Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Gerb from TX, USA

Set expectations low.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Location: Good location for dining/drinking in downtown and close to the ferry terminal. You'll have to drive to get to the beach.
Stayed 3 nights and was excited after reading reviews, but for me the hotel didn't deliver. Photos online were nicer than actual rooms. The queen bed seemed small. Staff was helpful. Room was kept clean. Soap provided only on the first day, later by request. The room had a balcony but we were one level up from the street and across from residential homes, no reason to go on the balcony, nothing special. Had regular car noise from the street below, but traffic wasn't heavy. Curtains didn't block the sun. Hot water comes and goes depending on the time of day. No water at all the first two nights because pumps were shut off. I still don't understand the reason. I know this is an island and you have to deal with some inefficiencies, but don't expect that this will be any better than a 2-3 star experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from Minneapolis

"Overbooked"

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
That's the euphemism for telling us that they gave our room, booked two months in advance, to someone else before we checked in. What was offered to us instead was little more than a glorified storage room with a narrow bed and no window, next to the kitchen and across from the bar on the ground floor. The night manager was pretty cavalier about the whole affair as we tried to figure how to resolve the problem. His attitude was essentially "take it or leave it," and he served it up with a condescending smile. It wasn't until I spent a good 60 minutes on the phone with hotels.com and a conversation with the hotel's main manager the next morning that a solution began to emerge, and we were relocated to a nice private room with balcony view and full bath in a condo around the corner. We were generally satisfied with this, but the offer to move us around the corner should have been offered at check-in. All in all, we're not inclined the Hotel Flamingo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shelly from Fort Collins

A hotel that is fun to hang out at

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel met my expectations. The staff were very friendly and attentive. They had great suggestions on places to eat. We enjoyed hanging out in the bar between our activities. We will for sure return another time to the Flamingo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Minnesota

We loved staying at the Flamingo.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The included continental breakfast was very good (toast,fruit,juice,coffee) or you can upgrade (small charge) to full breakfasts- delicious.
Cons: Having a table & chairs on the balcony would have allowed us to utilize it for reading and people watching. Barking dog in the penthouse was annoying!
Location: Pie del Carbon right next door was one of our favorite restaurants, Mi Amigo Abelardo across the street is delicious & inexpensive.
This is a great small hotel for a reasonable price and staff is so friendly and helpful. Our Superior Room was beautiful. We were on the second floor and had a street side balcony. There is some street noise, but we needed the A/C on at night (it worked great), so it wasn't a problem when sleeping. The Flamingo is in a great location-so close to shopping, a convenience store, the plaza, terrific restaurants and only 1/2 block from the water. We enjoyed walking north along the ocean; there are a couple beach bars, sculptures to see in the median and you are away from the bustle of cruise ship passengers in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BW from Houston

Charming hotel close to the airport & beach.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, quiet, friendliness of the staff, proximity to the airport and shopping
Cons: I started my days early, so the lack of light blocking curtains wasn't an issue for me, but would be a plus for people who like to sleep late.
Location: 5-minute drive from Cozumel airport; short walk to Melgar Ave (a main tourist shopping street), restaurants, ferry to the mainland, & the beach
The hotel was just what I was looking for - quiet (I was there in January), clean and just a block from one of the main shopping streets. My superior room with queen bed was quite roomy and a great value. I didn't need an ocean view so the fact that it was on a side street was not a issue. The staff was very friendly and accommodating without being pushy, which really added to the enjoyment of my stay. Hotel Flamingo will definitely be on my list of hotels for future Cozumel visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A Couple of Love Birds from Seattle, WA, USA

Beautiful Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Flamingo Hotel is calm and beautiful with an open shady courtyard in the heart of downtown Cozumel. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family in a heart beat. The staff were great and always had awesome recommendations for restaurants and activities on the island. Additionally it was perfect to have a bar in the lobby to end or begin your night and breakfast included each morning. For just $2 USD extra you could get full breakfast complete with fresh juice and real (not instant) coffee. I'm sure we saved a bundle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanna from San Francisco

Great Hotel for Divers

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, simple, affordable, well-located, great staff.
Cons: THey serve a nice breakfast, but a lunch/dinner option would be great for those days wehn after diving, you just want some food and drink and off to b
Location: 1 blk ocean, 2 blk town sq., great restaurants and shopping within feet or a block or two...
This was my 4th stay at the Flamingo. I've stayed at an all-inclusive and another nearby hotel trying out different experiences but now I'm sold on the Flamingo. It meets all my needs: clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, great relationship with (in my opinion) the best divemaster on the Island - Sergio from Aquatic Sports, close to great restaruants and town square, and a nice little in-door/out-door lobby with a great bar and the BEST bartender on the island, Ivan! Ask him for a Margarita or a Mojito - YUM!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from Vancouver

Great value and service.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Great value, excellent and professional staff, great location outside of the main bustle and close to great restaurants. Great open common areas for lounging, good breakfast included and happy hour at the bar everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from New York

Cute, boutique hotel 3 blocks from main square

Posted Jan 4, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Flamingo! The staff was excellent, the room was large and relatively modern, everything was clean and the location was on 6th street, less than one block from the water and 3 blocks to San Miguel's main square. There were excellent dining options near the hotel - in fact, we walked to dinner each of 8 nights while we were in Cozumel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sona from Connecticut

A welcome change from the mega resort experience.

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Amazing staff, excellent location, great bar and courtyard area.
Cons: Better lighting in rooms and bathrooms for evening hours.
Location: There is an amazing bakery under a block a way as well as lots of great restaurants. The hotel is an easy walk from the ferry terminal.
The Flamingo is a true gem. While it is a smaller, "boutique" style, hotel which lacks some of the amenities of the big resorts (no pool and not on the beach), it makes up for it with it's personal service, excellent staff and super-convenient in town location. The lower-than-resort prices makes it more than affordable to rent a car on the island, which is really the best way to explore all the great beaches, rather than being limited to a hotel beach. Also, the in town location makes it a breeze to walk to lots of great restaurants and shopping. If you like the glitzy resort feel and really need a pool or to be on the beach, this is probably not the best hotel for you. But if you like a great value at a great price and enjoy the in town vibe, the Flamingo can't be beat.