Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

iberostar spring 2015

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The star staff or fun staff was lively and engaging. The evening show was entertaining. The the pool games were inclusive and fun.
Cons: the food, the rooms, the cleanliness.
Location: We walked down the beach at Albertos. The food, fresh grilled grouper with garlic and butter was amazing, and reasonably priced.
The grounds are nice. Nice trees, flamingos, iguanas, shrubbery. The rooms are small. No dressers, just 6 cubbies in a very small "closet". The shower did not drain. So at most you could take a shower for 1-2 minutes, turn off the shower, let it drain, then finish the shower in intervals. If you did not do this the bathroom would fill with water. The air-conditioning is very loud, and kicks on and off. The best way to get your $ worth is to drink it. The breakfast is good,if not interesting. They had a station where you could have eggs made to your liking. The rest of the food although plentiful, but very bland. Everything tasted the same. The butter and the margarine tasted like they were made with grease, no cream, or salt. We were only there for 3 nights so we got to make reservations at an other than buffet restaurant once. We chose the mexican restaurant, because it had the best reviews on line. For the entree you got your choice of what style of tacos you would like. Very disappointing. The beach chairs are dirty, and old. The cushions on the chairs by the pool are old and tired. Also they do not clean the chairs. The same chairs had the same bird poop on them day after day. You just had to cover the poop with your towel if you wanted to sit on a lounge chair. Pretty disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Franklin, WI

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Star Friends were awesome. Had a great time. Shows were great. Room was a little musty but staff kept clean. Work on the margaritas, food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska, USA

Best stay in Cozumel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Cons: Did not care for that fact that wifi had to be purchased by the hour or by the day, even tho it was not that expensive. Hassle going to front desk.
Location: Excellent diving location
Beds are so comfortable, not hard like most other resorts. Loved the tropical garden setting with flamingos and peacocks and many palm trees to sit under on the beach when the sun got too hot. Meals were very good and they take care in covering any food needs of their many guests, even had lactose free milk! Very easy to get around with quiet and secluded areas for their bedroom units. Staff was very warm, accommodating and helpful. We have been in Cozumel for diving at least ten times now, the first for Iberostar, and this is by far the most comfortable and relaxing stay we have had .We loved our visit there and plan to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with a relaxing experience in Cozumel. It is a great reward to read that you appreciate every aspect of our services, from the comfort of our rooms to the quality of our facilities, gastronomy and our prime location on the beautiful reef. Once more thank you for your trust and valuable recommendation, we will be delighted to welcome you back. Kindest regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

nice hotel nice beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The resort is nice. Food is great. Staff is great. Nice beach, very relaxing. Snorkeling off the beach isn't great. The rooms are comfortable and unique, but musty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hayward, WI

Iberostar in Cozumel met our expectations!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The authentic feel of our bungalow rooms; everyone was very pleasant and always greeted you; the food was wonderful and you can't beat the view!
Cons: A few more waiters/waitresses in the buffets. Some mornings we had to ask a couple of times to have coffee and they need more on the beach.
Location: Take the Jeep Tour-snorkel at Punta Sur, see the croc reserve, lighthouse, Mayan ruins and Tequilla tour. Have to stop at Coconuts on the other side!
We stayed in an ocean view bungalow (second from the ocean) and had a good view of the ocean. (Down side was that we were located next to the Dive shop...which got active about 6 every morning, but as an early morning riser,the clanking of the oxygen tanks didn't bother me too much.) Very convenient being so close to the beach so if we wanted to relax on our hammock (every room had a hammock on the patio or porch) or go back to our room, the walk wasn't very far. The lunch buffet was also located very close to our room, the pool and the beach. There's always a concern about the beds; they weren't so hard that we needed to sleep on extra pillows; but the bed was comfortable enough, we'd say they were alright. The staff, entertainment and food were all excellent! There could have been more waiters/waitresses on the beach getting us drinks though...most often we just went to the Tiki bar next to where our lounge chairs were. As the Iberostar is the last big resort on the highway, the beach seemed more private. There was a rocking bar/restaurant nearby by (Alberto's) and further up the beach another major resort; we were never bothered by people selling their wares.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you liked the layout of our beautiful property, the delicious food and above all the friendliness of our helpful staff. We are delighted that we were able to grant you a great vacation and hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future. Greetings,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico D.F.

