Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Juan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, New Jersey

Charming and relaxing.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: I loved the decor, the architecture and the attentive staff. Its location and the fact that free parking is available is also a huge plus!
Cons: Some of the bathroom fixtures were a little worn (NOT to the point of unacceptable) but could use replacement. All was fully functional and clean.
Location: Location is great! Very close to most of Cuenca's most popular attractions: Plaza Abdon Calderon, the New Cathedral, tons of shops and restaurants!
From the moment we walked in, we felt welcomed. The staff was friendly and attentive and explained everything we needed to know right off the bat (restaurant and bar hours, breakfast hours, wifi password...) without having to ask. This was refreshing as most hotels I've stayed in, both in the U.S. and abroad, I feel that it's often left to the guest to ask for this basic information. Never had a smoother check-in! When we were shown to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the staff had gone out of their way to set a nice relaxing mood. The TV was set to a "chill" music station, the room was softly lit and there were chocolates on the beautifully made bed. Additionally, shortly after our arrival, complimentary "welcome cocktails" were brought up to our room. All very nice touches. The entire hotel has an intimate and relaxing feel to it. The decor definitely plays a huge part in creating this ambience as it compliments its late 1800's early 1900's architecture. This attention to detail is best experienced in the sitting room that is open to all guests located on the second floor. Additionally, the hotel is situated just a short walk from all of the main points of interest in the city. So you can just walk and enjoy all the city has to offer. Overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Hôtel bien situé

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: On a aimé l'emplacement
Cons: Le système d'extraction des odeurs des cuisines
Location: L'hôtel est à un bloc de la cathédrale
Nous avons eu la chambre 204 surtout ne la prenez jamais ni celle d'a côté la 205. Dans notre chambre, la fenêtre donnait sur le système d'extraction des cuisines qui date d'après la guerre (!!!) ce qui fait que dans la chambre on avait l'impression qu'on jouait du tambour sans retenue, il était impossible de s'entendre. Du coup on a demandé que le système soit arrête ce a quoi on nous a dit on fait le nécessaire, cela c'est arrêté quelque minutes puis c'est reparti de plus belle, mon mari est redescendu pour leur dire de stopper ou de nous changer de chambre, plutôt que de changer notre chambre ils ont stopper le système de ventilation des cuisines ce qui fait qu'à l'heure du dîner, le restaurant et les escaliers qui montent aux chambres étaient irrespirables cela sentait les grillades et la friture c'était terrible et on a vécu avec ça pendant nos 3 nuits dans cet hôtel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great hotel close to the main town square

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location, service, cleanliness, great buffet breakfast, amenities, interior decoration, very comfortable beds.
Cons: The building doesn't have an elevator but I don't know if it's possible to install one, given it is a historical nineteenth century mansion.
Location: It is in the heart of Cuenca with many plazas, churches, museums, the flower market, Inca ruins all within walking distance from the hotel.
Felt in the lap of luxury as soon as we arrived. Staff treats you like royalty and the building is a remodeled 19th century mansion where you feel like you are the owner. The restaurant has a double menu, local and Italian cuisine, both very well prepared. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary on our trip to Cuenca and not only fell in love with the city and the hotel but also with each other again. Every evening the maid would bring courtesy chocolate sweets to our room. Room service is great. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I wish I had stayed longer

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Very friendly staff - great breakfast and a quirky building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and first class service

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the staff, full breakfast and the Location are great.
Location: Cathedral, artisan markets, great architecture and shopping.
Beautiful old hotel with classic colonial touches. The staff is helpful and very professional . They go out of their way to make sure your stay is first class in every way. Perfect location in the heart of historic Cuenca.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pablo from Bogota

Clasico y Elegante

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Excelente en todo sentido. El restaurante es de lo mejor en CUenca.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Don from Canada

This Hotel needs to be on your to do list!

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great place and location. Make sure you bring a good camera so you can show friends and family the beauty and furniture of the past. The staff is exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allschwil

Schoenes Kolonialhotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Das Gebaeude, die Einrichtung, die Atmosphaere.
Cons: Darauf hinweisen, dass die Fenster der Zimmer auf einen gedeckten Innenhof gehen.
Location: Ich habe einfach keine Zeit immer so ausfuehrliche Bewertungen abzugeben. Bitte, gestalten Sie Ihren Bewertungsbogen neu.
Liegt wunderbar im kolonialen Stadtteil an bester Lage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels