Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Alabama

Great place for first-timers

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The staff was super, especially the manager. Locro de papa (yum). The morning breakfast buffet always had something new to try.
Cons: The water saving toilet was awful. It was constantly clogging. The staff had to unclog it many times. We ended up using the bathroom downstairs a lot.
Location: It was located in old town so it was close to a great many of the great tourist stops and just a block away from the excellent local market.
This hotel was oozing old world charm (it was converted from an 1880s residence), was in a great location and had a terrific staff. The manager (Henry) went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. My wife was feeling very ill one day and he arranged for a competent doctor to drop by and look at her, then one of his helpers went to the pharmacy to fill his prescriptions. He arranged a guided trip to the nearby national park (Cajas) for a reasonable price. The restaurant had the best locro de papa that we had there. All in all, it was a great experience. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel full of character, with great staff

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: We liked the room, the character of the hotel, the staff, the breakfast - pretty much everything
Cons: Nothing - the noisy road can't be moved!
Location: Very well located, within the historic centre, so everything is within walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay in Los Balcones very much. The hotel has enormous atmosphere - it's built round a central courtyard, with lovely wooden floors, antique furniture and a splendid chandelier in the centre. The lobby is very comfortable, and there's a nice terrace where you have breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful: they spoke good English and were full of good advice about excursions and travel, helping us to get a long-distance taxi. The room was extremely comfortable: spacious and well-equipped, with an iPod dock etc. The bathroom was a little box-like - showers are rather low, so be careful if you're tall! - but they are clean, and the jacuzzi shower was great. The only thing is that our room was near one of the main road, so there was quite a lot of traffic noise during the day, but it quietened down at night and didn't disturb our sleep. The advantage of this is that it's within excellent walking distance of the centre - it's pretty much in the heart of things. The free breakfast buffet is very nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2015
great place, good location, very attentive staff. good breakfast buffet, and the onsite restaurant is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Rochelle

Posted Jun 10, 2015
un hotel tres bien situé pres du centre ville.Le personnel est au petit soins de la clientèle.La maison de style coloniale est pleine de charme.Une petite bibliothèque permet d assouvir ses besoins de lecture en Anglais.Bref cet hotel est un véritable boutique hotel ou il est agréable de séjourner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Cute boutique hotel near Cuenca sites!

Posted May 25, 2015
Charming little hotel with a great staff! I speak a bit of Spanish, but all the front desk reps were able to converse in English. My room was very comfy and clean. I very much enjoyed my stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel right in old town Cuenca

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: the special box of chocolates in the room when we arrived. The breakfast was plentiful with multiple choices.
Cons: Had a lot of trouble with the WiFi. Had to go to the breakfast room anytime I wanted to get onto my iPad.
The staff was fabulous. They were helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julio Angel from Bronx, NYC

Outstanding

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding..The staff were incredibly helpful..and very professional and friendly..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Walter T from Portland, OR

A beautiful bit of Cuenca

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, very very good. My last day the WIFI would not work, and there was no hot water in the hotel. So, on the morning I departed for the airport, I was unable to take a shower because it was only cold water. Additionally the beds are not very comfortable. Outside of that, the staff is marvelous...very helpful. Breakfast was great, the dinner menu and food are wonderful, the hotel is absolutely beautiful. So, mixed review but I would definitely return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

6 Days

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location down town close to local site seeing and banks,markets ,shops and bus's if you take them. I took a day trip to Chordeleg,they arranged .
Cons: lower level rooms # 1 , #2 very noisy due to street level and shops below rooms ,avoid if possible.
Location: Within blocks of the main square ,all the church's ,markets , cafes, banks and food markets . You can easily walk or take a taxi (cheap in town)or bus
I had planned to stay 2 days ,but due to a non response of another trip advisor booking (400.00 prepay) I was able to stay on at this very lovely and friendly hotel. This family run home is well placed for local walkabouts. They have an in house cafe (the best octopus salad ever) and very helpful staff. The best room is # 10 top floor ,you can see the roof top blue domes from the central square. The upper floors and west side are the most quite . Breakfast is good and filling.All the staff are excellent English speaking and VERY willing to help. They also offer an option for extended stays. I will be back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ragnhild from Maura

Flott og koselig hotell sentralt i gamlebyen

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Utrolig flott og koselig hotell sentralt i gamlebyen. Serviceminded og koselig personale som snakket bedre engelsk enn de fleste vi møtte i Ecuador. Litt vansker med wifi, ellers alt perfekt