Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by johny from newcastle

good service

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam

Quirky

Posted Oct 1, 2013
The previous reviews of this hotel are mixed, and it seems quite apparent why this is so. Brandraw is quirky in a number of ways. If you're ok with that then it's a nice place; if not then you won't like it. The building looks like a grand Victorian landowner's house which was sub-divided into bedrooms. Lots of dark wood everywhere - fixtures, doors, floors, everything. This and the high ceilings gives it an Addams Family vibe. The proprietor likewise seems slightly odd, though after chatting to him for a while I discovered that there is actually a benign and very understandable reason for this (not my place to say what that is though). The rooms are scrupulously clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent, and the facilities are good for a family-run B&B. The proprietor's religious beliefs are obvious from the decorations in the public areas, but doesn't intrude in the rooms themselves - unless you count a Book of Mormon next to the ubiquitous Gideons' Bible. All-in-all a perfectly fine place to stay, and as the cheapest B&B in the area not an unattractive option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Awesome View

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very homely, not the ritz but very pleasant. The staff were very welcoming and attentive to your needs. Would stay again.
1 out of 5
by Amin from Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK

Very poor experience

Posted May 11, 2013
Very dissapointing experience. Not recommend to anyone. The behaviour of the reception manager was very rude
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stuart & Michelle from Cambridgeshire

A lovely stay

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly, pleasant and helpful owner. Wonderful wide range of choices for breakfast. A very clean and spacious room with a lovely view of Skiddaw. A good base for visiting family in Aspatria. Thank you for a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harry's Dad from Leeds

A very friendly B&B

Posted Mar 11, 2013
A great B&B run by the very friendly and helpful owners. Nothing was too much trouble for Robert and he made us feel very welcome. Good value for money and a lovely breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Twin bed rooms

Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
I booked a twin bed room and found accomodation to be less than average. There was no television & no control for room heating and the shower was shared with another room. I think it is a big house converted into a hotel and the other rooms might be good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Excellent Experience

Posted Jul 28, 2010
This hotel ticks all the right boxes. It's not owned by a national or international corporation which makes the entire experience so much more interesting and comforting, many examples of which were discovered during our three night stay. The hotel is styled with cultural photographs, paintings and other inanimate objects that are symbolic to the owner's beliefs it seems, which in my books is far more captivating than a typical beige-coloured hallway with nothing to admire but the doors that you might find in hotels run by corporations. The service is personalised but not unprofessional. They will answer all your questions thoroughly and confidently with clear knowledge of the surrounding areas. The breakfast meals are delicious, there is a menu to select your own personalised breakfast from, which is cooked up to a high standard served in a clean, exquisite dining room at a time of your choosing. The room I stayed in was as good as you may ask for, for the price you are paying. For a very competitve rate, we received a twin bedroom with a cupboard, a reasonably sized bathroom with many towels and the expected toiletries, very comfy beds and a little golden trolley with a kettle, many sachets of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, glasses, bottle of water, biscuits and cookies - even J20 bottles. Far more than just a room with beds in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Late District - it offers all the thrills with none of the spills.