Ratings based on 1,046 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Need Undercover Boss to show up

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Beach Front
Cons: The shower in Room 3322 was pretty ugly, Housekeeping cant do any think with some thing that need to be remodleing need some new managment .
Location: The location is great Great island
Need for front desk to be nicer and more helpful , Bartenders need to be nicer not act like they are being bothered.Grounds and housekeeping were very nice. Food need lots of inpovment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, KS

Room cleanliness

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nightly entertainment
Cons: Cleanliness and service of the rooms for towels, soap and toilet paper. Floors were never swept of the sand.
Location: Many attractions away from the hotel, requiring taxi to get to them. Boat peer was at the hotel for boat excursions
Late cleaning of rooms, stayed 3 nights. First date of check in had to wait until after 4:00pm to get room, refrigerator was not stocked with sodas etc. Second day, room was serviced when returned from an excursion late in the afternoon about 4:00pm. Third day, room was not cleaned until after 4:00pm. Went on a boat excursion and when returned at 12:30pm, no clean towels, no soap or toilet paper. At 3:00pm, room service still not done, went to front desk about needing clean towels etc. Room was finally serviced after 4:00pm. This was the biggest disappointment. Restaurants, bars were good. Beach area was okay. Beach towels available except for third day. Entertainment on second and third evenings was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from makanda, IL

Great resort for the money

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This was our third all inclusive resort in 14 months. We stayed at a Sandals (high price point), a dreams (mid price point) and now Sunscape ( low price point). We were disappointed with Dreams so expected very little from Sunscape but were pleasantly surprised. The resort is older but you can tell they are trying to keep it up. The staff was very friendly and accommodating specially if leave a dollar for the maid and bartender each day. The beach is ling and narrow like the resort and you can not really walk into the water very far barefoot due to the to rocks. But this really is the best part. Go grab some free snorkle gear and snorkel around those rocks and you will find an amazing array if fish. It is absolutely amazing. Some of the fish will even swim up to you and hang out! The food was good. Mostly buffet style except for the pizza place and El Patio. The pizza is really good as long as you stay away from the meats and the bruschetta and salad are delicious. At Dreams, El Patio was inedible and the seafood unrecognizably. I was pregnant on this trip so I was especially concerned about the food but found El Patio to be fantastic. Town is close and just a $15 cab ride away. It is safe to explore on your own, so if you are tired of buffet food go hit up Margaretville! Remember to bring your suite! All in all we were unexpectedly happy with this resort but we are also not like some very uptight reviewers here. You are not paying for Sandals so don't expect the
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beach View Was Amazing,Room Not So Much

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: THIS RESORT WAS A TOTAL FAIL. DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
Cons: STAFF
Location: Way out in the no where. Had to get a taxi every time we wanted to go to town or get the ferry which was another expense due to the taxi
Staff was extremely rude. Money was stolen out of the safe and was not given back,credited into souviners Buffet was a total bust The main swimming pool water was dirty Had plumbing issues that lead to a small flood in the room only because the issue wasnt taken care of till hours later only because we made a complaint a/c kept leaking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Cons: Hotel information should say that it's not compare to the chain of hotels dreams.
Hotel is ok but nothing compare to the Dreams Hotel standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Sunscape Sabor to be avoided!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We had booked a suite with two rooms, poolside, ocean view and jacuzzi on the balcony. Well, being a family resort, we should have known better as we stayed their 3 years when it was not. Jacuzzi did not work and the pool was open late which had kids screaming the entire time. Not just normal screaming but the raise the hair on your back screaming. Then at 8 PM, the kids came to their room, unfortunately next to ours and continued their screaming. management promptly relocated us to another suite. It the air conditioner was broken, fortunately we caught this prior to us unpacking! They then moved us to a suite at Secrets Aura! No kids, great food... Great amenities! Moral of the story, if you wNt a romantic kid free vacation, stay away from Sunscape Sabor!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We haven't been to this resort since it was adults only. It was good then, not so much now. We booked a king sized bed but got two doubles instead. Not very romantic. The beds were hard as rock and we ended up wih sore backs the whole trip. The food is so-so. One of the pools was always really dirty, one day there were chunks of hair which was extremely gross. If you wanted a drink by the pool you had to get it yourself. The price was cheaper this time around and you definitely get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bottom of the barrel all inclusive

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Only thing good about the hotel, is it is close to all the scuba diving we wanted.
Cons: Food diffinitely
Arrived at the hotel at one, but check in isn't until 3. Instead of offering a hospitality room, we are inundated with sales people trying to get us to go to their time share. Finally get a room about 3:15, but unfortunately it wasn't cleaned, sheets still a mess, water bottles all over and I am not certain if the previous guests were actually still checked in. The room was to have free wifi, but I had to purchase. The food was almost the same at every meal with the lime on a different side of the plate. This is a good place for the kids, since the hot dogs and hamburgers were good. Most of the staff were friendly and tried with what they had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Can't beat the location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
If you are willing to compromise a bit on speed of service and a few "bumps" in amenities - this a superb location. Don't let the reviews if the food fool you -- it is just fine. The staff works very hard - Sabor needs to employ more people so they have the proper staff to guest ratio. We travel for the diving and the fishing - and this is a great spot for both with the added advantage of the most beautiful and quiet part of the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Can't get any closer to the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach, the friendly staff, the fresh and mostly well prepared food.
Cons: Maid service, restaurant waits - one night at El Patio, they only had one chef, so the wait was about an hour from ordering to service.
First off, we enjoyed our stay. My husband is a diver, and the diving through the hotel - Dive House - was exceptional. They are close to all the reefs, so it takes no time on the boat to get almost everywhere. From that perspective, the hotel couldn't be better situated. The rooms are ordinary, but clean and comfortable. We were only steps to the water. The people at the hotel are friendly and helpful, but there's definitely an element of manana working - maid service was sketchy (never knew what would be in the room and what would be forgotten - spent some time chasing maid carts around in search of soap and towels). The waiters in the restaurants were sometimes overwhelmed - they eventually got everything you asked for, but patience was in order. The food was all fresh and well prepared, nothing fancy, especially at the frequent buffets (the restaurants are closed down about every third night, and there is a buffet around the main pool). The food at El Patio restaurant was very good, and on nights they had a menu at the Seaside Grill, also very good. One other problem - not enough shade around the pools and not enough lounge chairs at the beach. If you didn't claim a corner of shade and a couple of lounge chairs by 9 AM, you were probably out of luck until late in the afternoon. The beach was beautiful, and the snorkeling just off the shore pretty good. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, especially once we adjusted our expectations!