Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Lovely country hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The food and the staff made this hotel very special for me and my 3 young children.
Cons: Less moving of furniture in the function rooms at 3am on a Saturday morning!!
Location: The whole of the Lake District is within reach, so there is plenty to do and see.
The hotel is in the middle of the countryside, quiet and beautiful, yet within reaching distance of most of the Lake District. The staff are excellent and the restaurant serves really first class food. We will be returning in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Handsome from scotland

Really lovely hotel,

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The setting was fantastic...
Cons: None
Location: Lovely town of Cockermouth close by
Lovely hotel. Our room was really nice too and the veiw from the balcony was stunning. Service was nice staff polite and very helpful too. Could do with a bigger or clearer sigh on the main road as I over shot the drive to the hotel a couple of times lol. Waiting staff at breakfast were nice to.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff unhelpful and rooms are not great.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Staff unhelpful and rooms are not great for the price.?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by terry defelice from florida

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
this hoet was great , the location was away from hustle and bustle of city. the grounds, hotel room and staff were excellent!! would stay there again if in the area!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: As above.
Location: Wonderful walking. Good access to all lakes. Close to Cockermouth, a lovely small town with friendly people and good food.
Only thing we didn't like were the modern black and white leather chairs in the lovely old bar. Not at all in keeping with the lovely 'old' room. The food was still very good though. You still have marvelous staff. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul houghton from Cottingham

Paul houghton

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best one iv been in surrounding was very nice staff to will go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Phil from Aspatria

Huge Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vey big hotel - nice staff and nice breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nigel from bury

perfect

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great room, food, location. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iph3

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KeithF from New Malden

Friendly and helpful

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located in a beautiful, quite secluded spot, but only a couple of miles outside the picturesque small town of Cockermouth. The rooms were comfortable, although there are a few snagging problems in the rooms in the new block, particularly with temperature control - one room in particular was uncomfortably hot. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and did their best to assist. The food overall was good, although best to avoid the spaghetti. The breakfasts were of a particularly high standard with locally sourced sausage, bacon, etc.