Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Soz from London

Nice hotel but disappointing room

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Food and staff
Cons: The damp in the room and don't charge for a sea view if you don't have one, it's dishonest.
The hotel was nice, the food was great and the staff friendly. Unfortunately the room smelled strongly of damp and it kept me awake. Also I paid for a sea view but didn't get one. Overall the trip was a bit of a disappointment because of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by roger from northampton

Lovely location .

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: It's all very nice !
Cons: 0
Oh we had a fantastic week end & will most certainly return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in characterful hotel with wonderful views

Posted Mar 17, 2014
my husband and I took a short break, taking advantage of advance reduced rates - we wanted a hotel with character, with sea views, and space for our dog - we got it all, with a fantastic meal on the first night to boot. The staff were friendly and accommodating, although staff at breakfast could have taken a bit more care (had to go find them to order, then find them again for butter) but the room views and the comfort of the bed were just what we were looking for. Our dog got care too, with a blanket for him to sleep on and his own towels for muddy paws - very thoughtful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by televisionsover from Melton Mowbray

Looks great, but fails to deliver.

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
As we were only staying one night we booked a "Superior" room in what looks like, and in fairness, is a very attractive building. The room was large, comfortable and had a super king bed so everything looked good. Then the rain started. Now it gets rather wet and windy on the North Norfolk Coast but we didn't expect the rain to come in the top of the window in a "superior" room - let the Chinese Water Torture begin! We told the staff about this and were given some towels to put on the window ledge and told that "All the rooms are like that - it’s an old building!". It's just over 100 years old, so not that old, after all, The Tower of London has windows that fit! We went out for a walk and got rather wet - time for a hot bath. No hot water. Enough was enough - we asked what could be done and we were transferred into a smaller room down the corridor with a smaller bed, etc., but at least the windows didn't leak! The water was only tepid. We waited an hour - still cold. It was cold in the morning too so we packed and left for home without sampling breakfast, so we can't comment on that. We were really looking forward to a bit of luxury but this place was a joke. Top tip to the owners: more hot running water in the pipes and less cold running water down the walls!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markw from Essex

Great getaway

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were always helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent also. Would definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel, service and location.

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The service was brilliant, our room was really comfy and clean and the location, well the view from the back of the hotel to the sea says it all. You can easily walk down to the beach and walk over to Cromer (probably a good 30min walk). Just a word to the wise for technophiles... there is no phone reception in the area/ hotel, so if you want a break from it all.. it's perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family of 3 from Essex

beautiful location

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
amazing location on the cliff top with easy access to the beautiful beach below. shame it was raining else we would have booked another day. hotel was much cheaper to book through hotels.com than the best rate they could do over phone - even allowed us to specify the room # we required. We stayed for dinner which was nice but not fantastic for the price and they did seem to be a little understaffed, service was a bit slow and they forgot to put through part of the order. It wasn't bad, just should have been better for the price. I also felt Ill that evening but can't confirm it was the hotel food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NS from Cambridge

Impressive building with fine cliff top sea views

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good stay. The interior is impressive with extensive wood panelling and beams. Comfortable and spacious (although it wasn't full at the time of visit). Service was ok - friendly staff. A bit pricey for out of season - both accommodation and food prices. The sea view from the room was excellent and it was great to be able to open the windows and hear the waves crashing on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Great hotel. On top of the cliff.

Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Sea Marge has a fantastic view out to sea, the building is a lovely mock tudor, you could play bowls on the lawn. Staff very helpful, lovely room, nice breakfast. Close to nice beaches at Mundesley and Mary Jane's fsh and chips in Cromer. You can walk down from the garden to the beach!