Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location. Bad timing.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The wood cabin style of the lodge, the wildlife that comes to say hello at night. The staff are nice and pleasant. The food is great.
Cons: More wet weather activities, possibly discounts for poor weather. More things to do for free, especially considering the cost of even the simple cabin
Location: Beautiful location, nothing to do. A very long drive to anywhere.
Staff were nothing but helpful and nice. The rooms are very clean. However no TV in the lower rate cabins which made for very dull days when it was raining (Despite the pictures of these cabins displaying a TV) and the only other wet weather activities the lodge provides, that doesn't cost an arm and a leg, are board games. The cabins are also in groups of 2 or 4 meaning you have connecting walls, which means you can hear the creaking floor when people walk around at night, we could also hear the kids next to us. The gas fireplace makes a horrendous amount of noise at night which woke us many times, so you have to choose: either be uncomfortably hot so the fire stays on, or turn it off completely (it makes loud ticking/cracking noises when it's heating up or cooling down). If the weather looks like rain, prepare yourself to be spending a lot of money at the Waldheim Alpine Spa because there wont be anything else to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Brisbane

A lovely base to explore the national park

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Restaurant menu was outstanding but expensive
Cons: We did not like the gas fireplace. We had been looking forward to a wood fire.
Location: There are many different walks and climbs for different fitness levels. The environment is spectacular.
We had a brief stay of one night. You really need a minimum of three or four nights to do justice to the beautiful and varied environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by R&S from Melbourne

Great location for Cradle Mountain experience

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cabin accommodation very apt for location. Great local walks and at the gate to Cradle Mountain National Park. Value for money in the main restaurant questionable given the fixed price pricing structure. Very enjoyable stay however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lani from Los Gatos, CA.

Stay here if you can

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a spa suite - just fantastic. Big room with a fire place, sitting area and small hot tub on the deck. Canapes were in the fridge for us to enjoy - a cheese plate brought the next day and port to enjoy it with. Our kids stayed in a smaller, regular room that was much smaller, less appointed. Splurge for the spa suite if you can. Access to Cradle Mtn was easy and the trails around the resort were nice too. Great pix in the forest trails. Our favorite stay on Tasmania.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gi from Moonta Yorke Peninsula South Australia

In the mountains

Posted May 26, 2014
We stayed at the Pine Cottages at Peppers Lodge and the rooms was spacious with gas log fire. It had a well appointed bathroom with plenty of hot water, very important as it's cold on the mountain in May. We had a balcony overlooking a natural pond. The tavern had great food, pub style, reasonably priced. The dining room was a bit dear with a minimum of 2 courses at $60 each, although the food was good. Breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and there was also freshly picked apples in the reception at your disposal for free I would stay here again if I was returning to Cradle Mountain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend getaway

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: The food served in the "bistro" was overpriced and wasn't great quality.
Loved the cabins and the little walks around the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Contemporary spa cabin is spacious and relaxing

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed 1 night in the contemporary spa cabin, which was very relaxing. The cabin has a shower and a two-person spa tub which was very relaxing. When we checked in, the service was great - they booked the Devils@Cradle night feeding tour for us and booked us in for dinner at their Highland Restaurant. The staff member was informative and polite. Around the area, they had a number of walks and roaming wildlife like wombats and wallabies which was pretty amazing! I'd never seen a wild wombat before so it was amazing that it was so close to the lodges. They also have a "store" nearby which has some souvenirs as well as like a convenience store goods, which was handy. The only negatives notes is that the gas heaters take a while to heat up the room (high ceilings make it slow to heat up!) and there was a slight stain on the additional single bed, and a random loose tuft in the carpet. Other than that - everything was in great condition. I would recommend this place and stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dorothy from Melbourne

Housekeeping need to improve

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location and environment are good. This hotel is 4.5 stars hotel, and I want to expect more. Housekeeping need to be improve. No shampoo provide in our room until we request from front desk. I lived in spa cabin, but the spa seems doesn't clean and I found the black stuffs still in the spa. The white towel also seems never bleach, and looks used for ages. And in the minibar, the kettle is horrible, when I filled in the water into the kettle, many dirty stuffs are floating on the water. Although the housekeeper did changed another kettle to me, but this should not happen in a 4.5 stars hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Poor breakfast

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the Hotel and surrounding area was excellent the service at breakfast every day was ordinary to say the least, first day, no plates when the plates arrived there was no eggs or bacon in the serving trays, next day no cups for tea or coffee again no eggs or bacon, third day guess what no eggs. It can't be that hard to make sure there is food being prepared in the kitchen on an ongoing basis so the serving area can be topped up regularly. I thought it was extremely poorly managed and a sad reflection on the lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alan from Brisbane

Great location

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
There is a magic in the air in the face of a very remote location