Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, australia

Relaxing resort

Posted Apr 26, 2015
A great little resort with a world of relaxation options. Tranquil beach, lovely pools, very little humidity in April, low 80's temps. Only concern was variety of food options for extended stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Superb snorkeling, total comfort

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: - Great reefs - Excellent childcare - Restful, beautiful facilities - Kind and friendly staff - Top notch beaches
Cons: - Food got monotonous after several days - All inclusive would have been nice
Location: $9 taxi ride to San Miguel $9 taxi ride to Chankanaab Plenty to do right in the resort!
We went to this resort with our 2 sons (ages 6 and 9). Our room was one of the reef rooms overlooking the beach. It was a superb experience. The room had two full beds, which were very comfy. There was a shower and a tub and two sinks in the bathroom. It also included a couch and two tables (one short, one tall) in the room. The porch was glorious, with two divan chairs, two regular chairs, a table and a super comfy hammock with a view of the beach and ocean. It took about 6 steps from our room to hit sand. The Kids Club at the Presidente is excellent - my children loved Keri. She took them to the pool, did crafts and they were very happy to spend time with her. The snorkeling directly outside the hotel is really superb. We saw lionfish, barracuda, an octopus (SO COOL!), moray eels, a ray and a bajillions beautifully colored fish in the coral. There is a sunken ship within the resort bounds that is absolutely full of things to see. We went to Chankanaab for one day's swimming, and I swear the hotel had better stuff to look at right out the door! The kids loved the pool - and there's a second pool set aside for adults. I would highly recommend for a family that wants a great room, quality child care and excellent snorkeling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Private, Quiet, Relaxing - Great Service!

Posted Apr 22, 2015
My wife and I stayed here 5 nights/4 days. Resort is about 4 miles from the city center. Taxi into town runs about $7 with tip. If you want a relaxing & quiet vacation the Presidente is the place. Property is beautiful with private beach areas that are well kept and large. You will see lots of people coming on tourists boats/trips to snorkel in areas near by, but guests at the Presidente have amazing snorkeling right at their doorstep. Lots of fish and they are not shy! Everything is very clean. Had an ocean view room on the second floor that was very spacious. Breakfast buffet is incredible and other restaurants were good too if you don't feel like going into town. Staff is extremely friendly and go out of their way to help with whatever you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Nice Hotel with Beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Hotel and room were clean and staff was exceptional. Top end restaurants were very good and service was exceptional at all restaurants.
Cons: Main Restaurant was not very good and had bad selection of Food items. You can only get to the water from the beach in one small main beach area.
Location: Nothing close by so you need to take Taxi's or rent car.
Went there for our anniversary and found that Cozumel had changed quite a bit since my last time there in 1994. Much more commercialized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler AZ

Excellent resort

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Everything was fine
Cons: Add a little more to the decor in the rooms
We had an excellent time here for our 32nd anniversary. We tried scuba diving with Scuba-do and Laura was excellent. Close to all kinds of activities or youcan just hang out and relax in the cabanas. Food is a little pricey but it is excellent. As others have stated the wi-fi was a little spooky buy we weren't there to surf the web. 😃 the snorkeling on site was incredible. Sunken boat with loads of fish around it. Just on the property we saw moray eel, barracuda, spiny lobster and thirty different kinds of fish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Excellent!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: It is truly a piece of paradise. This place is perfect for people who don't want a party crowd and are looking for peace and quiet. Awesome sunsets.
Cons: The only thing I would change would be for the gift shop to sell just a few items that have the El Presidente Cozumel logo/name (coffee mugs/t-shirts)
Location: Coconuts (great bar/view), La Mission in downtown (spring for the lobster dinner), the ruins in the middle of the island, and the south lighthouse.
This was our second trip to El Presidente in Cozumel and it was fantastic. We got married here last year (which was also excellent by the way) and came back for our one year anniversary. The manager of the hotel and our wedding planner sent us wine and strawberries on our anniversary which was an unexpected surprise. The resort is very quiet and relaxing. The food is great, the rooms are great, and the beach and scuba diving here are all 5 stars. I would also add that the staff here make this hotel what it is. Everyone is so friendly and really make your stay outstanding. We hope to return for many years to come!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Everything was excellent. Great hotel. Great location. Great beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great hotel especially if you want to snorkel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: - Beautiful beach with lots of marine life and lounges and hammocks for relaxing. - The helpful staff - Clean well maintained rooms
Cons: - It would be nice if the restaurant had more menu items for vegetarians.
Location: - Great snorkeling and diving with a class for inexperienced scuba divers on-site. Also many excursions to nearby sites. - Chankanaab Park nearby
The rooms were very nice and the staff at this hotel is exceptional. They were quick to help with any problems and made it easy to arrange actives and explore the island. I was there to enjoy the snorkeling and this hotel is great for that with very nice beaches and a location with good marine life. I really like the hammocks on the beach which were great for reading a book when you weren't in the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corbin, KY

Wonderful views and snorkeling!!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Excellent hotel with amazing snorkeling right off the beach, No need to go anywhere else to snorkel. Book a First floor rooms with private patio and hammock to enjoy the ocean views or room sevice private dinner/breakfast. Food was good but got boring after a few days. Food is pricey. Need a car or taxi to get to town or other places to eat. Nothing within waking distance. Wonderful place if looking to do nothing but relax, snorkel, dive or enjoy some quiet time. Smaller hotel that wasn't busy. If looking party scene this is not it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

No need to ever leave the resort!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Location: Mayan ruins were good. I would not bother with driving to the other side of the island. We rented a car for a day, and kinda wished we hadn't.
Can't say enough nice things about El Presidente. The staff was awesome and super-friendly. The location right on the beach was second to none. The food was good. Snorkeling was great. Room was spotless. Bathroom was roomy and spotless and new. We had a "reef room," which meant that we could walk out our back door- which we didn't lock- and snorkel right there. The chalapas were plentiful, towels were abundant, and there were some really cool built-up beds with sheer canopies that were very clean and fun to sit on. If we felt like being social, we could walk some 40 yards to the main beach area. Reserve a chalapa early- they go fast over here. The pool was fantastic and heated and clean. The ScubaDu onsite was easy to rent snorkel gear from. We were in room 3107- and there was still plenty of space with two double beds and a rolling single bed brought in. The bathroom had two sinks. I did have a sound machine, but I always bring that. Normal outlets. Hotel food prices are like U.S. The first day, we took a $8 taxi to the Mega grocery intown and bought about $150 of beers and waters and snacks. This was a great idea, and easy to take back in the taxi. We had a little bit of space in the hotel fridge. They have ice. But we also bought a styrofoam cooler at the Mega, which proved very helpful. Kid-friendly place. Oh, and my husband utilized the workout room and said it was phenomenal. This place was awesome, and we are seasoned travelers!