Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building. Good first greeting.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Room flawed. Terrible overpriced food. Restaurant staff totally untrained. Food mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by davidfrom David and Sam from Surrey

Stunning Hotel and Spa

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fabulous night hotel, perfect for a most indulgent romantic break. Superb dinner - definitely have the tasting menu! The spa was wonderful. A first rate stay from the moment we were welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Bampton, East Grinstead

Rainy night in East Grinstead

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel - amazing service and ambience. Breakfast a little pricey but very attentive staff. Hard to fault really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barryfrom Horncastle

A lovely mid-week one-night break

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A glorious country house hotel. We were looked after perfectly all the time. When we were told the restaurant we wanted was full, they still managed to double check and put us in. Great night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Suefrom Cowden

Gimme a break

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Seriously needed some down time and this was just what the doctor ordered! Pampering and luxury..perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Awesome spa!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely setting and grand looking hotel with a beautiful spa area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself however (Chelsea)was not of a 5 star standard unfortunately. Although the view was good the windows were quite dirty and painted shut apart from one. The interleading door rattled all night and there was no minibar. I would still recommend this hotel though, based purely on the spa (possibly the best one that I have been to).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

I believe it is the best hotel in that area.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Cozy, comfortable, classy
Cons: Expedia's coordination with the hotels concerning the payments
Location: Graet countryside.
I didn't appreciate the fact that they were trying to charge me again for the room, after I had already paid it in Expedia. I don't know if it was Expedia's fault or the hotel's, but had I not fought it and had I paid double, it would have been very bad. Lack of coordination from Expedia, possibly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We'll be back....

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and i stayed in Alexander House for just one night. The staff were very welcoming and the old part of the hotel was delightful. I would highly recommend the he made beefburger from the bar! The spa is one of the best I have seen with indoor and outdoor fascilities. The only negative from our stay was the price of treatments. These are by far the most expensive i have ever seen. Would highly recommend this hotel and we'll certainly visit again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paulfrom International

not really a 5 star service hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a international traveler staying at countless 5 star resorts, I was disappointed with the level of service you would expect from a 5 star rated hotel in terms of amenities and attention to detail. For those looking for the usual 5 star service, you will not find it at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com