Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

A little gem of a place!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Accommodating staff, comfortable beds, great location, great breakfasts. Very accommodating towards children.
Cons: Toiletries provided in the rooms are merely adequate. The high chair was really only suitable for babies and not toddlers, but this wasn't a problem.
Great location and very friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent breakfast. Beds are big and rooms spacious. Toiletries are adequate - I'd recommend bringing your own from home! All in all a lovely place to stay while in the Lakes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

absolutely misrepesented

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The bed
The hotel is not as advertised and it does not have a spa or swimming pool . The breakfast takes an hour to come and when i asked why it takes so long to come they said this is not a restaurant its a guest house .Nice reply ha.The staff one ın particular very false character tess i believe then said go away when i asked wht the breakfast is taking so long. The price i paıd for 2 nights of £328 was an absolute rip off as the hotel door price was £70 per room.Therefore i should only have paid £140 .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Twist Family.from Ashton-in-Makerfield

excellent hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
In brief it was a lovely hotel and excellent service, would recommend to anybody and close friends. Situated in the centre of Windermere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Valentine's Stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Lovely hotel - chose it as it was one of the few hotels in the area with modern style rooms. They were as per the pictures, extremely cleanly etc. Staff were welcoming and friendly - only there till 10pm though, so if you have a problem after that as far as I'm aware you have to wait till the next morning. We booked last minute, so knew we were probably getting the least-good room as it was the only one left; it was cosy but very very nice! Issues with the hotel, however: - Breakfast is served way too early for a weekend; 8.30-9.30 only. We were there to relax, not get up early to have breakfast. Admittedly this probably isn't a problem for most people as we do like our lie ins. - Biggest issues, the room was boiling hot so we had to have the windows open most of the time, which is fine. Only problem is there was a patio outside our window that people would go out to smoke on, which isn't great when I really do not like smoking and due to illnesses causes me to get very tight chested. So the choice was feel unwell from smoke, or overheat in the room. However, overall it was a lovely little stay and the staff were very friendly and lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthonyfrom London

Perfect Lakes getaway

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose the Howbeck for our first trip the Lake District because of the great reviews of the rooms, staff and breakfast. We were not disappointed on any count. The breakfasts were fantastic, there was nothing the friendly, but not over-bearing staff wouldn't do for you, and the rooms were styled perfectly. The guest house is right in the centre of Windermere village and about 1 mile from the slightly larger Bowness. We also got a pass to the spa and swimming facilities at a larger hotel in Bowness whenever we liked. This was a great perk when the weather didn't hold up. All in all we had a fantastic time and would certainly highly recommend the Howbeck - a real gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yolandafrom UK

位置很不错

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
距离温德米尔镇火车站很近,步行道附近的小镇大概半小时左右,基本上是属于非常方便的地理位置。酒店就是典型的名宿,卫生和服务都OK。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by junfrom 日本 大阪

またここに来たい!そんなホテルです。

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: 働いている方皆さんの接客
Cons: 無いです。
Location: 鳥のさえずりが聞こえる様な穏やかな感じと、駅から程よい距離で徒歩での散策にも便利な立地でした。
母親とふたりでの旅行で、チェックインの時から気持ちの良い親切な対応をして頂きました。朝食も前日までに細かく希望を聞いて貰え、しかもとても美味しい朝食でした。こんな素敵なホテルばかりだと旅行はもっと楽しい時間になると思います。このホテルに決めて良かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kimberley

5 Star from beginning to end!

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Howbeck is perfect in every way - from the four-poster bed to the amazing breakfast to the complimentary bedside sherry - you can't ask for more. The staff is delightful and very helpful, making dinner arrangements and providing weary travellers with tea in the lounge. The facility is very well-kept and beautiful. There are many properties to choose from but I'd stay at the Howbeck again in a heart-beat.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans, UK

The Howbeck Windermere August 2011

Posted Sep 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
The B&B is very comfy - nice big firm beds and rooms are spacious enough. There was a peculiar smell in our room - we couldn't put our finger on what it was. The room our parents were in did not suffer from this. Good location to walk the couple of minutes into Windermere centre.