Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Right off beach Beautiful view 24/7

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The location and view from this hotel is awesome! I could pick at a few things , like towels in your rooms need updated, more beach chairs and the napkins in buffet are small and paper thin. That won't keep me from going back. The staff was great! Drinks and food were good especially in restaurant . You can always ask for a better quality alcohol . They have a good selection! Overall we had a great time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: *Price *spacious rooms *beautiful views *rooms fairly well air conditioned *La Veranda Restaurant *Accomodating staff
Cons: *Our room's leaky toilet *Daily/nightly entertainment *Alcoholic Drinks
Location: If you want good Mexican food, visit La Mission. They had excellent food and awesome margaritas!
Overall it was a pleasant hotel. My biggest piece of advice for El Cozumeleno Beach Resort is to be in the lobby at 7:50am in order to make reservations for the restaurant "La Veranda". The food was very good. They only take reservations at hour intervals and I noticed from 7:00pm on that they didn't take as many reservations even though their restaurant was nearly empty at those times. Also, if you make your reservation for 5 or 6pm, you will have better quality food. After 8:00pm, I noticed that they skimped on certain ingredients they may have been running out of. However, despite these gripes, it was by far the best food available. The hotel's drinks were very weak. If you watch the bar tenders they barely put in more than a splash. If you tell them to double it, you might get half a shot in your drink. Their beer was very skunked. I love XX beer, but the beer they served was not good at all If you look around you will see the kegs sitting in the heat and being rolled around by the bar tenders (which explains a lot). Our room was fairly clean, had a great view and was roomy. However, our room had a leaky toilet. The water ran over the tile floors enough where we had to wear sandles to not step directly in it. The maid simply mopped it up but the water always returned. The hotel's entertainment was okay and some nights were definitely better than others. Overall, it's a good hotel for the price. It's no 5 star establishment though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY USA

Second trip to El Cozumeleno…no surprises

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, and reservation-needed restaurant
Cons: Over 60 TV channels but only 3 in English and yet, the vast majority of guests didn't speak spanish. Internet is free, but only in the lobby and weak
Location: San Miguel, the main town is a short $10 cab ride, but streets are safe to walk and provide interesting views of new real estate and old Cozumel.
Stayed here a year ago, and everything we like (beach, snorkeling, fine dining restaurant) were just as good as we previously experienced. Lack of english channels on tv is really perplexing, considering majority of guests are english speaking…and while internet is free in the lobby only, it is weak and unreliable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Excited to stay again in 2016!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: We liked nearly everything about this hotel.
Cons: I can't even find anything to complain about without being really nit-picky. Bath towels weren't the best, but were clean and functional.
Location: Shopping, but watch out for aggressive sales people. Deep sea fishing was really neat. Found some local restaurants that were wonderful.
Went for a week at the beginning of January, peak tourist season apparently. Beautiful location, hotel and excellent staff. Got a deluxe room at it was huge and the wrap around balcony was gorgeous. We spent a lot of time on our balcony! The food was very good, fresh fruit was always at perfect ripeness and very delicious. Wide variety of foods to make even the pickiest eater happy. Lots to do, getting a taxi was easy because there was always a staff member outside to flag one down for us and to help us find our destinations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Ok facility. Nothing special. Good snorkeling. Dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Home away from home

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of staff and it is somewhat off the beaten path, beauty of the resort, comfortable size
Cons: I would happily pay more if the hotel would update their linens, towels, shower hardware, beds, and food. It is beautiful and could be improved.
Location: Town is nearby for shopping. The island is small to explore and car rentals are easy and pretty convenient. Lobster dinners within walking distance
Great beach area for snorkeling, lots of pelicans, and other birds to watch. Staff can't be better - they are wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Will not stay here again

Posted Jan 14, 2015
I've read many reviews about El Cozumeleno resort and I'm puzzled as to where many of the reviewers have experience their travel. Our room smelled of mildew. The AC barely kept the room at a temp you could sleep at, it was hot in our room and the other room our friends who travelled with us had. Their room also smelled of mold/mildew. One everyday restaurant, one snack bar (which is not a separate place to eat as it served the same food as the restaurant it was attached to). Their was one other "dress up" restaurant but they only sat 8 couples per seating so if You didn't stand in line in the morning, the only times available were 5 PM or 9:30 PM. Everything else filled up with those willing to stand in line for an hour in the morning. Probably the most disappointing thing is the snorkeling. While you can snorkel right off the beach at El Cozumeleno, the very large rocks that you stumble over getting into the water you can actually swim in, coupled with the lack of fish you see is an epic fail. Even if it's your first time snorkeling, you will be disappointed. If you've snorkeled any amount anywhere else, you will feel duped by the place wven saying they have snorkeling at their resort. You will see a few fish but you will literally be able to count them. There is no coral, only 2 piers which is where you will see the few fish. This was not the most expensive place to stay but not was it the cheapest. Definitely NOT worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Get away from cold weather

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Staff is nice and helpful. Rooms are clean but outdated with very hard beds. Food gets old after a couple of days but food is the restaurant is much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom QC

Nice all inclusive resort

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Liked the Italian restaurant,which required a reservation and dress code. Staff extremely helpful.nice beach for beginner snorkelled a.
Location: Hotel in northern part of island. Golf course across from property. 5 min taxi ride to centre town with a variety of shops and stores.
Arrived in Cancun and took bus from airport to Playa Carmen(1hr) to connect to a ferry to Cozumel(45mins).Hotel clean overall. Hotel staff extremely friendly and cordial. Food was good. Beach very clean. Nice for snorkelling. Staff everywhere to make sure you were never without refreshments.Room clean and nice balcony with chairs/lounge chair to relax. Hammocks on beach nice added touch to relax and read. Played golf at country club across the property (4min taxi ride). J Nickalaus course-nice! 5 min taxi ride to center town for shopping. Would vacation here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

great staff, hard to sleep!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: staff, pool size and more than 1, right on beach, all inclusive for drinks
Cons: lighting in room, comfort of beds, temperature cooler
Location: secluded but next to other hotels, 10 minute 10 dollar cab ride into town, close to airport, good for kids/kids room with tv and videos when bored
We've stayed here 3 times and the last review i gave was raving great...however...we were a little disappointed this time. The part we stayed in was old, beds were SOOOO hard and hardly slept. The air conditioner is set to never really get cool by our standard and so we sweat at night trying to sleep. The staff are great and friendly. we stayed 14 days so maybe this is too long but after that time the food gets really old. not alot of variety on the buffet but you can always order on a menu, even if just at the pool so that helps. pool is awesome (cold) and love that its right on the beach with stuff to do there. feeding fish and seagulls was fun too. my kids 6 and 9 enjoyed it and had little separate "couch" beds that were alot softer to sleep on and so they did fine at night. no tub, lights are dim in room, esp bathroom. beautiful setting but could use some updates