Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: a soap dish near the bath tub
My husband and I spent 4 nights at Lake House. The occasion was to celebrate a special anniversary. The standard and cleanness of the room were outstanding! We were lucky enough to be in one of the newly refurbished "Hideaway rooms", with beautiful views of the lake and countryside. The staff could not be more attentive and are a true asset to the Hotel. We will definitely go back...a great stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john and jo. from york.

beutiful views.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Room cleanlynes, and the breakfasts to die for.
Location: Location very central for all lakeland activities.
Very calm and relaxing two days,everything runs smooth and well no hastles all simple and straight forward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Manchester UK

Perfect weekend trip

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: Lake-side-views obscured by trees, but you'd be hard-pressed to find anything closer than this with the same home-comforts.
Absolutely great location for romantic weekend away. Close enough to Ambleside for the lovely little shops and restaurants. Far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of Ambleside, especially the heavy-traffic. Only 1 minutes walk to the shores of Windermere, where there is a brilliant pub and cafe to take in the fabulous lake-side scenery. Ended up the evening sat at the end of the pier where there wasn't a single person around (at only 10pm). Wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachael from Doncaster

Perfect for our requirements

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location including private parking, Room size, price, breakfast.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Walk around Grasmere followed by gorgeous cake at Baldry's in Grasmere. Lunch at the Drunken Duck.
We have just arrived home from a lovely 2 night stay in Ambleside. Although we have visited the area before this was our first stay at the Lake House. We stayed in one of the Hideaway rooms and I can honestly not find a bad word about to say about it. The room was spacious, comfortable and well presented. The breakfast room had beautiful views over the Lake and the breakfast itself was great. As we had visited the area before we didn't feel the need to ask any recommendations or directions etc from the staff however when we did speak to staff we found them helpful and polite. We will definately return to this hotel and have already recommended it to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Essex

Great hotel, Great view over the lake

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and condition of the hotel.
Cons: access to parking at the rear of the hotel can be restricted due to cars parked at the front blocking the access path
Location: short walk from lake Windermere, and the nearby town of Ambleside. Great hiking paths a short drive away in all directions.
Stayed for a long weekend. Hotel was in great condition, staff were friendly and approachable, but not intrusive. We had a room with a beautiful view over the lake. Room condition was lovely with a four-poster bed and cleaned to an excellent standard throughout. Great breakfast in the morning, with all the usual English breakfast content. We are planning to return in the summer, and this will be our hotel of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stella from saddleworth

Away from the hustle and bustle

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: The room, staff and location
Cons: Asked how we wanted our eggs cooked, then encouraged to get the rest of cooked breakfast from the buffet which became cold wtg for eggs!
Location: The location was excellent. Far enough away from town for piece, but within walking distance of pubs, restaurants and shops if wanted.
Stayed in room 16 which was one of the hideaway rooms. It was lovely! Large room, great views, very clean and comfortable. Because it was raining so hard in the evening, decided to order the 'cozy night in', which included a plate of food, bottle of wine and your choice of DVD. Excellent idea, really enjoyed the experience but found this was a little expensive for the quality of the meal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, always greeting you with genuine smiles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean from liverpool

Great view

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Was great lovely view and nice staff good breakfast and very close to lake. I recomend taking the boat cruises very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the lake

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: The room was lovely. The fitout was modern and new. The view superb
Cons: Bar fridge, as we were travelling around we would have liked to put our supplies in a fridge but we were supplied with ice from and ice machine.
Location: Ambelside. Walking, boating and shopping.
We had a wonderful stay, the staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely room with huge windows overlooking the lake. We had room 16.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Sydney

Nicely located to the lake and close to town

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Location is very good and very decent rooms at a very decent price
Cons: I'd rather not say, as I would sound like I'm complaining, and to be fair who am I to complain, it's a very nice place!
Location: Location is great, and one night stay only suited us fine.
A very pleasant stay, I have no regrets and would stay again. Depending on what your plans are, one night was enough and the hotel was a neat place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com