Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Great Location for Scuba Divers

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean rooms and good food.
Cons: Facelift on the rooms
Location: The scuba diving is excellent. I would recommend Scuba Du rather than the dive shack at the resort. Scuba Du only allows 10 divers per boat.
If you are looking for a hotel close to nightlife and action, this is NOT your place. Scuba Divers, this is where you want to be. All of the dive sights are within 10 minutes of the Iberostar dock. The rooms are quaint and clean. The grounds are well manicured. Food is excellent! The drinks, well you are going to want bar at the beach. Speaking of beaches, they are clean and great! Overall this is a great place. I'd recommend it to any of our dive buddies and friends that don't want to be near the city. Recommend you use Scuba Du rather than the dive shack at the resort. Scuba Du only allows 10 divers per boat and only 5 divers per dive master. They are professional, skilled, and have excellent knowledge of the reefs and livestock.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointed

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Dressel Divers were very attentive. We also liked that Alberto's was just a short walk down the beach! They had great lobster! Also a great massage!
Cons: Air-conditioning in rooms. Service needs to be friendlier!
Grounds were beautiful.Granddaughter loved the stray cats,flamingos,iguanas,parrots and peacocks!Air conditioning in our room was not cool.Some of the Resort staff were not pleasing to deal with.For instance:We were supposed to be a party of 5 with 2 rooms.Our grandson had to cancel so we had 4 guest at check-in..The resort issues towel cards when you check in (if you do not get towels and cards turned in when you check out..$10 charge per towel) We only got 4 towel cards when we checked in, but when we checked out the front desk guy tried to convince me that we were 5 guest...and argued with me like I was lying! I scuba dive so I would go to the breakfast buffet early, one morning the ceiling fans were not on yet and I asked if they could turn them on as it was already so hot, sweaty and humid, the staff/waiter said no! I was making a small purchase in the gift shop and the lady checking me out wanted exact change!Then she said she could take my US money but would give me pesos in change. The wooden steps to our 2nd floor room were in need of repair.I also found it very confusing where and when to eat.I wanted to eat in the "Steak House" one night but they wouldn't allow us because we had not made a reservation! Even though there were only a hand full of guest eating.So the next day I went in to make a reservation and again I was told I could not because we had to make reservations at front desk between 10am-2pm! This should be explained better at check in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cute cabanas in a jungle setting.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: staff - food - beach -
Cons: a/c in the rooms could be colder
Location: right spot for diving - pier at the hotel
Nice beach, cabanas in a jungle setting - lots of friendly cats walking around that had been rescued. lots of Iguanas and birds - saw a javelina running around the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us and the online community. We are proud that we were able to provide you with a memorable vacation where you enjoyed the staff, food and beach as well as the general setting of our beautiful property. We hope to be able to host you again in the future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

We loved staying in Iberostar Cozumel.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Food, staff and location.
We are pleased with Iberostar in Cozumel. The staff is really attentive and very nice. Our rooms got cleaned really fast and were really clean. Food is very good. We were diving there and we think that Dressler Divers staff is really professional and friendly. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This is our second stay at an iberostar. We loved the staff and honestly found them amazing. The set up of the facility was fun with no hotel just huts. It had a fun village feel. My only issue was the mattresses. Ours were very hard in both rooms that we booked. Our friends however did not have hard mattresses so it was the luck of the draw. The activities were great and the shows were wonderful and very entertaining. It felt like a home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us once again for your vacation. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the activities and shows as well as the general layout of the hotel. We would like to inform you that we are currently upgrading our mattresses, so you should be able to enjoy them the next time you are staying with us. Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozumel - August 2014

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location to the ocean, and large beach area
Cons: The condition of the resort, one of the two rooms reserved by us had a strong "musty" odor, which needed an air purifier to be inhabitable.
Location: Plenty of beach bars and ocean activities
The ocean and aquatic activities (snorkeling & scuba diving) are the main reasons to visit. The water, coral reefs, and overall beauty of the ocean is breath taking. The resort caters to these activities, with a Dressel Divers office on site. Overall, it was a relaxing trip, but could have been a little better. First, check in is at 3:00 PM, which is ok, but it would certainly be advantageous to international travelers if the time could be moved up to 12 PM. But, at 3 PM our room was still not ready. We had to wait 45 min until we could actually get into a room, which meant sitting (and sweating) in the open air lobby with our luggage. Second, the resort is showing some wear. Wood steps to rooms are in various stages of deterioration, and overall the resort looks a little more "dated" than it did on a previous visit. The grounds however are immaculately maintained. Dining experiences varied. Overall, it would be best described as inconsistent. Some meals were excellent, others were mediocre at best. Service at meals was also inconsistent, it was not uncommon to have a glass of wine remain empty throughout a dinner service. Drinks were limited to the standard variety of brand name alcohol, kudos to Efraim at the lobby bar in the evening. Rave reviews for chocolate martinis. Overall, if you're going for incredible water activities, and are willing to accept an aging resort with inconsistent service and food, then you'll be content with this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel once again for your vacation. It is gratifying that you enjoyed several aspects of our property such as the water activities as well as the fantastic service from Efrain. Please accept our apologies for the inconsistency in service you experienced, rest assured that we are looking into this already as it certainly does not reflect our high standards. The international standard for check out is 12 p.m. and check in time is 3 p.m., which allows us to prepare the rooms properly for new arrivals. We are sorry that you had to wait longer than the standard check in time for your room. We hope to be able to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

good resort but terrible food

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: location - close to reef for scuba diving
Cons: food - food - food
Location: not too far from downtown - close to national park ( Reef = scuba diving)
great location for scuba diving , ok rooms but awful food
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the scuba diving experience but would like to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations regarding the food. Rest assured that our Executive Chef and his team are working restlessly on maintaining and improving our high standards. We hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you once again to our hotel. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great resort for snorkeling right off your beach.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Wildlife on land and water was amazing. Just bring water socks. Workers and staff were very friendly. Food was great if you are used to their ways of cooking. The resort was not a party place. Also it is far from town with a 20.00 usd cab ride there. I can say i will return there soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for your generous review about your recent stay at our beautiful property. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the variety of food offered as well as the friendliness of our staff. We are looking forward to providing you with another excellent experience soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

SECLUDED PARADISE

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Everything. Always a good experience at this hotel. I don't think you can go wrong, especially with this location.
Cons: Working ice machines. The help/trouble-shooting time from staff could be improved. A "few minutes" should be a few mins, not 4 hours
Location: Punta Sur, Chankanaab Snorkel beach., Playa Palancar beach (food snorkel), El Cedral ruins, San Gervasio Ruins, Playa Bonita (whole fish dinners. )
Have been to this hotel several times, and for good reason. Very clean, staff is personable, food is good, beds are comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are excited that you were once again impressed by the cleanliness of our property, the friendliness of our staff, the delicious food and our recently upgraded mattresses. Thank you once again for recommending our property and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Very quiet, not crowded!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The hotel far exceeded out expectations! The employees were fantastic! We loved all the star friends! Alba the server was fantastic! Our maid was an artist with those bath towels! Food was great!! Lots of choices!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent vacation at our beautiful property. We are thrilled that not only did we fulfill but also exceeded your expectations due to our food selection and our fantastic staff. We are aware that they are the main reason for your memorable stay, so we will make sure they are made aware of your kind words. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best regards,