Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Portland, OR

Restaurant staff excellent front desk horrible

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Restaurants, snorkeling, and beach
Cons: Front desk staff needs to find out what the restaurant staff is doing and do that.
Location: great location snorkeling near by
The staff in all of the restaurants and bars was great! They even cooked fish up that we caught deep sea fishing. I don't think we will be going back though, front desk staff was not so good. We didn't have a phone that worked and it took us telling them for six days until they did something about it. You never knew what activities were going on and if you asked the front desk they knew nothing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as it looked online

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The restaurant staff and the fact that it was all inclusive.
Cons: I believe it would make a huge difference if upon checking in they would give your more information in detail about the hotel.
Location: A little far from town. A short walk away is Carlos and Charlie's where you can rent motorized water equipment.
The staff was not very informative about our options. The Sunscape is part of Secrets and you can request an upgrade which we would have done had we known. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it also had a pool bar. We didn't realize it was not open until we walked over to it. It's under construction. We're not told that during check in. The food was ok and the restaurant staff were very nice. The beach was pretty but rough. Many guests we spoke to were very unhappy with the hotel. They said the hotel has really gone down hill. Their website says WIFI but it's only in the lobby and it's a terrible connection
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, terrible food

Posted Dec 30, 2013
We visit Cozumel several times a year, but this was our vist stay at Sabor. We upgraded to a suite and found the room to be spacious & clean. The resort had a buffet for breakfast & lunch & three restaurants for dinner. The food was consistently cold & greasy. It was almost inedible. The wine was watery & bitter, but the resort had alternative selections for an additional charge. Overall, the food was terrible and lacked variety. The resort is beautiful& the view amazing, but the food lacked the same quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nicola from ibiza

lovely hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: provide a place to have coffee/tea in the afternoons
Location: great location, right on the beach, possible to walk to a beach club
we only stayed overnight but would certainly return for a longer stay, the hotel was lovely and in a great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Southern Illinois

Nice hotel, right on the beach

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Cons: Their Wi-Fi network was the single worst thing, it was only active in the lobby and it would randomly go down. Needs more snack food choices
We have been going to the Caribbean every December for the last 7-8 years. This was probably the best experience to date. We were there for two weeks and I was not ready to leave. The hotel was nice, the beach was good, the food was pretty good (usually after about 10-12 days I am tired of the food at all inclusives, but not this time) All of the staff was very pleasant and worked hard to make our stay pleasurable. I dove four times and they were all much better than any of my diving at Cancun or the Domincan Republic. We are NOT party, nightclub people and we liked the fact that this place was a quieter, more laidback place than some we have been to. We will most likely go back to the Sunscape San Sabor next year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Ohio

Would be 5 stars with a little tweaking

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Movies every night in the lobby, water sports, bicycles, beach location
Cons: popcorn for movies, varied menus, fill the mini frigs with pop, water, & beer - had to ask all the time to get liquids
Location: 5 minutes from Dolphin Discovery, snorkeling right off the beach
Staff was excellent. Movies in the lobby every night were great, but organize the couches so that all can see the movie - Popcorn would be awesome! Pizza place is hidden - most guests never find it , but it was awesome. Services kept running out of things- pizza place ran out of mozzarella, grill ran out of cheese for hamburgers. Ice cream was on the menu for restaurants, but we were told only Secrets guests were allowed to have any!!! Food was good in restaurants, but same menu every night all week. Angel at the front desk & Chewy in water sports were outstanding!!! Breakfast is very good & alcoholic drinks were best I have ever had in 10 trips to Mexican resorts. Bicycles & tennis are included, but also hidden so ask to use them. We paid $1771 per couple for airfare from Cleveland & hotel room for 7 nights - hard to beat this deal. Many quests at Secrets came over to use our facilities as they said they were better than theirs at $1,000 more at Secrets (bars, drinks, restaurants, etc)
3 out of 5
by Sara from USA

2.5 star hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Food was always cold and there wasn't a good selection. Taste was extremely bland, there wasn't much flavor to anything. The buildings are decaying. Our balcony had puddles of water on it every day. We had a hot tub but no heater to keep it warm. The woodwork in our room was very distressed (not in the good vintage way) it was very worn out. The pool, lobby and resturants were nicely renovated. There was NO room service. The fridge in our room only had a couple of beverages in it. The bars made great drinks. The beach had a ton of rocks on it and it kind of hurt to walk on. The snorkeling was great! Not as luxurious as we were expecting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is excellent

Posted Dec 1, 2013
The hotel itself needs lots of work. More or less updating. But the staff was incredible. Even though the hotel wasn't as nice as expected the staff makes you want to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from Mammoth Lakes, Ca

Great place, friendly service.

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Suite was wonderful.
Cons: Working on property all the time.
Location: It's an island with everything nearby.
Had a wonderful time, property is older, but my suite was great, clean and roomy. Staff was wonderful. Good variety of dinning experiences. Late night activities good. Snorkeling OK at hotel, but great nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Nov 26, 2013
This was my fourth stay . brought two new couples down with me this time and it was very enjoyable and relaxing . and we are all looking forward to booking another trip there next year. My only regret was I could not stay there longer.