Ratings based on 718 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Beach as natural as can be

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Beach was what I like and it was great.
Cons: Updating of some parts of hotel.
Location: Close to downtown.
The staff was great. The food was good. I was told by a visitor that this is an older hotel and yes it does needs updating but not something that is terribly wrong since the grounds are meticulously cared for by the staff. Our shower needed repairing when we go there and it was done promptly and had no problems after that. Open bar right by the beach is very nice. The seaweed is a natural part of the ocean and it cleared some days plus personnel always raked seaweed that would wash up to the shoreline and this made it beautiful looking. I thank the staff who always did a great job in making our stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to stay with young kids

Posted Mar 21, 2015
This hotel is set up very well for young children. They can drive battery powered cars, race rc cars, play fusball, ping ping, wii, and other games at kids club. The staff goes out of their way for kids overall, in our case to provide froot loops for lunch and dinner. The activities pool is in use for kids activities a few times a day and they have a blast. Not overly pushing activities but offering employee led activities such as water baloon toss, Marco polo, and a couple of air toys. An adult pool is closer to the beach with a swim up bar. The beach is especially nice for laying out and beach activities but not much for snorkeling. Just walk 100 yards to the pier and in front of cozumela?? is like snorkeling in an aquarium. Kayaks and sailboat were available for an hour per day free of charge and minimal charge thereafter. We had an ocean view and the room was perfectly clean and with two beds had tons of extra space and a nice bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston tx

Very clean hotel on the beach. Sand was very clean

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Amazing staff. Very friendly and great to talk to. They were always cleaning and taking care of the facility. Food was great at the restaurants. The buffet b-fast was awesome. Fresh food made for you on order. Lunch and dinner was good also at the buffet. Pools were both maintained very good. Lots of activities on site for family's also they changed activities daily. Very nice place. We will be going back with our family again. The view of the sunset was amazing from the beach every night. Once again the staff was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Favorite of our resorts

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Small and very handicapped friendly.
Cons: Na
Location: We don't leave the resort, but downtown is only a few miles
We come here twice a year. The resort staff is wonderful, everything about Melia is excellent, we have had two other couples go there and they will probably be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Wonderful and fantastic!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Service Food Drinks Beach Entertainment and activities Ocean front view
We stayed at Melia for six days, and it was a fantastic experience. We read a lot of reviews before we booked, so my wife and I were not sure what to expect. To start with, we reached cozumel at 11 am, way early than our check-in time of 3PM. Melia was very generous, helped us checked in early with the all-inclusive tags so we can start using the facilities (bar, restaurant etc.). Our ocean-front view from the balcony was breath-taking . The service is exceptionally great. The entire staff is very professional , down to earth and courteous ( waiters in the restaurants, house keeping, bartenders and receptionists). The quality of their service is amazing, whether you tip or not. The food is really delicious and the drinks are the best. Try their MangoTango and Mango Mohito - they are the best. Now coming to the beach - 4 out of six days we stayed the water was exceptionally clean and almost blue (transparent). They have these little huts and hammocks right on the beach, we stayed there most of the day :) . In the afternoons, they had barbeque on the beach - very convenient. Overall, we had one of the best beach vacations of our life. Thank you Melia-you guys rock !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Loved our stay. Beach & pool were great. Everything was clean. Staff were very hard workers, although we did tip. Food was ok nothing special. But what we expected for an all inclusive. Close to town, 10 min drive & $10 taxi. Night life at the hotel was basically nonexistent after 11. Very little entertainment. If planning on snorkeling go with chili charters!! Best part of our trip!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Troy, Ohio

Could be a great hotel.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Resort, bars, staff, views.
Cons: Mattress and food quality.
Location: Golf, shopping in town, Dolphin Discovery.
After an exhausting search for an affordable all inclusive package, and reading the mixed reviews about Melia we decided to give it a try. The reviews were so drastic from good to bad, I felt like we just had to weed some out and use some common sense. Some people just cannot be pleased an some are very easy to please. my wife and I are just plain old middle class working people and it doesn't take a whole lot to please us. So; with that being said........The reviews about not getting the room that you had reserved and then told you would be switched later is true. We booked a "deluxe ocean view " room only to be told at check in that it was not available. They said that they would defiantly give me the room that I reserved the next day. A couple checking in next to me were going through the same thing. To help with our frustration, they gave us wifi for our entire 5 day stay. They did switch our rooms the next day as agreed, and moved our belongings as well. Not a huge deal. Both rooms were very nice, clean, and well appointed. No problem there. They could use a ceiling fan in there though. The A/C is a little weak and some air movement would help. The complaints about the beds being not too comfortable are correct as us well. But the same could be said for other hotels that I have stayed in. I LOVE FOOD!! I love a good steak, chicken, whatever. When we are home we usually eat at the franchise type places. We rarely go to high end eateries. So when it came time to do som
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, nd

Awesome location!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Almost everything was awesome. Hotel staff was friendly, but really pushy. Got impression they are going to be a time share. Staff tried to limit options for activities and amenities outside of the hotel. They wanted you to book through them at inflated prices so they could get you to sit through there time share presentation and then discount the activities for doing so. Found it was much cheaper to book activities other places. Wouldn't have been big deal, but they weren't very forthcoming about their new practice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: everything
Location: close to airport and downtown San Miquel
My wife and I have stayed at the Melia for the past seven years. The staff is very friendly and hard working. Antonio in the Laguana grill is an excellent waiter. Benjamin at the front desk is very helpful when stiuations arise. Louiz is always very helpful in renting a car. The maids to an excellent job at maintaining the rooms. The beach is maintaines on a daily basis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Location: We didn't leave the resort. Everything that we wanted was right there for this trip.
We had a very relaxing stay with everything that we would want provided. Our room was very roomy, clean and modern with wonderful view of the ocean.