Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Lovely guest house! A walk away from the Lake.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We had an absolutely brilliant time here. The house was lovely, the bedrooms were well maintained and very modern. Clean bedding, towels and refreshments everyday. Loved the little extras in our room (chocolates, homemade biscuits). There is a wide variety of breakfasts, we personally loved the full English! A great position for all the great attractions, 15 mins walk away from the local shops, cinema and the lake Windemere. And for those brave enough to do the Tree Top Trek, you're only 10 mins away in the car or you can catch the nearby cruise to Brockhole. Pete couldn't do enough to help us, whether it was tips for places to eat or directions for attractions. We will definitely be returning to our Geordie friends soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent all round

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: friendly, little touches like home made cakes, lemon water and biscuits in the room, reasonably priced, comfy bed, best breakfast anywhere!
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Close to the lake, various places to eat nearby.
I don't usually write reviews, but when I get exceptionally good service I do. We were warmly welcomed at the door by Peter who owns and runs the guest house with his wife. Peter explained we'd been upgraded to a luxury room. The room was beautifully decorated and had everything required and a few extra surprises. Luxury rooms include both a shower and bath. The bed was very comfortable. Somehow Baa-bara managed to sneak in the bed too (you will have to visit to understand this one) and ended up coming home with us (A selection of Baa-bara's are available to purchase, be warned if your wife/girlfriend likes cuddly toys). Breakfast was possibly the best I have ever had, a huge choice and lovely personal touches like home made jam. Oh and I didn't mention the cakes and biscuits at reception to help yourself to - simply delicious. Why are you still reading? Book this guest house now before somebody else does! We hope to get back again on our next visit to the lakes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.within walking distance to Lake

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Little gesture such as choices of milk,free cool water,home made biscuits etcThe breakfast on offer were excellent too.
Location: Lovely shops and restaurants within reach. Choices of Lake cruises etc.
Enjoyable stay,pleasant surrounding.Welcoming host and more than surprise with the provisions offered in the room.Attention to detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super comfy stay

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Position , in between Windermere and Bowness.
Cons: Two keys , and a smaller key ring .
You will not be disappointed with your stay at Glenview . Spot on accommodation for a weekend stay in the lake district .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from East Yorkshire, England

Excellent Guest House, excellent location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location (half way between Windermere and Bowness). We parked car on car park and left it until departure. Walked everywhere. Lots to see & do
Cons: Only gripe and it is very minor was that Room 1 grnd floor had 1 large sash window so could not leave it open during the nights which were very warm
Location: Beatrix Potter Centre very close. Lots of eating places in Bowness, Lots of shops in Windermere & Bowness. Had a pleasant boat trip around the lake
Owners very helpful, breakfast very good, room clean and comfortable. We got good nights sleep even though Room 1 looks onto main road. Will book again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated. Attention to detail.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Situation.
Location: Visiting Lake District.
Wonderful hosts. Very helpful with a personal touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Stevenage, Herts

Excellent stay!

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely fantastic service, first time staying and no hesitation to again! Owners were welcoming and friendly, food and room was fantastic - not to mention the most amazing home-made shortbread in the room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Pam from Warwickshire

Fantastic service

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room spotless, comfy bed, beautifully decorated. Only slight disappointment was size of bathroom - bit of a squeeze. Breakfast was excellent and lots of little touches made this one of the best b&bs we've visited. We will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger the Lamb from Are those my feet?

Nee-Nor Nee-Nor!

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: bed and room size, shortbread biscuits, location, dressing table height...
Cons: Fire alarms, people who set off fire alarms, see-through bathroom door
Location: salt & pepper ribs at the local chinese were MIND BLOWING! Ideal for a stroll in Bowness or Windermere.
The bed was ma-HOO-sive and very comfy. So much so, I lost my girlfriend during the night. I briefly thought I'd found her, before realising it was sadly just a firm variety of the million cushions. As our stay was a brief one, we planned to get up fairly early to go and have a walk. Luckily, the guest house obliged and the fire alarms blared out at 8:30, which was confusing. It then went off again shortly after. At this point, we're rather awake and lying in bed, when we hear the rustling of keys in the door as someone attempts to gain access to our room. PANIC! As we clambered for dressing gowns, they seemed to give up trying to enter. Nevertheless, it was a rather harrowing chain of events that we really could have done without at that time of the morning. Housekeeping staff came round later to find out what was setting the alarms off (blatantly checking if we were smoking), but she was very polite, if a little unapologetic. We checked out after our nerves had settled, still without an apology, but with a cookie. As far as we're aware (looking at register), there was only one other guest in the hotel. Hardly a job for Columbo. In a nutshell, our experience was a very positive and lovely one until a blip in the morning, which arguably wasn't the fault of the guest house, but an apology would have been nice.