Es muy agradable caminar entre pavorreales, etc

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Volvería el próximo año.
Cons: Siempre hay cosas que mejorar, en este momento no sé me ocurre de qué manera.
Volvería con mucho gusto al mismo hotel. El personal es muy amable. Los muchachos que organizan los juegos y son los integrantes de los shows, son encantadores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The Iberostar is a nice, well-kept hotel in a beautiful place. It is definitely an older hotel...musty smelling sometimes and the AC could work better. But the staff is wonderful - very helpful and friendly. And the location is wonderful. Beach is shaded from the hottest sun by palm trees. So pretty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for having stayed at our hotel recently and sharing your opinion on Expedia. We are excited that you liked the facilities and friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the small shortcomings you pointed out, we will work to improve those aspects to avoid any further inconvinience. We hope to be able to welcoming you again soon for another great holiday. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Happy vacationers!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
My husband and I had a great time at Iberostar! The uniqueness of all the rooms really made you feel like you were on a tropical island as opposed to just a hotel. They were all little unit huts, each with a private "balcony" and hammock. So cute! The temperature in the room was a problem. First it was really cold the first night and the thermostat didn't allow you to adjust it to be warmer. We called maintenance and they came to fix it. After that, the room seemed to have some moisture in it the rest of the time. We gave up trying to mess with it. It wasn't bad, but we wish the thermostat worked so we can adjust the room temp when needed. The buffet food was pretty good and we enjoyed the restaurant food even more. I wish there were more restaurants though as there's only 3 and then the buffet. You have to make reservations too for the restaurants, and they only let you reserve two times. The rest of the times you have to go to the lobby daily after 1pm to see what's available that night if you want to get into one. Everytime we did that, only 830p and 9p times were left. The animals that "live" on the resort are awesome! They have a green parrot that's sits in the lobby all day and allows you to pet it. They have beautiful flamingos that live there in the pond next to the lobby. There's iguanas, turtles, and peacocks too. The cats I didn't care for as they begged for food. At dinner, we waved one away and sprayed our table! I was furious! Despite the flaws, I'd go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your latest travel experience on this media. We are thrilled to read your kind words regarding our rooms, wildlife and friendliness of the staff. We are honored to understand from your comments that you did enjoy the friendliness of the staff as well as our excellent culinary selection. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the dining options, also we have the buffet at the night and every night a special corner with Mexican, Italian , international or Caribbean food in order to give variety in meals. We hope from now when visiting Cozumel, you always choosing us, it would be our pleasure hosting you again. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Beach and Dive Vacation

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: clean beach, no one walking the beach trying to sell you things
Cons: improve food choices
Location: great diving and a 30 minute trip to downtown
The dive shop is located on the hotel's beach. Great sites just a few minutes from the dock. Beach is clean. The shows every night were fun to watch. The buffet was pretty good but the choices became similar after a few days. The hotel did not consistently follow heir dress code requirements for the specialty restaurants. The steak house was disappointing but the Mexican one was great! We paid for an upgrade to a jr suite with a beach view and it was well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our beautiful property for your recent vacation. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the water sport activities, the diving as well as the food and excellent service from our wait staff. We are happy to know you enjoyed our new renovate suits. Thank you for your review. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon at our beautiful hotel. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grande Prairie, AB

Nice small hotel with great entertainment

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Small and friendly staff
Location: great snorkeling and diving at this location, amazing reefs are very close, this is the closest hotel to the reefs.
Nice small hotel, small but comfortable rooms. Pool area is great, bars and food are close. Beach chairs and sun/shaded areas are great, walking into water sucks lots of rocks and coral. There is a dock with ladder for swimming and snorkeling that works great. Wildlife on the grounds is pretty amazing, something to look forward to for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us and the online community We are proud that we were able to provide you with a memorable vacation where you enjoyed the activities, as well as the pool, bars and facilities in general. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel. Best regards,