Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, Mn.

You Get What You Pay For !!!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The check-in was late, but we finally got our room. The facility was great-easy access to restaurants-pools-beach. The food was efficient, you won't go hungry. Staff was not very outgoing. If you want everything 5-star--this is not your huckleberry. If you want 3.5 stars this is the place. Good bargain--I'll be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food was horrific!! Beds were hard as bricks!!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Awful experience!!! Food was horrific, beds were hard as rock! Would not recommend!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Nice older hotel at a quiet area

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: Internet access and air conditioned lobby.
Hotel is older but well maintained. Very clean. Great staff. No in room internet and poor wifi in lobby. Lobby has no air conditioning to speak of and very humid in the evening. Has two high(er) speed computers for use in lobby. Food average cafeteria buffet type. Great views and nice well maintained grounds.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

The food was always the same and not very good.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
It was ok. Lots to do, but for an all inclusive, be ready to pay for anything extra you want to do.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

I didn't like it as much as I had hoped.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The ocean and pool views from my balcony.
Cons: More bar tenders, so you don't have to wait to get a drink. More waiters delivering food and drink to where you are sitting. More heat in the hot tub.
I read a good number of reviews, and took a chance on this hotel because it sounded like it had good beginner snorkeling, nice beach, nice pools, nice grounds, OK food and facilities. The beach was smaller than I expected; maybe it got whacked by a recent storm. The sand is nice and it does have some fish to see when snorkeling. The pools were generally crowded. Most annoying: people claim chairs at the pool and beach like the night before, so unless you feel competitive you will be shut out of using them. (Who wants that on a vacation?) The pools did not look as clean as I'd like. And did I say they were crowded? The food was fine. We just ate in the big buffet place. The snack bar seemed a little dicey in terms of quality, and the fancy restaurant -- we didn't even try for it, since everything says you have to compete for that too. The most fun we had was "off campus" -- going to Punta Sur and Mister Sanchos -- not what you want when you are paying for an all inclusive. Maybe I am just over this kind of vacation. This place just did not seem to compare favorably to Bahia Principe in Akumal, where I stayed about 10 years ago, and understand the place is still going strong. That place had more campus, less crowded pools and beaches, better food (much more variety and better quality).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Stow, Ohio

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The location was nice. The all-inclusive was great, not having to worry about meals.
Cons: A posted menu of each day's items would be helpful.
Location: This resort is just a couple miles from downtown so it only cost us $8.00 to go downtown for the day.
My friend and I brought my daughter here for Spring Break/graduation/18th birthday gift. It was perfect. It was relaxing and perfect. The staff was helpful and always working to keep the resort clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Overall good experience

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Family orientated
Cons: Get the Hot Tubs fixed.
Location: Best snorkeling right out of hotel- go south of the beach area and current will take you back.
Both the hot tubs weren't working. They were luke warm in the morning but by end of day cold as pool. We always look forward meeting new people in hot tub to talk about experiences and things to do. Got to the Hotel at 11:00 am and wasn't able to get the room until 3:30, took another 30 minutes to get the bags. The lock on the room safe was broke and took another hour to get it fixed so wasn't able to get to start enjoying the resort until 5pm even though I was there @11am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Second time at El Coz

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Very enjoyable vacation. We knew what to expect and feel we got more than our money's worth. Stayed in older section of hotel. Room was very large but dated which was fine all we did was sleep in there. Towels as others have said are thin but they work. Bottled water provided is limited but there are plenty of places to fill them up so just saved a couple and had no concerns with enough water. Food is always available and overall good. We always went away full. My only complaint is the lack of variety with meals in the buffet, and it is a minor complaint. By the end of the week I was kinda burnt out on the same daily choices but there are plenty of other options to change it up and in all honesty I get like that at home too. Staff was great. I read many comments about front desk staff being rude and I did not see that at all. I actually thought they did great with the many rude customers they had to deal with on a daily basis especially at check in time. Overall great stay!! We'd definitely return!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Beautiful hotel.. Great location. Right on the be

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Have been staying here since 1992. Tried others but always come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

The Beach was Beautiful

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The Beach was the best part of this resort !! The rooms in the old part of the motel are very dated and in poor condition. The bed was hard as a rock. The food was good but needed a better variety especially when you stay 1 week. We didn't see the tower side rooms but people saying they were much nicer. The pool activities were fun to do and enjoyed the vacation all in all.