Ratings based on 775 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Decent hotel, close to good restaurants and ferry

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The food
Location: You must eat at the Lobster House down the street. It is a bit pricey, but well worth it. The owner is amazing!
Computer systems were down when we arrived so it took about 45 mins to check-in. Property has a weird odor in the mornings and the food isn't that great. But it is in a good location so our overall experience in the area was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
I was surprised the buffet was better then the reservation resturaunt. Went to both reservation resturaunt and felt they reused there steak. The drink where great not water downed at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler, TX

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Nice hotel. Great food. Would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
It was great and I want to come back.The shows were great, and the activities were amazing.😀
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a mellow vacation

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: Staff
Location: Small island but there are a variety of excursions that can be done
The hotel was very nice, the hotel staff with the exception of a couple of bartenders and maybe one waiter were very uncordial. We were attacked by fleas and possibly Mosquitos in the outdoor dining areas. The view from our room was beautiful, they definitely need more entertainment for the adults
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Beautiful Place!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, Fun, Great Staff, Good food, Great for kids, Perfect long white sand beach.
Cons: Beds, very hard
Location: Very North part of the island but only 4 miles from down town.
We had a wonderful experience at the Melia Vacation Club. The hotel is beautiful and the staff could not do enough for you. The hotel is right on the beach. We were in the tower and had an ocean front room that looked right over the ocean. You could see the lights from Playa Del Carmen at night. Our room was cleaned every day, and the Hotel it self is spotless. The food at the buffett was good, just different then what we are used to but we always found something that we liked to eat. We really liked the kids pool and all of the kids activities. They really go out of thier way to make sure that the kids are well entertained and we really appriciated it. The adult pool is great with a swim up bar but twords the end of the day it is full of drunks that use profanity and somtimes acually have to be helped to thier rooms.The beach is pristine. They rake the sea weed off of it every morning. When we first arrived the water was a little murky because of bad weather. After a few days the water cleared up to the crystal blue/green that we expected. There is always enough lounge chairs to sit on. Lots of shade to be under. They have kyaks and snorkeling equipment right there for you. My one and only complaint was the beds. Its like sleeping on plywood. Very hard beds with no give at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Some very nice staff. Very nice room.
Cons: Pest control, update the menu, and remove the filler foods that are bland, pointless, or unedible. Improve desserts. Ice cream was only consistent.
Location: Not much other than typical resort stuff. Chankanab reef is nice, visit the jungle (fake) "Ruins".
Room was great (we paid for the premium ocean view room), clean, very well cooled, well cleaned, modern. Staff was sometimes snide, sometimes good, overall very tip driven, not nice if you didn't tip them. Food was average, buffet was very tiresome and most foods were less than average with a few good dishes. Desserts were way below average. Ocean has lots of seaweed, was literally coffee brown most of the time. There was a nice beech with crystal blue water and nice snorkeling a short walk ( the next resort ) South but it was a little too far to be there and yet enjoy our hotel's amenities. We all got attacked by the sand fleas at dusk, and 1/2 of my leg has red spots all over. That really limited how much we wanted to use the beach. Also nats come out there at evening and feel like needles poking into your back (less trouble than fleas). They need pest control. Just don't go to this place unless it's all you can afford. You'd probably have better experience just getting a good room, and using a different beach bar each day around the Island, as there are lots of them that will allow you to pay 50$ per person per day, to be all inclusive there. Or use resteraunts. I was not impressed with Mexico overall this time around. The security people at the airport were surly and rude and actually abusive to my 19 year old son. Normally I would have never tolerated how they treated him, but it's Mexico and jail just wasn't worth a confrontation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Room was exactly as pictures depict. Bed firm.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Food was terrible. We ate only omelets, nachos, and fajitas for 6 days. Beware. Cold foods aren't kept cold. Staff was amazing and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Horrible food and beach

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The food was so bad my kids wouldn't eat it, and we had to eat out every night, other people we met hated it as well. Wifi is only free in the lobby, room service has a few. This is NOT a good all inclusive. The motel next door has a nice beach area, matter of fact all the people from the melia where over there in there beach area because the water in front of the Melia is so nasty. I promise you this hotel is not worth your time or money..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Hotel was great for the kids

Posted Jul 11, 2015
AC did not work that well. Had maintenence work on the room AC several times. Was not awful but could have been better. Other than this issue the hotel was great. The people really go out of there way to accommodate your every need. Miguel (life guard at kids pool) was the superman of the staff. He worked 10 hours a day watching the entire pool.