Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ritesh from Mumbai, India

Very nice experience

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: nice and clean rooms with good breakfast
Location: 20 mins walk from lake...treetops is a must do activity and river cruise is a good experience...nice Spanish and Italian restaurants near the lakeside
very nice B&B, 1st B&B experience for us...20 mins walk from the lake...the owner was very warm in welcoming us and made sure we felt comfortable...extensive breakfast...nice and clean rooms. definitely recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great host and great service mind.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Great host and great service. Feel like as home. Good laction along with many place to eat as we'll as good environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Charming B&B at quiet and central location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Cons: The room was rather small but fine for just staying there overnight. The telly was also very small however as we did not watch it did not matter.
Location: Windermere is easily accessible by train and a great spot to explore the Lake District, by foot, boat or bus.
We had a great time at Holly House, spending two nights there. The owner and staff were great to engage with. The breakfast was really good - particularly loved the fruit salad - and the service was excellent, also accommodating some of our requests, such as a very late lunch order or offering to dry our clothes as we got soaked hiking. The internet connection worked very well and it was great to have the login displayed straight away so we did not even have to ask for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort in the lakes

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Extremely pleasant owner and staff, went out of their way to help. Room was perfect, beautifully decorated in black and white theme. The downstairs dining room was furnished really wee, drapes and chairs all coordinated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient friendly hotel near town centre.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly owner and staff.
Cons: Mattress was rather firm for me.
Location: It is convenient for town centre.
I was received with smiles and friendly outlook by the owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave & Carys from Ceredigion, Mid-Wales

Nice, Quiet, Clean, Awesome Breakfast!

Posted May 18, 2014
My wife and I spent a week at Holly Lodge Guest House beginning on Mayday bank holiday weekend, 2014. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our room which was room 5 on the top floor. The room had a view out over the rooftops and a lovely skylight in the ceiling. The room was immaculate on arrival. The included breakfast was fantastic on a daily basis. I highly recommend both the full breakfast and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon at least once during your stay. There was plenty of choice and service was excellent even on busy days. The building itself is on a quiet side street, just off the main road in the centre of Windermere, which means you get the benefit of being within 2-3 minute walk of some really lovely shops and places to eat, but without the noise of passing cars. Bowness and Lake Windermere are about 10-15 mins walk. There are plenty of really nice walks nearby with some gorgeous views of the lake, surrounding hills and beautiful countryside. We would definitely stay at the Holly Lodge Guest House again. The service was exceptional and we had a genuinely lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gaurav from London

Good location, very tidy n decorated room

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location, Personal assistance, smiling n very affectionate staff..
Excellent location, rooms decorated with high quality furniture, great staff, personal support & ready to help. Overall a wow stay.... 5 stars...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'm not a regular traveller but....

Posted Apr 19, 2014
My experience of the hotel helped make my holiday. Booked around 10 days in advance, I was contacted by the owner to arrange my check in time. The room was brilliant, the hotel is well placed and parking provided, which is a big bonus. I will be returning, excellent value for money and the breakfast was spot on!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from P

Great base to discover The Lake District

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Great base from which to Discover The Lake District. Very clean, well presented Guest House with friendly, professional, approachable owner. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ang from Midlands

Beautiful accomodation.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and comfort.
Cons: Parking was very tight, however I realise there is not much can be done about this.
Location: Very quiet town, however it is the winter! Just down the road in Bowness it is a bit busier. Beautiful boat rides around the lake. Gorgeous scenery.
Lovely place to stay, very welcoming staff on arrival. Room was very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again and recommend it for others. :)