Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Beautiful resort!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Everything was close to beach.Nice pools.Good food and drinks.Excellent entertainment and lots to do.Loved pool access room.Best room service. Adults
Cons: More bartenders especially at the pool bar.
Location: Snorkeling and scuba diving!
We went with another couple and had a wonderful time. Loved how everything was close to the beach. Lots to do! Wonderful entertainment. We had a pool access room which we loved. Food and drinks were wonderful! Best room service we have ever had at a place. Only complaint was at the pool bar sure could have used an extra bartender. Had to wait for a length of time to get a drink. Like adult only! Access to sister resort. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Pictures are deceiving.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: The staff in the dining rooms especially Isabella the beach/pool waitress. The sky bar was grand for sunsets and star watching.
Cons: The whole place needs a good cleaning, cement work repairs and new furniture.
Location: POINT OF SUR is wonderful. You must go. Beautiful beach, clean rest rooms. The light house is a must to climb. Rangers have a lot of history to share.
The minute you want in the lobby, the staff try and up charge you, from spa treatments to the reserved section of suites. There isn't enough lounge chairs and umbrellas for the pool area. People would go out at 6:30 in the morning and stake out their claim. The diclosure of the staff will remove things in an half hour is false. The lounge chais on the beach are uncomfortable to say the least. Never enough towels. The delight of our pool/beach experience was Isabella. Her attention to details and pleasant nature made our stay there. We had a jr. suite which had a great view, but it was just above the kitchen. We could never sit out side because of the smell from the kitchen fans. When asked to move they had no more jr. suites. #1029 So aske what's below you when booking. Because the building is made of concrete and the doors are mental it is a noisey place!! The couch in our room was stained and worn. I placed a sheet over it to sit on it. DO NOT RENT A CAR FROM THE AIRPORT! If you want one for a day or two get it from the resort. If you use your credit card the insurance for the car itself is covered. You just need liability. It's cheaper and a lot less head aches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Very nice all inclusive facility

Posted May 2, 2015
Cons: Nothing
The trip overall was everything we wanted. Flights to and from Cozumel were ontime and pleasant. Arrival in Cozumel airport and processing through Customs went smoothly; was able to get pesos at airport Santander bank ATM without any problem then got shared airport shuttle to Secrets Aura resort. Checkin was fast. Staff from beginning to end of stay were very helpful, friendly and fun. All aspects of resort were more than expected. Room was spacious ; king bed very comfortable. Dining options(from buffet to ordering off menus) were excellent from breakfast to dinner with little to no waiting for a table as the resort does not not take reservations which we actually liked. Very good variety of food. Plenty of resort activites daily to enjoy and off resort trips from onisland to mainland were easy to arrange.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Amazing vacation

Posted May 2, 2015
Secrets was an amazing resort!! The staff was incredible and the food was delicious. Our waitress Isabella was wonderful and always attentive. Even though tipping is not required it is greatly appreciated by the staff. So be sure to take lots of small bills. If you plan to take a snorkel trip or parasail be sure to plan that a few days ahead of time. The boats book quickly. We paid extra to be in the preferred club and it was definitely worth the extra money. We would definitely return this was an awesome vacation thank you again secrets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Aura is not the same as a Secrets resort

Posted Apr 30, 2015
I've stayed at this hotel many times and LOVED it but they added many lower standard rooms from the resort next door and service has gone WAY down under new ownership (same employees from over the years - just less service from them). The food quality has gone down too but it still very, very good. It is still probably the best resort on the island but previous Aura travelers should be aware that it's not the quaint five star quiet resort it used to be. It's very crowded and loud with music blaring late at night and hard to find chairs at beaches and pools. It makes me sad because this resort truly used to be amazing. I will say that management (Carlos) bent over backward and upgraded is to the resort section we thought we were booking and that made it much better.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY New York

Good

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Restaurant service was extremely slow and unorganized Beach small hard to find a shade and private space
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach and national park

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Isabel and Yussel made my trip an absolute pleasure. It wouldn't have been as good without them!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

NOT as advertised by Secrets or Expedia!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The staff & the food
Cons: Rooms, restaurants, Preferred Club experience & all of the facilities are VERY sub-standard for Secrets.
This is a nice place but NOT as advertised and sold. The Staff and Management were absolutely great, just cannot deliver what is promised with what they have. We booked 2 Preferred Club Swim-up ocean view Jr suites that are sold as 750 sf, they measured 380 sf, no separate sitting area, NOT a Jr suite... not a suite at all. We did change rooms. The first one we could not use the tub because the shower handle would not turn the shower OFF. They put us in a larger room that had NO TUB. TV's are maybe 30", old and cable was very undependable. No preferred club amenities, lounge a joke, bar and hors d’oeuvre area smaller than our dining room table. No upgraded mini bar, AND anyone had access to the lounge, pool and Preferred Club amenities. Beach rocky, bar service very slow, WIFI 15 minutes to dl a 13.8 mb file (dialup speed). Cannot provide enough ice in drinks even when requested. Liquor selection limited. Claim to have 6 restaurants/cafes. Windows, Oceana and Barefoot are within 50 feet of each other, Barefoot is a sign on one side of Oceana, has no seating, not a restaurant. Market Cafe is shared with adults @ Sunscape resort. ALL these are outside dining, only inside dining is Bordeaux, waited 40 minutes. Been to 6 AM resorts at least 12 times & LOVE other Secrets... But here, save your money, book a room @ Sunscape for 1/3 the cost and use the Secrets resort! AM Resorts really got this WRONG. 12 of us will be going to the Caribbean in Dec, but NOT Secrets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

excellent trip!!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Great return experience at a phenomenal hotel!!! the service and staff are wonderful from the baggage guys to the waitresses, waiters and host staff. All excellent!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd stay in two years

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Some things could improve but overall we once again had a great stay.