Ratings based on 1,134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect get away

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is great!! About 9 miles from the airport, we were going to train for Ironman, so we swam in ocean, ran on beach and rented a bike.
As we arrived at the resort, we were greeted as we got out of the taxi. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We asked for an upgrade at the time of arrival, they were kind enough to check for us, but there were none at the time. It was ok, because our room was great, it was ocean view just like it said when we booked the stay, balcony looking right at the water. The food was good and everyone on staff at all the restaurants went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. They always greeted us with a smile, regardless if it was at breakfast, or 11p at night. The pool was beautiful, however we never got in or sunned at the pool, only because we can do that at home. We go for the beach!!! The fire show was entertaining, the performers did an excellent job. Caribbean night was fun, good food by the pool and loved the tables set up around pool area. Wilbreath, our bartender that was right by our room was friendly, so sweet and his smile was contagious, not to mention the great drinks he made for us. We went to this resort to check out the course for Ironman Cozumel in November. I searched info on the resort before we went, we wanted a place that we could get into the ocean and swim. There were rocks that we had to walk over before getting into our swim, but other than that , couldn't have been happier. Thanks to you all at Sunscape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Over exceeded my Expectations!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: That it was right on the beach and had beautiful views.
Cons: More seafood!
Location: You could walk very far along the beach which was nice. We had plans to go snorkling and scuba diving but ended up just laying on the beach all day.
I loved my stay in Cozumel. The hotel is right on the beach, you are never more than a few steps away from a bar and I never waited more than a minute for a drink. The staff was wonderful and nice and so was the food. Yes the snack bar had burgers, hot dogs and fries but there was always something more authentic at the buffets and every dinner option was delicious. Its not 5 star dining but it definitely tasty. Also, you can eat at Market Cafe too, which is adults only. They had a mimosa and bloody bar for breakfast which was awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: 2 story buildings
Cons: Everything
Location: Ruins and tequila museum are about 20 miles.
Outdated hotel, no ventilation in a bathroom, room smells like mold with bleach. Coral beach, water shoes are necessary. Very poor food. Staff was friendly and tried their best. The taxi rate from hotel to airport was not as advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Plymouth,Nebraska

Coozumel 2015

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: More beach chairs to go around.
We enjoyed a wonderful 7 days in Cozumel. Weather was perfect.It is so nice to stay right on the beach, and close walking distance to everything!! The staff is very attentitive to their guests, and would see to it that you recieved what you asked for.We always feel very safe at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mn.

Miss Guided to listen to a talk

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Fine
Cons: Remove the people that were trying to sell memberships out of your lobby
Location: Diving
We were very much kept in the dark as to what " this way of saving money was". It really boiled down to buying a discount membership for 20k,30k and so on. It really gave us a a bad feeling for Sunscape.We were going to have a wedding at Sunscape this winter but now I do not know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Only a few steps to the beach

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We had a great time, the food was good and the staff was very courteous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

HAD A BLAST!!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
I don't know where all the negative reviews have come from.. My boyfriend and I had an AMAZING time! We were there from January 12-18th. We must have picked the perfect week to go because it was nowhere near busy. The staff was so friendly and on top of everything. When we got there, we were upgraded to a king suite (not the one with the hot tub which was perfectly fine for us). It was spacious and very clean. I've seen people comment on how horrified they were about the ants in the bathroom. Really????? They are sugar ants.. don't harm you at ALL.. and there weren't a lot. Southern Florida homes get them all the time, so everyone can calm down. The pools were clean and we enjoyed all of the food and beverages. People, no it's not your mom's cooking, but very good and a variety to choose from. El Patio was our favorite!! Gabriel and Ricardo are awesome waiters. Sheila is a great hostess! The beaches were great. We did the kayaking available (there are other non motorized sports to choose from as well for no extra cost). We snorkeled with Choc Choc I believe it was? Maybe Chac Choc.. and had a wonderful time. Our last day there, the resort became 98% full, which definitely made a difference. You could tell the staff got a little stressed when things got busy, but you can't blame them. Some things I heard people complaining about made ME mad!! If you're looking at this resort, BOOK IT!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Topeka Ks

Hotel room close to beach. Overall Stay.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Room was close to beach. Beach was nice. Room had no hot water first two nights, it was luke warm. Shower drain kept backing up. Told Manager they did try to upgrade us to the Secrets side but we would be far away from the beach. They finally got hot water fixed two days later. Overall stay was okay. Will probably not return due to the pressure from Vacation Unlimited trying to sell their vacation packages (timeshares) on site at the resort. They just dont give up and we didnt pay for our vacation so we could be hassled the entire time. That was very disappointing that the hotel has resorted to this. We just want to go there to relax. Going to look elsewhere next year. Overall okay hotel close to beach for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Smaller, family friendly, clean, and welcoming

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Noted above.,
Cons: There was an attempt to make everything handicapped friendly but not the bathrooms. The wheelchair did not fit and had to shower sitting on the floor
Location: Beautiful activities close, snorkeling, kayaking, etc
The best staff I have ever had the pleasure to stay with. The rooms are very clean although not new, well kept. There was so much to do, and the beach was beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Best you can get for so little money

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Sunscape is a beautiful resort right on the beach, with amazing reefs right out side your door. With free use of water activities (kayak,hobie cat,paddle boards and snorkeling)if you want to get off your lounge chair there is plenty to do. The staff goes out of there way to make your stay what you want for the money it can't be beat