games and cards available to help pass the time. Was a wonderful long weekend. The only issue was the painting area. The gentleman working there did not glaze the art until the day we left and upon picking it up, the art was broke and glued back together. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessefrom TX

Nice hotel for the family

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Plenty of activities and kid friendly pool areas. Staff was friendly and pleasant to be around. Nice place to take kids for family vacation.
Cons: Pool bar closed a little early in my opinion (7pm). Karaoke Bar opened 11PM till 1AM...wish it had opened a little earlier like 9AM.
Location: Located on the northwest side of the island (north zone) about 5-10 minute cab ride to downtown area. Snorkeling, shopping, etc within 10-20 minutes
My wife and I went for a nice quiet getaway and this hotel was just that. If looking for couple atmosphere (romantic get away & nightlife) then look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Although a good location, the rooms could be nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dcfrom Dallas

Nice hotel , Great service!

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Wonderful pool area.
Welcome home was the first thing we heard as we walked into the lobby. It was nice being remembered and our stay was wonderful. Service in the dining areas, bars and service areas was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Custer

On nice beach

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Nice beach & pool, staff was great & room was big.
Cons: The selection of food could be improved. Also, an upgrade in the cooling in the older part would help.
The beach was really nice and so was the pool. Loved the covered area of the pool for a nice break from the sun. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful.