Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

May have been "Grand" a couple of centuries ago.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel was empty and I do mean empty. We had to pay extra to be moved from basement rooms to rooms facing the sea. This is bad customer relations to say the least. After being shown the room and told it would be an extra twenty pounds I was asked "do you want it or not"? Never a good start.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern Ireland

Very "run down " condition.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Lovely area and hotel in beautiful settings
Cons: Paint work updated .trained staff. Gardens and hotel maintenance given attention
Location: Ideal holiday location. Lovely coffee shops and local village. Fairly central for visiting lakes. Need your car for getting around
Surrounding area lovely. Hotel not fit for purpose. Hole in ceiling. Electric wiring dangerously exposed in corridor.Beautiful dining room but food and service
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Victorian Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is one of the Grand Victorian variety. There is a definite feel of past glory ,but efforts are being made at refurbishment. My room was reasonably comfortable, with most normal features, but regretfully with a tiny shower, that was difficult to get in and put of. The staff were polite and efficient and served a fairly good breakfast. I had dinner on one night. this was quite good too. The only problem is that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Grange over Sands is down the road, but now that nature has replaced the beach with salt marsh, there is really no reason to visit this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Nice setting, great view

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Excellent and friendly staff. Excellent room with a great view over the bay. Restaurant food average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Super location

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, and friendly, helpful staff. A good place for a short break close to the southern Lakes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted May 27, 2014
Very tired hotel with many things not what I expected from a £220 room. Would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by GB from UK

Average

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a hotel I would choose again. Corridors with holes in ceiling and grimy walls in need of complete refurbishment. Noisy floorboards in room above are a problem through the night. Dining room and bar area pleasant enough. Bar meal poor. Breakfast OK.
2 out of 5
by michelle from Tennessee

a disappointment.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: its location
Cons: Meals and garden
Location: Its location is convenient ,you can walk to the town and the rooms in the back have a beautiful view . You can watch the tide come in
this hotel was recommended to us by a friend who had been there 10 years ago and had been very impressed by the beauty of the building and garden and raved about the fabulous dinners they served. She went back with us and could not believe the degradation of the place and the poor quality of the meals (after she had raved about them from her previous experience). The garden was a disappointment too and needs a lot of care. I left thinking :"what a pity" !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Christine Haslam from Cumbria

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Took my mother for a mother's day treat. Had lovely meal in the hotel restaurant, followed by walk in the grounds then as there was an arts and craft fair on we had a good stroll around the stalls. An sea view room with fabulous view across the bay was the perfect end to the day. A cooked breakfast next morning sent us on our way very satisfied. Would stay at this hotel again.