Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Reading, UK

Good value for money

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Excellent value for money
Location: Very close to the main cathedral square. You must visit Marias German bakery just a couple of roads up towards the cathedral, the food is outstanding
The hotel is small but very pleasant, close to everything in the historico centro. We had room 302 which has two double beds in with not much more room besides, the bathroomwas also small but adequate. The hotel staff were really helpful and when we had a change of plans the hotel was really accommodating, we couldn't have asked for better. The hotelis excellent value for money, we saw some of the other rooms which were much bigger but of course cost more...you pays your money etc. It was a very nice stay. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brandon, Canada

Gorgeous Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Lovely lobby and friendly bilingual staff.
Cons: Softer pillows and a ceiling fan for air movement.
Location: Perfect location and close to everything.
You could not have more accomodating staff combined with a great breakfast and lovely setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camano Island, Wa. USA

comfortable and close to the action

Posted Jan 28, 2015
friendly staff, nice breakfast each day, and within easy walking distance of most of the cities core site seeing attractions and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by gil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrewfrom Australia

4 nights in old Cuenca

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Casa San Raphael is well located in Cuencas old city. It is a large old house converted to a hotel and is quite charming. Reception is always helpful and friendly with generally good English. Breakfasts were simple but very good and served by the smiling maids. Our criticisms relate to our room, which was quite small with little room for our bags. The bed, though comfortable had poor pillows. The floors creaked badly. No ceiling fan, A/C or windows meant our room was stuffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisvill, CO

Beautiful Colonial Restoration

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Ambiance and kindness of staff
Location: Close to the central plaza and lots of restaurants. Safe location with lots of interesting places within reasonable walking distance. Taxis ubiquitous
This was the first hotel for me arriving in Cuenca and it provided the rest my body needed. The interior finish and furnishings are truly beautiful. Because it is an old colonial structure the floors squeak, which for me is charming but could annoy if quiet is expected. The noise level infiltrating from the street was typical South American big city, but mostly died down after 10:00 (I am assuming since I sleep with earplugs). I was fortunate to be sharing the hotel with other quiet guests, but if people were noisy you would likely hear them. My room had a double bed, desk and armoire. It was tight. Very nice shower with good hot water flow. Sweet little balcony with flowers. Coffee or tea available all day. Typical but tasty breakfast included (for me that was fruit with yogurt, juice, toast and scrambled eggs. The entire staff was helpful and very pleasant. English is spoken if needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josephfrom Virgina

A Very, Very Special Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel Casa San Rafel was Muy Bien! We loved the Cuenca culturally rich interior design, the authentic and genuine friendliness of the staff,and the perfect location-so accessible to all the main tourist sites. The rooms and the entire hotel are very clean, and the quality of service is "second to none"! Hotel Casa San Rafel is very unique as it not a "chain hotel" it is privately owned and they treat you as family, always wanting to please you - to make you "feel at home". When we return to Cuenca we know where we are staying, my concern will be availability because there is no doubt many people feel the way we do about this fabulous hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Powell, Ohio, USA

Unbelievably helpful staff!

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay at Hotel Casa San Rafael. Rooms were clean and elegant (and had Direct TV), breakfast was great, and the staff was exemplary - helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location-centrally located in Old Town Cuenca. One incident that stands out. I forgot my credit card at the hotel desk, and then I proceeded to the airport (I did not know the card was missing). The staff member from Hotel Casa San Rafael drove to the airport, and hand-delivered the credit card to me when I was at the security counter at the airport. Unbelievable. Needless to say, I was extremely grateful. The best example of exemplary hotel service in all my years of travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff was so welcoming and helpful. Each day they helped make travel arrangements or reservations. A great warm environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

cuenca visit

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are small and rooms facing the street are noisy. A very nice breakfast is served and staff are all friendly. The hotel is a short walk to the center of old town.