Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place is just perfect.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Location. Comfort. Service.
It is not over-the-top-elegant but it is not flawed in any way. So comfortable, such warm, kind, helpful and accommodating staff. Such a great location. Total win. I rarely say this but I will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cancun

Not a family hotel

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels, really old with threads coming out in every single side Shade in the pool area & bed bases, both mattresses were wider than box springs
Location: it is really close to Royal Village Mall and restaurants
My stay was OK, as the ratings above. There was not a bad employee, or a bad situation that happened, that was not resolved. But I have seen better hotels like in the range of Holidays Inn in USA to be way much accesible, and to be in better conditions. We were 3 adults, a kid and an infant (1 year). First, we requested additional towels, and mentioned we only paid for 4, which was odd as there was not an option to paid for the infant, and made a weird face at the lobby, as there is no way we should pay its space in the room for towels. Then, our shower drain was not allowing the water to go, after one person getting a shower, but it was fixed in the first try by maintenance, so that was good. The rest of our stay was without any situations. I call this review not a family hotel, as I did not see any accommodation for families with kids, not specific attention to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel, casual and very friendly

Posted May 2, 2015
We have stayed here several times, great location for scuba diving. Staff very helpful and truly friendly. Very relaxing place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, Minnesota

One of our favorite times in Cozumel!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Staff and the prices
Cons: bathroom and pool updates
Location: We stayed there because we rented a car and was so close to the other end of the island.
We have stayed in Cozumel at many different hotels. This was by far our favorite trip. The hotel definitely needs updating especially the bathroom, pool, and dining. However.... it is extremely clean! What made this hotel our favorite stay was the staff. Everyone from the servers, front desk, housekeeping to the bartender was extremely friendly and absolutely wonderful. I will have to give our favorite bartender on the island Santo's a thumbs up. He made our stay at the Casa del Mar so enjoyable. The customer service we received was outstanding to say the least. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay again on our next trip to Cozumel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Used to be the optimal place. Not so true anymore.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has food at almost any time although quality is acceptable, no more.
Cons: Stop the war between all dive shops and allow boats to dock at the pier. Also change the lounge chairs and mattresses. The "beach" is disgusting.
Location: There is nothing to do on site if you're not a diver and need something more than a semi-clean pool. Walk, rent a car or take a taxi to town...
This was known as the diver's hotel by excellence thanks to a direct access to a pier, by a bridge over the busy street. This is still true provided you accept to dive exclusively with their own dive shop. Recently they have forbidden any other boat from docking at their pier so if you dive with another provider you'll have to take a taxi to the main harbour ($10 per traject). I suppose it's ok to take their full package if you're not a photographer or videographer with serious equipment; boats get crowded and your precious equipment will not be safe. I would not go back there for this reason. But this is probably true at most other hotels, except further south at resorts which accept private boats to dock and pick up customers. There are better places to stay at if you want to avoid the crazy ballet of large cruise ships (terminal is nextdoor) and all the taxis coming and going. Next time I'll try to gather a few friends and rent a villa down south on Chankanab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fred from Philadelphia

Nice Spot

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Casa del Mar was exactly what we expected. An older hotel without all the resort amenities but with a nice pool decent food and a small beach. The room was small with two very firm double beds but clean. The front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful and the 2.5 mile walk into town along the seawall was nice exercise. We will be returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philippe from Little Rock

Hotel vieillot pour plongeurs uniquement.

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Pas de plage a proximite, restaurant tres moyen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanya from Fort Wayne

A great place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
We had a probelem with the air conditioner and they upgraded us to a better room...they repaired the air conditioner promptly, but did not ask us to move back to the other room. There were extras associated with the booking that we were not aware of and what a delight to recieve them. The staff was fantastic! They were open and friendly and made us feel incredibly welcome and comfortable. All in all this was very pleasant vacation, and a great deal of that was due in no small part to how well our stay was here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fermin Angel from Cancun Qroo

Recomendacion

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
me gusto , el personal es amable y servicial algo que recomiendo para mejorar el servicio es una buena maquina de cafe expreso etc y el servicio de internet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Bed hard, sheets old, room old,

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Overpriced. Could have stayed in modern new hotel for less money . Expedia ...you failed me on this one