Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 17, 2014
My spouse and I love Cozumel! This was our 2nd trip there in 2 yrs. and can't wait to return...just not to this hotel. The biggest pro to the hotel was that our room was clean. Nothing fancy, at all, very basic room, but we had no complaints about the hotel seeming unclean. We also were very pleased with how well the air conditioner worked. This seems to be a place a lot of divers like to stay. We found that as a bonus for us! Since we are not divers, we were either at the beach (across the street) or at the pool and many times had it all to ourselves. Not over crowded. We did have reasons for not loving the hotel though. We found the food to be WELL below average. When traveling, we have always done all inclusive, and definitely feel the "all inclusive" quality of this place is lacking. We found several of the employees to be pleasant, but an equal amount to be unpleasant. This definitely is not the place you should choose if you're looking for great service and quality (and quantity) of food and drinks. The location to town is not bad. It's about a ten minute walk and we did it every evening for dinner away from the resort.If you do venture out for dinner (which I personally highly recommend bc the city has a lot to see and offer, whereas this hotel does not), we highly recommend Rolandi's; amazing individual pizzas!The hotel was okay, but wouldn't pay for all inclus. if could do it over again.We had a great trip, but there's definitely better places to stay on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

All Inclusive was a real joy

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Location: Margaritaville is a 5 minute walk and the Dolphina (a place to pet and ride the dolphins) was only 3 minutes away. The Dolphina was worth the trip.
Very surprised by the quality of the all inclusive food -- very nice variety and very good. Enjoyed the omelet bar for breakfast and the pasta bar for the evening meal. We didn't want to leave the property for meals. Activity staff was very nice and really worked at trying to get people involved in some of the fun activities (bocce, salsa dancing, etc.). The pool waiters were always close by if you wanted a drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Best wait staff!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Service. They never hesitated, ever!
Cons: The beds are hard. Not unbearable. It just makes you appreciate that you have a great one back home. Everything else is amazing.
Location: You can walk to town square. Better yet, a taxi will take you anywhere, anytime, with peace of mind.
These people work so hard. I respect them and I think they know that. I really appreciate all they do and how well they do it. The front desk, the wait staff, the greeters, the dive shop, the bell hops, and dive guides....all first class. You can stay in fancier places I'm sure, but you won't feel like family! Don't forget, all inclusive including tips, does not mean do not tip. Please tip these people, even small amounts for small services such as, drinks, maid service, taxi call, front desk, excursions, dive masters, dive shop. If you can afford your vacation, you can afford to tip, and they depend on it! It's their way of life. You will not be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA, USA

Don't stay as a "Non-Inclusive" guest here

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Close to the pier, close to a grocery store and lots of ATMs at the grocery store.
Cons: Service, service, service. It was terrible. Rude, condescending, vile attitudes.
Location: Great snorkeling in the area. Go to the Money Bar restaurant and ask for Chela or Alberto, they have a large boat and do private tours cheap, AMAZING
The Good: The property is nice and with a small beach area and relatively good amenities. The restaurant food is better than average and a couple of the employees were really nice. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked great! The store on the property was small and did not offer any type of groceries that could be purchased if you were not part of the all-inclusive plan. The Bad: The beds were thin, bad mattresses on top of a brick platform, the pillows are thin and lumpy. Extremely uncomfortable beds. The worst part of our stay, however, was the service. Our entire group was treated very poorly. The cost of food was different each time we asked for something from the bar or when we tried to eat poolside. The staff would get upset with us for ordering (disregarding the fact that the non-inclusive crowd actually pays an tips for the service). When ordering food they would go pull the cold/stale fries from the poolside buffet rather than make a fresh order; our burgers were burned to the point they were black and when we complained, they said that is how we make them. I wish I had taken a picture of this, literally charcoal black buns and meat with cold cheese on top. It would have been comical had I found the humor in it. Looking at the buffet food for the all inclusive crowd, we did not see anything that looked really appetizing. This resort cut a lot of corners, the worst being in the service. No one in our crowd recommends you stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Utah

hotel Cozumel and resort

Posted Jun 18, 2014
This was a decent hotel. The pool and beach area were nice. The staff were pretty friendly. The food served was average. We tried ordering through room service several times, but were only answered once. When we did get food through room service it was good and a reasonable price. Our room was close to the lobby, so it was pretty noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive and close to city center

Posted May 22, 2014
HC&R is very close to the center of everything and has a beach with nice shore diving, onsite equipment rental and wonderful service. We have stayed there before and will again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Texan from Texas

Changes since my last stay!

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to great diving!
Cons: The common areas stayed dirty. There was a Q-tip in the corridor that stayed there for our entire stay.
I have stayed at this hotel three times previously. During each previous stay, breakfast was included in the Expedia price. That is no longer the case. With so many good places to stay in Cozumel, I may have to start looking for new lodging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014
Great place, we have stayed here several times. VERY CONSISTANT, we will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Casual vacation spot

Posted May 17, 2014
Rooms are great, all close to the pool. Smaller resort which means smaller buffet and less dining options, but very laid back and easy to feel comfortable. Friendly staff. Casual and relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Oklahoma

Relaxing Vacation

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Plenty of food and drinks. Friendly staff.
Cons: The rooms needed a bit of a make over. But they were clean, and that is what matters.
Location: Close to town and all shops.
My family of 6 stayed 4 days at this Hotel, the staff is excellent. Beautiful ocean area for snorkeling. Large pool area. Buffet style meals, except for pool snack bar, they can make burgers. Breakfast was great.. The omelets was awesome. The rooms are clean ,a bit outdated, but you wont be spending much time in there anyway. Within walking distance to town for shopping. Overall it was an outstanding vacation.