Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Beautiful relaxing vacation!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: A tour of the resort would be nice. We had no idea there was a second pool, with a swim up bar and that there was a gift/cigar shop at OUR resort.
Location: Going into town wasn’t great. Everyone’s selling the same stuff and cat calling you into their stores. Don’t fall for round trip taxi at the airport!
We had an amazing/relaxing time during our stay. The food was good. You should expect warm food and slow service during a few meals and hot amazing foods for the rest, it’s all inclusive so you can’t complain. We had a very young waiter at the Market Cafe who deserves a great review for his customer service. The room service was the best (especially Juan)! Definitely walk down to the beach bar with the swings at night and enjoy some drinks with two of the most entertaining bartenders! The beach was great as well, especially when you could get a chair and/or a towel. People would leave their towels on the chairs for hours unattended, not caring about anyone else who wanted to actually enjoy the beach. We did find an abundance of cigarette butts left over from other guests, but that’s their responsibility not the resorts. We spent hours upon hours snorkeling and saw a bunch of wildlife both off the beach and on our snorkeling trip (definitely worth it!). Off the beach snorkeling was better than expected. It’s really not as rocky as people have mentioned, and if you think it is just jump off the pier. There were tons of different species of fish and other creatures such as sting rays, lobsters, and hermit crabs. We were sad to leave and go back to a snowy Boston, but we’re excited to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Recommend this adult only all-inclusive resort for those just wanting to relax. Love the pool access from the bottom floor rooms. Use of the sister resort next door is very nice. Awesome entertainment staff! Negatives-not enough seating or shade (umbrella's) on the beach or around the pools. They need more paddle boards...you have to "reserve" the only 2 they have. Also, the pools close earlier at the "adult" resort than the pools at the "family" resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Nice Hotel on Beach

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Beach, water sports, yoga
Cons: Rooms need updating, more staffing at bars and restaurants, add fitness center onsite or expand current fitness center, more lounge chairs/umbrellas
Location: Snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding, yoga on-site. Pier onsite for boat excursions for dives, fishing, etc.
Beautiful location with a lot to do. Grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Beach was lovely, with a lot to do close to the hotel. It was difficult to get lounge chairs near the pool because people would put towels out during the night, despite the "no reservation" policy at the hotel. Availability of beach loungers not as much of an issue if you were on the beach by around 8. Also noticed early in the trip that there were many people from other hotels taking loungers (they had ID bracelets from other hotels) although Secret's employees looked out for this on subsequent days. Employees worked very hard, and were always very pleasant and helpful. Great customer service. It appeared, though, that the bars and restaurants were understaffed. Food was good for an all-inclusive. Fitness center is shared with adjacent hotel, and very small. Inadequate for the number of guests at 2 hotels. Great yoga classes. Room was in need of updating. My room had an issue with the toilet that required maintenance coming in 4 times. Room also had a mildew smell. I would probably return if I could get a room in the updated section of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Great place, great time! Friendly staff, easy transfers. Paradise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Private pool and beautiful room

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Calm, relaxing, clean beaches. we loved the beautiful views of the ocean
Cons: More beach chairs
Location: Go into town! Take the ferry to Playa del Carmen for the day to shop and explore. Very safe.
We had an incredible vacation! Beautifully clean, great food, and everyone at the resort was beyond friendly. we will absolutely return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BRIDGTON MAINE

BILL & ROBERTA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: THE ROOM , FOOD , POOL , FRIENDLY STAFF ,
Cons: I WISH I COULD ANSWER THIS I JUST CAN NOT, EVERY THING WAS AS BEFORE IN NOVEMBER EXCEL-ANTE ''
Location: WE STAID ON THE PROPERTY , A COUPLE OF POOL LOVERS , SUN DRINKS VERY LIGHT , EXCEPT TWO DAYS OF DIVING ,
A WONDERFUL VACATION , SECOND VISIT , JORGE THE PREFERRED POOL BAR TENDER , ROSANA , FERNANDA AND WENDY , ALL TH WAITERS AT THE MARKET GARDEN ,; NELLIE & CHRISTINA , CARLOS , FRONT DESK , OUR MAID , GUADELOUPE , I MISSED HER WHEN SHE TOOK HER DAY OFF , AND THE BELL HOPS LETS NOT FORGET THE GARDENER JOE , ONCE MORE FOR THE PREFERRED POOL BAR TENDER JORGE AND HIS WAITRESS VICKIE,
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bristow, VA

Doesn't Compare

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Doesn't compare to the higher standards of other Secrets. Needs an interior upgrade, thorough room cleaning and a fumigation. There is a fowl musty room smell that is awful. I didn't unpack my clothes because of the bad smell. When I got home, everything in my suitcase smelled of that room even though I never unpacked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Close to beach

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Very nice staff very friendly good food and drinks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

More if a retirement village

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Not geared for younger people looking to have a good time. If you are looking for a place to "just" relax this is the spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom villanova pa

nice if your first secrets experience

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: food. service.
Cons: preferred amenities.
Location: n/a
have stayed in several secrets resorts. ( montego bay, cabo.... ) this one is not as nice as the others. the preferred rates are not worth the preferred amenities you get. The apps were few and nothing special. the location of preferred is not that much nicer. none of the balconies are private. there weren;t any cozy places with music to enjoy in the evening. trip was nice in spite but prob because we were they for only 3 days. would have been tough if staying full week. aside from that - food was very good. everyone tried very hard to please you.