Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to town, pubs and restaurants.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pleasant stay. Friendly and helpful owners who made a beautiful breakfast and always made us feel welcome and happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris P from p

Perfect

Posted Feb 24, 2014
This was just a perfect break. Located within a very short stroll the the centre. The hosts were absolutely faultless. Breathtaking home, with great rooms that were superbly clean throughout. We will be back as soon as we can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bed and breakfast!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Excellent bed and breakfast. Lovely hosts! We'll be sure to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JB from Yorkshire

Great Hosts and Fabulous Breakfast

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This B&B is ideally placed for the centre of Penrith. The bedrooms have all the usual facilities necessary and are of a very good quality.Robes are provided for comfort. I slept like a log and the breakfast choice was superb and so well cooked. The host are lovely and welcoming and I will certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Katy from Buckinghamshire

Convenient position

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
No complaints, we would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hannah from Durham

Extremely welcoming

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable bed, great location & fantastic breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P n D from Ontario, Canada

Fine base for the Lake District

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Location: Penrith is a fine starting point for touring the Lake District. There are several good places to eat within easy walking distance.
Mel and Laney are delightfully friendly and helpful hosts. They provided us with a spotlessly clean room and splendid breakfasts. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent place to stay, quiet location, but only minutes away from town centre. The guest house was in very good condition, very friendly and welcoming. Would have no problem staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice guest house in the centre of Penrith

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Lovely guest house, room was comfortable and owners were very nice. Great cooked full English breakfast the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walden from USA

A perfectly fine option for Penrith

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Great breakfasts, accommodating hosts, large bed, manageable parking
Cons: Rooms are a bit on the small side by some standards but not a big problem.
Location: You are 30 minutes from the heart of the western lakes at Keswick. Penrith itself has only a ruined castle to recommend it as a tourist destination.
Brandlehow is a townhouse near the center of the market town of Penrith. Not a whole lot to see in Penrith itself although decent dining options are within walking distance of the B&B but it makes for a good base to explore the area. The rooms are a bit on the small side but are well appointed. Free on-street parking means a small schlep from your car to the hotel and then up the stairs but those logistics are manageable. The hosts, Mel and Laney, are delightful and quite accommodating. We used this as our base for exploring the Lake District and in retrospect that meant adding a 30 minute drive to and from wherever we were exploring, so perhaps Penrith is not the best location for that kind of trip. But the B&B itself is quite nice and if Penrith makes sense to you then Brandlehow will make sense as well.