Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with a beautiful view.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The hotel was beautiful, and right on a walk-in beach. The rooms were excessively basic, with horribly uncomfortable beds and beach chairs. The food was awesome, and served buffet style. Great place for couples and families alike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunrise, FL

Excellent dining experience

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Outstanding cuisine, Sous chef Julio did a wonderful job creating different, very tasty meals. The waitstaff was excellent. anything to do with the people was excellent. The workout room sucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

WONDERFUL!!!

Posted Dec 21, 2014
This hotel is wonderful!! I cannot tell you how accommodating and friendly ALL of the staff were at this hotel. The food was good, all the staff were great!! Tip them!! We will be back very soon!! The photographers, wedding coordinator and the waiters were so incredible!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charleston, sc

Great customer service!!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel staff was amazing. They truly go above and beyond to service you. The pillows are less than desired. They are very hard and uncomfortable. The bedding needs to be worked on. The shower was nice and hot. I do suggest leaving the resort to experience the beach. I liked the south side beach better than the north. There really wasn't much of a beach and the hotel hot tub wasn't the hottest. The pool was cold. Always a nice and clean room. Room service was okay. Food was what was expected. I don't eat the meat and the buffet was small and limited. By day 4 I was over the food. Hotel lobby great wifi! Shop in lobby good prices. Make reservations for hotel resturant. It was excellent! Rent a car, the insurance is expensive so be prepared to pay 55 a day. It's worth it! Take the ferry to Playa Del Carmen.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

not great

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: Food options, service, amenities
I feel bad giving this a bad review but I have to be honest… we went for part of our honeymoon and were very disappointed. There are only 2 "restaurants" and the food in the buffet was mediocre at best. The service was mostly good in the restaurants with a few very terrible exemptions. The "fancy" restaurant that you had to make a reservation for even though it was never full and you could never get the time you wanted… it was decent food but the dress code? Kinda silly for a beach resort. My poor husband wearing pants sweating his butt off. The front desk was TERRIBLE and actually LAUGHED at our request for movies in our room. There is one tiny tv in the lobby and the first day there was bad weather. It felt like a tiny airport terminal with people fighting for seats and wifi while clawing over each other to get an "included" drink. Also, there was an ironman occurring the day we were scheduled to leave. We were concerned of our ability to get to the ferry due to road closures and NO ONE would help us with information on that. We asked 5 different people and no one would help us. We ended up asking our cab who was very helpful and assured us we'd be able to get out. Furthermore, not being a part of the ironman, the staff basically ignored us and only catered to the 100s of athletes. It was very frustrating and annoying since we were trying to have a special experience for our honeymoon. Would never go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Renton ,WA

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: The pools are not heated. NOONE was going into the pools. Hotel towels are rags, beds are hard, pillows are in bad shape. Room smells like mold.
Location: Not near anything
The pools are very nice to look at, but they are not heated, so we never used them. The hotel really should buy some new towels and linens for the rooms. Food was almost always the same thing everyday, would be nice if they changed the menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shawnee kansas

Family vacation

Posted Dec 5, 2014
My family stayed at this resort this thanksgiving 2014. We enjoyed the trip as a whole. The resort was ok, it could use some updating all around. The gym equipment needed to replaced nothing worked. Overall the staff was pleasent, helpful and accommodating. The food was above average and they put a variety of dishes out. You can plan on getting away from electronic devices as wifi only works in lobby and so many people on the wifi made in pointless trying to connect. I would recommend it for families looking for a quiet and laid back stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honeoye NY

Fantastic! Fabulous! Absolutely Gorgeous!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Food, Service , location-Staff is excellent ! Beach and snorkeling are awesome! Views!
Cons: More American TV Channels,,,,but absolutely no big deal-we weren't there for Television
Location: We were there for a week and only went to town once,,,,everything is available there and the El Cozumeleno is awesome!!!!!
This place is absolutely perfect!!! I had a lot of stress and went through a HUGE ordeal trying to pick the perfect place. It is very difficult when reading other peoples reviews - (One guy likes this,One guy hates this)! Basically,,,This place is absolutely FULL SERVICE! The staff is totally awesome and the place is great! You'll never be thirsty or hungry-EVER! The food is great and plentiful! My wife and myself had a terrific experience here and I absolutely recommend this Beach Resort for your family vacation!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh

Just spent week with family of 5-food's terrible

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Views.
Cons: FOOD!! Coffee makers, fridges, air conditioning that worked in rooms, radios/clocks, Wi-Fi. New towels, pillows & mattresses. 2 star hotel-no higher.
Location: Go to restaurants for decent food-Cafe Denis, Casa Mission. My burgers twice ordered were charred no beef patties.
Hv vacationed many places in U.S., Europe & Caribbean-cruises, all inclusives & hotel only. Food terrible-one main buffet area, one restaurant which they'd rather not use since many tables empty-but won't let you enter. A/C very hot in rooms and beds uncomfortable, flat lumpy pillows, very tattered towels. 3 days no towels or shampoo or waters left in kids rooms-no irons, very small safes, no DVD's or Pay Per View movies for in evening-only repeat CNN English station. No clocks or radios or coffee makers or fridges in rooms unless u pay to rent. Plan to stand in nasty ankle deep water in shower since takes hour for water to drain. No entertainment in evening or even music. Crowded lobby with no AC w ppl trying to use spotty wi-fi. Would be terrible in summer with heat & humidity. Overcharge on everything in hotel shop-$15 for a box of Dramamine? Only redeeming factor was friendliness of staff, views of ocean, snorkeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Very enjoyable experience. So nice to see allot of the same employees, the staff is very accomadating. Salvador is an excelent waiter. Santiago makes a great baked alaskan dessert. Jose and Lordaus keep the drinks coming. The food choices are always good. Can't wait to come back again next year.