Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Cons: Hotel information should say that it's not compare to the chain of hotels dreams.
Hotel is ok but nothing compare to the Dreams Hotel standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Sunscape Sabor to be avoided!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We had booked a suite with two rooms, poolside, ocean view and jacuzzi on the balcony. Well, being a family resort, we should have known better as we stayed their 3 years when it was not. Jacuzzi did not work and the pool was open late which had kids screaming the entire time. Not just normal screaming but the raise the hair on your back screaming. Then at 8 PM, the kids came to their room, unfortunately next to ours and continued their screaming. management promptly relocated us to another suite. It the air conditioner was broken, fortunately we caught this prior to us unpacking! They then moved us to a suite at Secrets Aura! No kids, great food... Great amenities! Moral of the story, if you wNt a romantic kid free vacation, stay away from Sunscape Sabor!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We haven't been to this resort since it was adults only. It was good then, not so much now. We booked a king sized bed but got two doubles instead. Not very romantic. The beds were hard as rock and we ended up wih sore backs the whole trip. The food is so-so. One of the pools was always really dirty, one day there were chunks of hair which was extremely gross. If you wanted a drink by the pool you had to get it yourself. The price was cheaper this time around and you definitely get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bottom of the barrel all inclusive

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Only thing good about the hotel, is it is close to all the scuba diving we wanted.
Cons: Food diffinitely
Arrived at the hotel at one, but check in isn't until 3. Instead of offering a hospitality room, we are inundated with sales people trying to get us to go to their time share. Finally get a room about 3:15, but unfortunately it wasn't cleaned, sheets still a mess, water bottles all over and I am not certain if the previous guests were actually still checked in. The room was to have free wifi, but I had to purchase. The food was almost the same at every meal with the lime on a different side of the plate. This is a good place for the kids, since the hot dogs and hamburgers were good. Most of the staff were friendly and tried with what they had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Can't beat the location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
If you are willing to compromise a bit on speed of service and a few "bumps" in amenities - this a superb location. Don't let the reviews if the food fool you -- it is just fine. The staff works very hard - Sabor needs to employ more people so they have the proper staff to guest ratio. We travel for the diving and the fishing - and this is a great spot for both with the added advantage of the most beautiful and quiet part of the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Can't get any closer to the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach, the friendly staff, the fresh and mostly well prepared food.
Cons: Maid service, restaurant waits - one night at El Patio, they only had one chef, so the wait was about an hour from ordering to service.
First off, we enjoyed our stay. My husband is a diver, and the diving through the hotel - Dive House - was exceptional. They are close to all the reefs, so it takes no time on the boat to get almost everywhere. From that perspective, the hotel couldn't be better situated. The rooms are ordinary, but clean and comfortable. We were only steps to the water. The people at the hotel are friendly and helpful, but there's definitely an element of manana working - maid service was sketchy (never knew what would be in the room and what would be forgotten - spent some time chasing maid carts around in search of soap and towels). The waiters in the restaurants were sometimes overwhelmed - they eventually got everything you asked for, but patience was in order. The food was all fresh and well prepared, nothing fancy, especially at the frequent buffets (the restaurants are closed down about every third night, and there is a buffet around the main pool). The food at El Patio restaurant was very good, and on nights they had a menu at the Seaside Grill, also very good. One other problem - not enough shade around the pools and not enough lounge chairs at the beach. If you didn't claim a corner of shade and a couple of lounge chairs by 9 AM, you were probably out of luck until late in the afternoon. The beach was beautiful, and the snorkeling just off the shore pretty good. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, especially once we adjusted our expectations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and not overly crowded

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The room was very comfortable. Love that they now have small refrigerators and drinks in the room. This was our third trip to Sunscape. We have always loved the snorkeling there and the small crowds on the beach. The food is still pretty good as well. We did notice a decline in the facilities (need of paint mostly) of the resort and an occasional sewage smell when walking outside, but we would go again. I had packed several of my favorite earrings and necklaces in my checked luggage that was stolen on the trip back. I'm not sure if it was stolen in Cozumel or Dallas though. We were warned at DFW that camera's get stolen often if left in checked luggage and that we should carry it on the plane. Wish we'd have done the same with my jewelry. In regards to Expedia - we were not informed that the "All Inclusive" price did not include a shuttle to the resort. After landing in Cozumel we were stuck looking for a ride while others had a van waiting for them. Plus we had to pay an additional $24 to get there and $20 to get back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Great service!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Right when we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff with a cold towel and a glass of wine. Check in was at 3 and we arrived shortly after 1. We didn't have to carry our luggage around so we went and ate at one of the restaurants that were open for lunch. The food was great! Our reservation was for an ocean view room with a king size bed. They put us in an ocean view room with two full size beds. Because it was our honeymoon, I wasn't going to let something small like that affect my trip. Besides, the view was great. After about an hour, the front desk called us to upgrade to a suite in the sister resort next door at Secrets Aura. We were allowed to eat at all restaurants and swim in all pools. The atmosphere was awesome! We played pool volleyball with two of the employees who were super nice! We had an amazing time. :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Neither horrific OR terrific; but never again.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Met some really fun people (not staff; other guests) and had fun with them; was able to walk onto a pier and get right on a dive boat.
Location: Location was pretty far from town; there was a few things to do close; but you are going to be spending most of your time on the resort.
This hotel was the bare minimum of Caribbean experiences. We met a lot of people on the resort that agreed with us that this was probably the worst all-inclusive experience they have ever had. I wouldn't recommend this resort if you are planning on spending time AT the resort. It was acceptable since we spent most of time days diving. This resort doesn't have enough staff; the bars & restaurants were always slow. There were 3 day stretches where the room wasn't cleaned; the "mini-bar" wasn't stocked. Basically; it wasn't the luxury all-inclusive experience that we were expecting; we just kept saying over and over "it's not good, it's not bad - it's just "meh". We definitely won't be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sabor No More!

Cinco minutos mas

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Wait for everything; glass of water, cup of coffee, more food for the buffet tables. Every meal was buffet style and staff expected tips for little or no service. Also a few 'not my job' responses when requesting service.