Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mandi

Close to Windimere and facilities

Posted Mar 8, 2014
There wasn't a lot to do in Bowness the day we were there as it rained all day, this obviously wasn't the hotels fault, which was clean, warm and lovely, we were in room 3 which was on the road but didn't bother us, bed was a four poster and really comfy, didn't really ask anyone for service but breakfast was lovely and v chilled, would definitely stay again if I needed to be in Bowness
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jude from North east.

Good central hotel.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Good location with shops and restaurants nearby. Parking at the back making it very convenient for walking round Windemere. The staff were very friendly and we had a good full English breakfast. Nice touch with a glass of sherry and sweets in the bedroom besides the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. Basic, but warm and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ste from darwen lancs

little gem

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great stay .rooms fantastic good views comfortable beds .host andrew and staff fantastic .breakfast great proper fresh food cooked to perfection .location superb 5 minutes to lake and pubs restruannts on the doorstep .recommend the albert inn great food good old style pub live music ect .wonderful stay will be back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ek from singapore

Good location but wifi not available in rooms

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Wifi signal
Good location and breakfast. Only disappointment is that Wifi is not available in the bed rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kirsty from sydney

Good B&B in a good location with fantastic staff

Posted Oct 1, 2013
From check in to check out the staff at this hotel led by the owner Andrew service was to a high standard. The B&B is within walking distance to the lakes, shops and restaurants. After reading previous reviews regarding parking I didn't find this to be any issue as there is parking facilities at the rear if the building and the B&B offer a valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruth from International

Quick overnight to see the B. Potter attraction

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff
The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They gave a very helpful recommendation for dinner at a local restaurant, and we really enjoyed our meal. The breakfast was good - classic English breakfast in a tiny dining room, but the food was good and the staff was pleasant. The furnishings in our room were old, but everything seemed clean. We slept well there after a long day of driving, enjoyed our breakfast downstairs, and then enjoyed our time at the Beatrix Potter attraction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack and linda from scotland

Lovely place to stay very comfortable ,clean,

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Central,parking clean,
Cons: Refresh decor.
Location: Shop sight see sail walk
A quick trip yo the lakes,best place to stay.easy access to a multitude of eating experiences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Leeds

Neat little hotel close to Lake Windermere

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Lonsdale Hotel is a cosy, small hotel tucked up in Bowness. My partner and I stayed there on a long weekend in the Lakes and we had a pleasant stay. The room (we were in Room 1) was large, with a double bed and two singles. The bathroom was small but did the job. Breakfast was tasty, and the off-street parking (around the back of the hotel) was very convenient - although I noticed that there are only 4/5 spaces for 10 rooms... All staff very pleasant. No problem recommending the place for a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by rebelgroove from Canada

Nice hotel ...

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I liked this hotel. It was in a great location, the room was very coolly Victorian retro, the breakfast as good as any ... I'd go back ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Manchester UK

A wonderful experience

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The four poster bed
Hosts very welcoming and accommodating to our needs and made us feel at ease. They were also very welcoming of our dog. All staff very friendly and efficient at breakfast time, service with a smile and food excellent. Room was comfortable with little extras that made the stay even more enjoyable. Although we only stayed one night we cannot fault this establishment and will certainly recommend this to our friends and book with them again in the future.