Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West

Lovely area but hotel very dated!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, parking, balcony with room
Cons: the decor
Location: The town of Grange is within walking distance and this includes train station. A short drive will bring you to the lakes!
We stayed here to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel itself is very dated and need of some updating, carpets worn, walls marked and with a strange odour as you walk the corridors. The room was OK, clean but again dated with mahogany furnishings (all marked/scratched) and green stripy wallpaper?? The room had some character with a small balcony and sash windows. The breakfast was good with a nice choice; toast and hot drinks were prepared by the staff whilst we went to the buffet which is great. There was no one around when we checked out to say how disappointed we were but maybe that's deliberate; just a box on reception for keys! Like I said we were attending a wedding so didn't spend too much time at the hotel. The Grange hotel where we attended the wedding was far superior if you can spend a few more pounds!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL 1970-

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Location, building, views
Cons: Management
Location: Well located for southertn Lakes
130 yr old Grand Hotel, lots of character but run by (friendly) staff for their benefits, rubbish everywhere in grounds. Looked like the manager had left months before..............
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great looking hotel but

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice looking but in need of a more speedy refurbishment. Smelly bathroom (stagnant water) not well dusted. It looks a bit run down in the flesh. There is a notice saying it's being refurbed but when???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Diamond wedding anniversary

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Plenty of lounges to sit and read in for the older guests
Cons: Reception in the dining room seems a little hit and miss
Location: Grange over Sands still has the air of Edwardian Elegance, gardens and promenade. The lake District is on the doorstep
We went to the Grand 60 years ago for our honeymoon, not a lot had changed except the decorations. We had a sea view room looking across Morecambe Bay. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast plentiful, dinner, a carvery, so-so, Some of the furnishings in the various lounges looked a little tired .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

warm welcome

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Staff made us feel welcome from the start and went out their way to help. Excellent food and good entertainment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Cath from UK

Beautiful building in stunning location

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
What a beautiful building! At £43 including breakfast I wasn't expecting much. Although the ground floor room was tired, there were notices up regarding imminent refurbishment. The public areas are lovely with a vast bar with elevated bay views on three sides. Reception and bar staff were professional and friendly. Breakfast is an excellent standard for buffet. There was a queue despite empty tables and the staff seemed a little frantic but again very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if guests plan to use the bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

the Gibsons review

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
we really enjoyed our stay for the weekend,it was relaxing and calm,and stress free.never been there before and was pleasantly surprised it was only 13 miles from junction 36 on the m6.will probably go again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Food

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Cons: Investigate the food
The food was beyond horrible. I am not even sure how to explain the horrific things I tried to place in my mouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chris from Carlisle

Great get away

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Great to relax total enjoyment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Manchester

Good value hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Booked last minute for walking weekend. Although seating areas bit in need of decor the dining room was spacious with lovely views over the estuary. Breakfast was excellent. Bedroom was clean,comfortable and spacious. Very good value for money.