Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camano Island, Wa. USA

comfortable and close to the action

Posted Jan 28, 2015
friendly staff, nice breakfast each day, and within easy walking distance of most of the cities core site seeing attractions and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisvill, CO

Beautiful Colonial Restoration

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Ambiance and kindness of staff
Location: Close to the central plaza and lots of restaurants. Safe location with lots of interesting places within reasonable walking distance. Taxis ubiquitous
This was the first hotel for me arriving in Cuenca and it provided the rest my body needed. The interior finish and furnishings are truly beautiful. Because it is an old colonial structure the floors squeak, which for me is charming but could annoy if quiet is expected. The noise level infiltrating from the street was typical South American big city, but mostly died down after 10:00 (I am assuming since I sleep with earplugs). I was fortunate to be sharing the hotel with other quiet guests, but if people were noisy you would likely hear them. My room had a double bed, desk and armoire. It was tight. Very nice shower with good hot water flow. Sweet little balcony with flowers. Coffee or tea available all day. Typical but tasty breakfast included (for me that was fruit with yogurt, juice, toast and scrambled eggs. The entire staff was helpful and very pleasant. English is spoken if needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfrom Denver

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
very old, unique hotel. Downtown a short walk, plenty of places to eat - staff recommendations were excellent. Parking not what I expected, arrangement with a nearby (50 meters away) lot. Lot personnel recently changed so there was some discussion regarding rates but hotel staff squared charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Markus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Suefrom Upstate, NY

Great but hard bed

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is exceptional, the room was a bit noisy and the curtains did not darken completely, and the bed was hard. Love the coffee available in the lobby in the morning! Though, I need milk, the desk clerk got me some. Still, the pluses outweigh the negatives,and I would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel which is good located

Posted May 12, 2014
The hotel is very close to all the sightseeings (walkin distance) and in a safe area. Staff is very friendly. A bit nosy from the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robfrom New York City

The ultimate alternative to a big box hotel

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want a hotel with charm, look no further. This hotel has a family feel and they were super helpful with all requests. Though I'm sure the high end hotels may have staff with better English, I'm not sure they will be as memorable. Located close to the center of the city this hotel was super convenient for all that Cuenca has to offer. When booking, I saw complaints about street noise. Our room had a balcony an yes, there was some street noise, but late at night the streets are dead and pretty quiet. If you are sensitive to that kind of thing, bring ear plugs, but I live in a big city back home so I didn't notice the street noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James Bfrom Las Vegas

Conveniently Located in Old Town

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I traveled as a single on business to finish my wife and my details with our attorney to complete our residency process and to look for a home or condo to lease. It was an easy walk to both the realtor 's and attorney's office. In fact, I only needed a cab to and from the airport. In my 3 nights and three days. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom New York, NY

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just 3 short blocks to the square in Parque Calderon, just 5 blocks to Calle Larga, everything is close by in the tourist center of Cuenca.
A very charming and quaint hotel right in the middle of the heart of Cuenca, Hotel Casa San Rafael was probably our favorite hotel during our 2 week stay in Ecuador. We checked in right after our 6:15AM flight from Quito landed in Cuenca at 7:30AM. The room was ready for us when we arrived. Mr. Bolivar was manning the front at the time and gave me helpful directions to the laundry so I could wash our clothes from earlier in our trip. The room was very old-school and charming and felt like it was from the home of an old farmhouse. The decor of the hotel was similarly old-school and charming. The bed was nice and firm and the bathroom facilities were comfortable. The front door was always securely locked and required us to buzz the desk to be let in. The hotel is family owned and the other members of the front desk were family and they were all so helpful in getting us taxis, making our breakfasts, giving us wake up calls and Mr. Bolivar even made us a little breakfast on the day we did our Nariz del Diablo and Ingapirca daytour even though we were being picked up before breakfast typically got served (at 7AM). We would definitely come back.