Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by natalie from chicago

Unwelcoming resort nothing to do

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This place is not how it looks on the pictures nice and welcome no rooms are dirty and smells horible the bathrooms also smells i can even describe there is no swim up bar also no choice of food do not have pizza you can make better one at home if you do have it please make shore you brought tumbs the only think that is ok was the brekfast hitel does not have much activity we did not get the room we wanted with one kinge size bed it took them one day in a half to gives the room we pay for this place was one of my worst expiriance in Mexico i have been in many places in Mexico but this was i can't even explain the only good thing was i had a great friends with me to make my stay better
2 out of 5
by Stephanie from Lafayette, Louisiana

Needed plenty of work.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The pools, beach, restaurants were nice.
Cons: The facility itself. A lot of work is needed and I know its constantly being worked on.
Location: A lot of activities are all over. Good for diving but didn't dive this trip.
I know that its fairly new to Secrets Resorts but they still have a lot of work to do. Switched rooms but that was on me for my comfort, but the new room was missing most of the amenities. We had to request a hair dryer 3 times and a stopper for the bath tub all week which was never brought. Both building were too close to the sewer plant and stunk the whole time. The staff was nice but when you take the offer to see their presentation, they give you coupons and supposedly free things that are all but free. You still had to pay for anything you wanted to do and pretty much what you paid would have covered the event at full price. I have been to Cozumel a dozen or so times over the past 30 years and by far this was the most disappointing of all. I know they are constantly working on the facility and hopefully will get it up to standards soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has Promise

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Good pier down the beach
Cons: Overall maintenance of the rooms/facilities Hard to find the buffet since it moves every couple of days Food selection is limited The TOWEL GAME :(
Location: Great Diving (try BlueProject Valet Diving)
Took us a couple of tries to find a double bed room facing south (divers need to dry things). The hotel was very prompt in fixing things! (door pulled away from hinges, bulbs burnt out, toilet leaked...). We were there for the diving, so the food and room weren't really an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Minneapolis, MN

Don't worry! This place is great!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Facilities, Staff, Activites, Pool Bar
Cons: Variety could be added to the menu/buffets.
Our experience at Sunscape Sabor was fantastic! The people were great, the facilities were nice...not great or fancy but very nice! It's about 10-15 minutes from airport is in a great location. The hotel is fully fenced in and a gate attendent must let you in and out of the facility while confirming who you are by your room number so it's very safe! You can snorkel right on the beach and the pool bar is right there for your convenience. The room was great and we were upgraded to a studio when we arrived so we had a 3rd floor poolside room. The room looked over the pool and the ocean at the same time. The food at the hotel was good but not great. A lot of the same stuff is served day to day but they do it well. That would be the only thing I suggest as something that could be improved a bit. However, the reviews that describe this place as an awful moldy dungeon and say you shouldn't stay here are completey ludicrous. Like I said, this place is nice but not great. A perfect stay for non-high maintenance people. You'll be satisfied with this place but if you're looking for a bit of a nicer stay "Secrets" is the resort right next door that has the same owner. We would consider staying here again if we ever came back to Cozumel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - needs better food choices

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This would be a great hotel if they had better food choices and more seating for dinner
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: beach access. A few of the bars were right against the shoreline.
Cons: Food, quality of food served. To many meals were the same. Not enough tasty and edible items. The pool wasn't kept clean.
Location: It is a drive back to town, about 15 mins with no traffic.
Staff was great. Very clean facility always staff working to keep it clean.
2 out of 5
by Molly from California

Major changes since last visit and very disappoint

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Beach front, beautiful grounds
Cons: FOOD, INTERNET
Location: 7.5 miles from town, really really close to great diving spots. Just a short boat ride away makes the location very desireable.
We stayed at the Sabor 2 years ago and had a great time. No complaints whatsoever. This year we stayed at the new Sunscapes Sabor and were very disappointed to see they had sold off half of the resort to make Secrets. Along with half the rooms they also took all of the good restaurants. THE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE. We ate the same thing again and again and again. Also there was no wifi. They SAY there is but the only place that has it is in the lobby and I never got above 1 bar of signal. I had to go to an internet cafe finally to be able to pull up all of my email. Will NEVER stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sabor-Cozumel

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: ALOT! The snack bar could include things like tacos, BLTs, the snacks esp got very tiring.
My husband and I stayed at Sabor last year (2013) and while it was probably an average resort, the staff was great and the place fun. We decided to go back again this year. What a disappointment! The staff has been cut back quite a bit, the waiters seemed overworked, for sure not enough staff. The guy at the reception desk that checked us in was down right rude. We thought that as a returning guest, we should get at least the same quality room as we had last year. Not only were we not upgraded, we were put in the "garden view" which was the room furthest back; our view was the warehouse/parking lot. It was noisy, dirty, ladders laying by the sidewalk chained to a fence. One restaurant that we enjoyed going to last year was closed off to Sabor guests and given to the resort next door. One of the only bright spots at this resort was a bartender at a tiki bar, Wilbert, who went above and beyond making guests feel special. Wilbert is a great asset to Sabor. Except for the reception desk guy, the staff tried to be as helpful as possible but was unstaffed. Sometimes our rooms were cleaned, sometimes, no towels, no kleenex, we never knew what to expect. Last year we recommended this resort but not this year. We never feel like we need elegant surroundings, etc but we feel this resort was a major disappointment and should NOT be rated a 3.5 but rather a 2. This is the first time using Expedia and am not sure we will book through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Great pools! No water in one of the block of rooms one day. No working phone or hair dryer in a friends' room, even after they were requested. Food is great at the pool cafe. My room was right on the beach and bed was comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful.