Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warrington

Not as good as the reviews had led me to believe.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Not a lot. Expensive for drinks and food. Wouldnt stay there again. Room was modern but very small with 3/4 bed. Bathroom was clean and compact.
Cons: Mist things. Customer service for a start. Not overly friendly. Needs work doing on it as some of the decor is looking tatty as were the chairs.
Location: Royal Cromer golf course close. Good walks. Beach but shingly. Best beach is at Wells next to the sea.
Very noisy in the evening as it is a Pub. First night not too bad but second night there was lots of banging of doors in the corridor, people talking very loudly outside until 2am - had to have window open as it was so warm in the room., and then woken very early by same person chatting loudly in room next door and telly on. Service in the restaurant was poor as insufficient staff and there were loads of flies in the restaurant as there were no air conditioning units around, so all the doors, including fire doors, were propped open to create a draft. This led to flies everywhere. They were stil there at breakfast and there was butter and sugar uncovered on the tables, so not very hygienic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Lovely room, very friendly staff and wonderful food (we ate breakfast and dinner). We stayed with three groups of friends for two nights and were delighted. Our bathroom was quite narrow but that's the only thing we could say wasn't perfect. Would highly recommend and definitely stay again. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L Barreto from Cambridge

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted May 30, 2014
Had a great stay at the White Horse and found the prices reasonable. Thought the manager was fantastic at remembering our preferences and was very welcoming. Our only negative comment would be that our room was not refreshed very quickly the second day as the cleaner appeared to have other priorities (leaving work early). Our room was not serviced until 2/3pm even though we had left the room at 8.30am, on return to our room the cleaner had also left her in key in the door which I felt was a security issue for our belongings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tricky from northampton

Close to beach

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Restaurant was very good for an evening meal as was the breakfast.
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Cromer and North Norfolk coast
Tired room, shower could be cleaner, bed comfy. Very friendly staff. This is also a local pub with some noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A Great stay!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for three nights for a family birthday. The hotel was perfect for our stay. James and Lucy could not do enough for us. even ordering special food for our breakfast the next day. Nothing was a problem for them. We made to feel welcome and special. Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Leicester, UK

Quiet location close to the coast

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The warm and accommodating welcome given to both ourselves and our dog - very pet friendly!
Cons: Speed of service for the evening meal was slightly slow
Location: Beach walks with the dog. Cromer and Sheringham both close by.
A great venue for exploring the area where we received a warm welcome and found the hotel to be nicely furnished, clean and welcoming of our dog! The bedroom had everything we needed for a one-night stay and the food - both evening meal and breakfast - was of a high quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lovethebeach from Herts/Essex

Family friendly Inn

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The White Horse was a real find for us as it has a family room that sleeps 5. This was our primary reason for booking, but we really couldn't fault anything. The room was spacious, as was the en-suite (lovely hot shower), clean, and accommodated the 5 of us no problem. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice, as was the evening meal on the Saturday. Overstrand is really quiet, there is a murmur of pub noise downstairs but it didn't bother us, and this was early on anyway. The staff were very helpful and polite, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from Hertfordshire

Good base for sightseeing North Norfolk.

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Food is excellent. Menu could be larger.
Cons: Lighting in bathroom insufficient for shaving as caused lots of shadows in mirror
Location: Nice cliff walk to Cromer and beach lovely on a warm sunny day but not much else going on in Overstrand.
Enjoyable visit. Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good place to stay for a short break

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: convenience. quietness, close to sea
Cons: Jus thought referring to free parking was a bit off when should have said free on road parking.
Location: near sea Cromer Felbrigg.
Very helpful staff, lovely food. good shower room was very comfortable will visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Charming property, close to beach

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The White Horse is a lovely property just a couple blocks from the beach. The room was lovely, beds were comfy and hot breakfast was excellent! Charming pub on first floor.