Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The room was large
Cons: There were only 2 straight back chairs in the room. A more comfortable sofa would be very nice.
Location: Conveniently located in downtown Cuenca. Close to everything
Everything had to ordered through the front desk. No hair dryer in the room unless you requested it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel near the city center.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Good quality hotel near the city center square Park Calderon. Walking distance to many tourist points of interest for culture, history, language schools, shopping, ATMs and taxis. The staff is very attentive with most being bilingual. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate in a setting of a top floor dining room with views of the city which is very nice. Furnishings and decor a bit dated, but sturdy and clean. The large bed was comfortable. Bathroom good size. Two down sides are the elevator does not run down to the ground floor. It starts at the second floor and goes to the top floor. If a person has mobility problems, then this would not be the place to stay. Second problem on occasion is the noise from car alarms and the fire siren that go off during the night. No sleeping through either of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhoman360 from LA

Nice hotel, noisy city

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff & passable breakfast(included)
Cons: Exterior noise from car alarms
Location: Great location in old town near main square.
Santa Monica Hostal was upscale hotel in Cuenca. I don't speak much Spanish, and sometimes it was difficult communicaing with staff, but that's more my problem then theirs. However, since there are a number of Americans visiting Cuenca, they may consider some English lessons for their staff. The room was very nice, however, I couldn't find any thermostat, ergo A/C or heating controls. Apparently, since the weather is cool there year-round 60-75 degrees, I guess they figure just open your patio slider to cool off the room. The only problem is that apparently Cuenca is "car alarm" capital of the world(I've been to 21 countries so I have some expertise in this). There was a constant barrage of alarm beeps thruout the weekend, some even beep continuously while they're in the alarm mode. I was on the 5th floor, but it was still very annoying. Maybe, nothing the hotel can control, but something Cuencanos might consider controlling, i.e."noise pollution" just as damaging as other types to "livability index".
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jesus F

An average hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels
Room was cold and had Wi-Fi problems. I could not connect from my room. The personnel that works there are very friendly and they try to help, but some things are beyong their control.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mark

Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is very fine except that most of the rooms face the street and there is continual street noise though the night and the windows have to be open for comfort at night because there was no air conditioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian

Nice hotel in a lovely city

Posted Apr 29, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed our four nights here over Easter. The staff were very helpful and friendly even though we spoke almost no Spanish. The breakfast was good and the view from the top floor room where it was served was outstanding. They even had English Premier League Football on the telly one day! V central location...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alabama

5 Star Service

Posted Dec 1, 2011 on Hotels
This is our second stay at this hotel. We love it here and would not stay at any other hotel in Cuenca! Staff and owner are always smiling, customer service is incredible....It feels like home from the day we arrive until we leave. Thank you Monica, Claudia and the rest of your amazing staff. We can't wait to return!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

sugerencia

Posted Apr 15, 2011 on Hotels
Por favor mejorar la señal de la TV Agua caliente en la ducha, son cositas que fallaron un poco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

santa monica hotel down town cuenca

Posted Mar 26, 2011 on Hotels
this is a very central hotel for Cuenca near to manyof the sites, the staff are all helpful and caring there are lovely views from the top of the hotel