Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Convenient location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The commodity and location
Cons: The hot water in showere
Location: Walking distance from all the stores and restaurants.
Staff was really nice and helpful. Clean and close to the beach. The only down fall was no hot water and no official parking. It was not needed since it was hot and the fresh water felt good, but hot water is always welcomed. Walking distance from everything. Really good family restaurant right across the street. Would stay here again next time :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by retired senior from dallas, texas

Good location , down town, a block from the beach.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Very pleasant staff, good air condition, in room safe, there is no pool, has a small bar, just a basic good room hotel. Yes I would stay there, on my next visit. Oh yes there is no elavator, so if you have trouble climining stairs, it's something to consider.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014
I was extremely happy with this hotel. I chose the superior room, it was clean and large. Hector was extremely friendly and informative. The hotel provided transportation included in the dive pricing TO the dive shop (Sergio Sandaval). They said we'd have to arrange our own transportation back. Sergio or his divemaster gave us a ride back everyday. I was quite pleased and have nothing at all negative to say about my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel; Great location; Great staff

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The price is right, great location, great staff, loved the chairs on the sundeck
Cons: Check for leaky shower faucets; clean the jacuzzi on the rooftop
Location: Great location! Just a few short blocks from the town square with all these shops and restaurants, 5-minute walk to the ferry/pier
I highly recommend this hotel: simple, quaint, clean, friendly staff, no more than a 5-minute cab ride from the airport, 5-minute walk from the ferry/pier (to get to Playa del Carmen), few blocks from San Miguel. Adrian (the manager?) and Ivan, the bartender, are very nice and gave us very helpful and honest advice/information. The breakfast food was good, too.
3 out of 5
by Gerb from TX, USA

Set expectations low.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Location: Good location for dining/drinking in downtown and close to the ferry terminal. You'll have to drive to get to the beach.
Stayed 3 nights and was excited after reading reviews, but for me the hotel didn't deliver. Photos online were nicer than actual rooms. The queen bed seemed small. Staff was helpful. Room was kept clean. Soap provided only on the first day, later by request. The room had a balcony but we were one level up from the street and across from residential homes, no reason to go on the balcony, nothing special. Had regular car noise from the street below, but traffic wasn't heavy. Curtains didn't block the sun. Hot water comes and goes depending on the time of day. No water at all the first two nights because pumps were shut off. I still don't understand the reason. I know this is an island and you have to deal with some inefficiencies, but don't expect that this will be any better than a 2-3 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Minnesota

We loved staying at the Flamingo.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The included continental breakfast was very good (toast,fruit,juice,coffee) or you can upgrade (small charge) to full breakfasts- delicious.
Cons: Having a table & chairs on the balcony would have allowed us to utilize it for reading and people watching. Barking dog in the penthouse was annoying!
Location: Pie del Carbon right next door was one of our favorite restaurants, Mi Amigo Abelardo across the street is delicious & inexpensive.
This is a great small hotel for a reasonable price and staff is so friendly and helpful. Our Superior Room was beautiful. We were on the second floor and had a street side balcony. There is some street noise, but we needed the A/C on at night (it worked great), so it wasn't a problem when sleeping. The Flamingo is in a great location-so close to shopping, a convenience store, the plaza, terrific restaurants and only 1/2 block from the water. We enjoyed walking north along the ocean; there are a couple beach bars, sculptures to see in the median and you are away from the bustle of cruise ship passengers in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BW from Houston

Charming hotel close to the airport & beach.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, quiet, friendliness of the staff, proximity to the airport and shopping
Cons: I started my days early, so the lack of light blocking curtains wasn't an issue for me, but would be a plus for people who like to sleep late.
Location: 5-minute drive from Cozumel airport; short walk to Melgar Ave (a main tourist shopping street), restaurants, ferry to the mainland, & the beach
The hotel was just what I was looking for - quiet (I was there in January), clean and just a block from one of the main shopping streets. My superior room with queen bed was quite roomy and a great value. I didn't need an ocean view so the fact that it was on a side street was not a issue. The staff was very friendly and accommodating without being pushy, which really added to the enjoyment of my stay. Hotel Flamingo will definitely be on my list of hotels for future Cozumel visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A Couple of Love Birds from Seattle, WA, USA

Beautiful Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Flamingo Hotel is calm and beautiful with an open shady courtyard in the heart of downtown Cozumel. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family in a heart beat. The staff were great and always had awesome recommendations for restaurants and activities on the island. Additionally it was perfect to have a bar in the lobby to end or begin your night and breakfast included each morning. For just $2 USD extra you could get full breakfast complete with fresh juice and real (not instant) coffee. I'm sure we saved a bundle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanna from San Francisco

Great Hotel for Divers

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, simple, affordable, well-located, great staff.
Cons: THey serve a nice breakfast, but a lunch/dinner option would be great for those days wehn after diving, you just want some food and drink and off to b
Location: 1 blk ocean, 2 blk town sq., great restaurants and shopping within feet or a block or two...
This was my 4th stay at the Flamingo. I've stayed at an all-inclusive and another nearby hotel trying out different experiences but now I'm sold on the Flamingo. It meets all my needs: clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, great relationship with (in my opinion) the best divemaster on the Island - Sergio from Aquatic Sports, close to great restaruants and town square, and a nice little in-door/out-door lobby with a great bar and the BEST bartender on the island, Ivan! Ask him for a Margarita or a Mojito - YUM!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from Vancouver

Great value and service.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Great value, excellent and professional staff, great location outside of the main bustle and close to great restaurants. Great open common areas for lounging, good breakfast included and happy hour at the bar everyday.