Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Excellent place for adults only

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful. On the beach and offers lots to do without leaving the resort grounds.
Cons: No sales pitches!!! Cannot emphasize enough that people do *not* go on vacation to listen to high-pressure sales pitches.
Location: Rent a scooter or a jeep and explore the island. Two Mayan ruins to explore--one is small but free. Also nature parks, ziplines, etc.
Great experience--but limited food choices. Food is good, but even the best food gets old after a day or two. The staff greets you warmly and provides you with immediate comfort to make you feel at home. The beach is a great place for snorkeling for free. They do have an odd segregation rule. One pool with a swim up bar is only for "preferred club guests", whatever that means. I tried to get an answer to that question and failed. I'm guessing it has something to do with buying a time share--which they claim is not a time share. The company that owns the resort set out to convince all guests to give them 90 minutes for a presentation that is supposed to save you money on future vacations. They claim they will not pressure you or try to sell you a time share. Both claims are false. They pessure you by sending in the next echelon when the first fails to sell you a $48,000 "not a time share" Unlimited Vacation Club membership. This buys you discounts on future vacations for the next 50 years. Only a moron would pay in advance for a vacation 30 years from now!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

nice service

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: the pools could use more cleaning by the rooms, there was leaves and some bugs swimming in the private pools in the upper level
Location: nothing
did not like the beach thus it was very rocky and not swimmer friendly but if you like to hang out by the pool it was very nice and quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Good hotel with private beach!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I really liked how our hotel had private beach for us to hang instead of driving to a beach where there's hundreds of people and trying to find a spot or chairs to use with bunch of merchandisers trying to sell us things constantly! We did visit other beaches on the island but we wanted to relax more than anything so we staid at the hotel most of the time except when we wanted to shop and go sight seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton ohio

Beautiful and amazing resort

Posted Aug 24, 2014
If you want a vacation that you totally relax and get treated like a king or queen secrets in cozumel is it we loved the no reservations needed for meals and the staff work so hard to make your stay the best not sure where the negative reviews come from we didn't see anything negative. There is a smell of sewer but remember your on an island nothing that bothered us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Expected better from Secrets

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We were recently at this hotel this is the 4th time we stay at a Secrets Resort and definitely this hotel does not leave up to the expectation of the rest of the Secrets properties. The food was rather mediocre and the restaurants very limited compared to other properties, the remodel is complete in parts but still has to improve in areas like Desires Night Club and some of the other terraces. The hotel next door definitely diminishes the quality of the experience. Overall has a fantastic location and much can be done with this if all the above is addressed properly and live up to the rest of the Secrets property Standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LA

FABULOUS SERVICE!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: THE PEOPLE
Cons: MORE VACATION TIME.
Location: ALL ACTIVITIES ARE AVAILABLE FROM THE RESORT. TAXI'S ARE READY AND WAITING TO TAKE YOU IN TOWN.
LOVED THE RESORT AND THE FRIENDLY STAFF. YOU CAN ENJOY MANY ACTIVITIES RIGHT FROM THE PIER. ALL BOATS ARRIVE AND SHUTTLE YOU TO THE REEFS, FISHING OR ETC......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgrade and Food

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The beach was wonderful and we enjoyed snorkeling right from the beach. The staff was Excellent! I would go back.
Location: The resort offers you a snorkeling package. The boats pick you up on their private dock. The staff will make anything you want happen. Just wonderful.
We were celebrating our 25 anniversary and we said this when we checked in. We had with us a copy of our marriage license with us. They gave us a HUGE upgrade to a beach front room. It was amazing. The food at the resort is good but nothing to right home about. The best food is at Bordeaux the French restaurant. Alfredo the waiter was excellent and the food was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Secrets is awesome

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Food. View. Staff. Basically everything.
Cons: More evening entertainment options for adults only rather than the family resort next door.
Location: Awesome scuba and snorkeling. Hobie Cats, paddle boards, kayaks are shared with family resort next door.
Our room was upgraded without asking to a beautiful oceanview terrace. Not just a balcony, a huge terrace. Could have had a party:) The food was excellent. Portions are small but with the heat that was fine. Each restaurant has set hours so plan accordingly. There is always room service but menu is much shorter. Wait staff went above and beyond to attain anything requested. Beware that the front desk while always pleasant and helpful did not seem to know what was going on or have great follow through. There is NOT a nightly show at this resort. There are shows next door at the sister resort you can attend. Seems there is one show here twice a week but we were unable to verify that. The beach party fire show while there was excellent and lots of fun. The bars here were not well attended so if you are looking for nightlife this would disappoint you. The rooftop bar was fun with awesome views. Several pools to choose from. The one with the swim up bar and water slides seems to be the party pool. If that is not your scene head for one of the others. Beware the beach is very rocky. Bring shoes! or plan to snorkel off the dock. Fish viewing is better early AM before the heat sets in. For an extra treat stop at the grill and ask for a couple of tortillas to feed them. They will get so close to you it is hard to take pictures. While it is advertised you can also eat all places next door this is not always true. If it is full like when we were there they ask you not to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Very slow service but beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: I loved the appearance of the hotel. The beach front, the swim up rooms, the water slides everything was beautiful. I really liked that they turned the pool into a giant bubble bath. The food was delicious. Cons: The problem was the service sucked. I waited 1 1/2 hr for the French restaurant and then waited longer for each dish. I wasn't done with dinner til almost 1am. I waited 25-30 for really basic things from concierge. And there were really long lines for the breakfast buffet. I also had to order my drink 3-4 times before anyone made it at the pool bar. Lastly they didn't clean my room til 3pm. I felt like I wasn't a valued customer which left a bitter taste in my mouth and ruined my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Best Vacation Ever!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great staff, facilities and food! Beautiful island ! Little slice of paradise! Make sure to see Umberto @ the Dive Housr