Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room upgrade

Posted Aug 1, 2015
We had a beautiful room and a room upgrade to beachfront. It was amazing! Food was excellent and a variety of good options. Staff was very friendly. My only complaints are the sewege smell around the VIP pool and the poor snorkel equipment (it was free to use). Next time we'll bring our own equipment, but you really need to fix the issue with the smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy beach access onsite scuba pick up. Food ok.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Scuba pickup onsite. Drinks good. Food ok. Rooms clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Going for four times in a row

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Cons: Turn down service could be at a better hour - usually showed up at 9:30pm.
Once again we had an outstanding stay of 8 days at Aura. Staff are always attentive and service great. The food was always prepared perfectly, served at the proper temperature and we never felt rushed - we always dined. Plan to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great resort

Posted Jul 27, 2015
The hotel was clean, easy to get around and right on the beach. The staff was wonderful and we will be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The food was really good
Cons: See my experience section
This was my second time at hotel and had similar problems. The reason we stayed a second time was we had to make a decision quickly due to time constraints. Hot water was only available for 1 minute while taking shower, bed mattress was lopsided, clock in room was not lighted at night, the night entertainment was loud and close to the rooms and very noisy. When I would complain at front desk there was no follow up. This is note a 5 star rated place. Will not be back, to many other places to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Playground for adults

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The location and the Market Cafe Restaurant, very nice and friendly staff!
Cons: The room maid could improve a lot.
Location: The Location is great and the diving is amazing.
The beach was nice but there were never enough lounge chairs and umbrellas!! People would go out at 6:30 in the morning and stake out their claim. The place was crowded and noisy. The pool water, especially around the swim up bar was disgusting. The service for our second class room was poor. It is adults only, but when they start to behave like kids – I don’t know what is worse??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Depends on the room you get.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Once they finally addressed our concerns they went out of their way to make it right. Food is better than many all inclusive, staff is very friendly.
Cons: They need to take the time to refurbish the older rooms and not even bother trying to rent them until they are fixed properly.
Location: Excellent snorkeling right off the beach.
When we looked at the reviews for this place we wondered why they were all over the place, some thought it was the best ever some thought it was terrible. Now I understand why. Initial impressions were good. Friendly greeting with a cold drink, quick check in (preferred club). But we found our room (swim up/ocean view junior suite) to be run down, many maintenance issues, no couch or coffee table like in the pictures, minimal storage space. Noticed water on the bathroom floor which we reported and were told maintenance would be sent to address the issue. Hours later no sign of maintenance. When I went to take a shower the entire bathroom flooded. Complained a bit more and was again told maintenance would be sent. At this point we are resigning ourselves to a week in a subpar resort and already mentally writing our scathing expedia reviews. But the next morning they upgraded us to a solarium/pool suite and our experience changed dramatically. Really nice room, clean and well maintained. So depending on what room you get this place could be a truly amazing experience or a terrible let down. Once we got past the initial problems we had a really great vacation. But if we hadn't complained and gotten the upgrade I would have been very disappointed. Come morning we spoke with the concierge and
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Relaxing weekend

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Enjoyable weekend in a preferred room. AC and wifi worked very well. Room and bathroom were spacious and nice. This was our second stay and we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midland texas

Amazing

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Awesome rooms, beautiful beach, very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Awesome Vacay with My Hubby and Friends!!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The staff was very gracious and accommodating. They did all they could do to make our stay the best experience! Our room was gorgeous!!!!
Cons: More staff at the pool and in the restaurants.
Location: My husband had an awesome time snorkeling and sailing.
My husband and I had a fabulous vacation together with our friends. The room was absolutely gorgeous! The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the view from our room was majestic!