Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Arrived 5 min past 9 and was told we can't come in

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We came to Windermere from London and the road was very bad that day so we called up the hotel saying we will be late, however the lady over the phone insist that check in closes at 9 and wouldn't give any room for negotiation. She became grumpy in the end starting to scream at us. My husband drove at 90mph once traffic was cleared and we made it at 9:05pm. She was waiting for us at the glass door but as soon as she see me approaching she said I can't come in and turned away. To be fair she let us in after all but that's after me feeling humiliated, wasn't impressed at all. What was even more disappointing is, the room was terrible. It was small, damp with some funny smell off a dark dirty corridor. I've been to many B&Bs around UK but this one is in an outstandingly bad condition. The breakfast was ok ish, location is good which is the only plus about this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Centrally located, very convenient for buses etc

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Very enjoyable stay, friendly helpful staff, good quality well cooked food. Would definitely return if holidaying in this area again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not as expected

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked a king room online, and when we were called to check what time we would be arriving it was mentioned that a twin room had been made up for us and that this would not be rectified. Upon arrival, we couldn't get anyone to answer the door to the b&b and eventually some other guests came to let us in, we then had to stand in the hallway trying to find someone to check us in. Following this we were shown to an an annex that was a bit cold, damp and had an odd smell. The room was a little dirty (dirty tissues by the side of the bed, dirty tiles and floor in the bathroom) however other wise basic but perfectly functional. Breakfast was also good despite the rules to have either full English or continental options. All in all if you need somewhere basic in the lakes at short notice this was fine, but not great value for money. I'd have been happier if the price had matched the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MJfrom Kent

Very good

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed 3 nights. Nice clean hotel and very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary Francesfrom MD

Great room and convenient location

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are few B and B's in the area that offer two beds in one room. Our hostess assisted us on several occasions with travel options, directions and a hard to locate destination in the National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephfrom Rugby

A very good B&B

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at Elim House. Judith was friendly and helpful. We were lucky to find on street parking just outside the gate. Otherwise parking might be a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Porthcawl

Nice guest house in reasonable location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: A rack in the shower would be useful.
We had a small double room, which had all we required. The breakfast and staff were excellent. Parking is very limited, but we managed to get a private space for 2 days. It's located just off the end of the shops up the hill in Bowness, so the restaurants and the lake are just a short walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to what we needed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: our room needed up dating but i was ok for what we needed
Location: it was ideal short walk from things
welcoming owner hotel ok good breakfast would go back again
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com